We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying a relaxing vacation at a reasonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
“Enjoying a relaxing vacation at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

For the past 20 years, my wife and I, who live in Melbourne, FL have been vacationing at the Thunderbird Resort. In each of these years, we have frequented this resort during the months of May, June and September to see the Boston Red Sox play the Tampa Bay Rays.
During each of the aforementioned years, we have brought with us numerous guests to enjoy this relaxing, beautiful ambience at very reasonable rates.
We always look forward to our visits and meeting the friendly customer service personnel, like Missi, Kat, Bob, the owner, David King and their exceptional Director of Maintenance, Johnny Andersen. Every year, the Thunderbird Resort has been constantly developing new innovations to ensure that this Resort is First Class "Home Away From Home" for their guests.
Not only do we enjoy the room, pool and amenities, but we enjoy being able to walk out of our room and enjoy the beautiful, clean ocean.
We will continue to highly recommend the Thunderbird Resort to our business associates and to our friends so that they may be assured of a enjoyable, relaxing vacation at a reasonable price.
One would never regret hosting a wedding reception or business event knowing that the Thunderbird Resort has professional staff to ensure that you have a successful reasonably priced
event.

Room Tip: We especially like the second floor, facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butch362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    452
    158
    66
    73
See reviews for
687
430
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked three rooms over the Labor Day weekend for my family of 6 adults and 6 children. Our rooms were wonderful and spacious. We had kitchens in two of the rooms. I would like to add that we are lifetime Florida residents. We were 3 generations born and raised in Florida. Upon check in the staff was wonderful especially Katrina. Unfortunately when we got up on Saturday we discovered in one of the kitchens black ants. They had invaded the entire kitchen and all of the food that my son had brought for the baby and children. my daughter in-law went to the front desk where the young man told her there was not a manager on duty at the time, but for her to return at 11:00am. She did return to discuss the situation but mostly to let them be aware that there was a serious ant problem in this room.
I might add at this time that my son is the manger of a pest control company and has worked in pest control for over 15 years. So he and his wife are aware of where and how these ants live, and trail and how they are prevented.
When she returned to speak with the manager she broke the first rule of customer service she proceeded to blame my daughter in-law by saying " your in Florida, what do you expect" Then she told her "you left your food open, that's what you get when you live in Florida" My daughter in-law asked her why she was yelling at her that she did not come in there yelling at her and taken aback by the managers attitude. The manager then proceeded to slam her hand down on the counter and said "so what do you want for those cupcakes" My daughter in-law was shocked to be talked to so badly and treated with such disrespect that she turned around and walked out.
We were flabbergasted by her rudeness and lack of customer service especially after reading wonderful reviews and having stayed there before as well.
We did not want anything for nothing but compassion and a little understanding would have gone a long way. They have and ant problem in room 312 and really should get it treated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiphyllis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I really enjoyed your staff Amanda,Katrina,Missy,James,And DaveK,they are very friendly and,helpful they are a great asset to your hotel,because of them I will gladly recommend your resort and recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Great location and excellent staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

on my vacation from august 20th - 25 just want to say to the owner that the service was out- standing the girls were awsome in the office missy and amanda outstanding job and david k from maintence also was great and lou and vlad from the bar everybody was great see u next year tnank you dominic lazzaro

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdom0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family stay at the Thunderbird Resort was amazing. The staff are excellent and anticipate your needs. The hotel is super clean and the grounds are beautiful. The resort is close to shopping and a lot of options in restraunts. We loved the pool and the entertainment on Labor day located next to the Tiki Hut. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks May-June, 2013 & again for a week in August 2013. This is by far the friendliest place on earth! Not just the guests and locals but the staff was efficient with a smile! I'd like to make special mention of Tiki Hut bartenders: Vlad & Lou, housekeepers: Michelle, Lindell & Veronica, maintenance/landscaping: Bill. Jay & Kelly at the restaurant and Louis, Missy, James and everyone at the front desk. Sorry I can't remember all your names (nice lady that lives in Seminole/Ridgeview...) I will be staying here again in September and have recommended it to all my friends. Anytime I have guests in town the Thunderbird is where we will be. Always accommodating, it really is there pleasure to have you stay with them! Love ya' all and see you soon - Mariah!

Room Tip: Beautiful views from your own private balcony in the gulf front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided not to make reservations before leaving on a short getaway. We just flew by the seat if our pants. We stopped at one other hotel just north of the Thunderbird and got a rate that seemed a little high with no balcony. So we decided to check out the Thunderbird because we liked the name. We were greeted by Amanda who was eager to help us find the best room as I am disabled and walking is a difficult thing. She proved two options and beat the other hotel hands down. We got a squeaky clean room, ground floor with parking right outside our door with the most comfortable bed ever and a fabulous balcony. It was the best ever. We were so pleased we had to write this review. If your ever in the quaint and quirky town of Treasure Island you must check this little jewel on the beach. Be sure to ask for Amanda and tell her to make your trip the best ever.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing