We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Round 2!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Auburndale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Round 2!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed last year at the Thunderbird for mothers day weekend 2012.. My friend is getting married this year during mothers day weekend. Many of options to choose from down the coast but this is THE SPOT!! I've decicded this will be round 2 of mothers day weekend (maybe a new tradition). I plan to stay with my family at the Thunderbird AGAIN!! Location is PERFECT the entire weekend we never got in our car,many of resturants are walking distance. The hotel is nice,great staff,hot water,comfy beds,nice pool,tiki bar and your right on the beach.The guy who does the entertainment(one man band) is awesome/fun times- Its the perfect spot for the perfect weekend..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    448
    157
    66
    70
See reviews for
677
427
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, MI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the flat screen TV's, the bedsheet linens, to new access door security locks, plus the little bath and kitchenette supplies and gratuities, made our recent stay a welcoming experience. Of course we can never forget the hustle and bustle of the housekeeping service and their staff. Never have we ever witnessed such enthusiasm and pride in guest service. Above all, we see our friends and other guests returning year after year to the gardens, the pool, the tiki hut and social impact of your resort. Thanks again to the desk staff inclusive of Melissa, and our keeper
Jania.

Bob and Cathy

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms appear most readly accessable. 2nd floor have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeputyDogOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I would like to share my experience at the Thunderbird hotel about a week ago in Treasure Island, the service was excellent- rooms very nice and very clean, rates very affordable and most importantly staff members went out of there way to make sure my family and i felt like home- one -in particular Johar Austin- thank you sooo much, for being so kind and going out of your way for us- We definitely will be back to visit again- this resort is highly reccommended

Room Tip: great area on the beach- very nice and very clean rooms- with excellent service from staff- we had e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Thunderbird Hotel is the best on Treasure Island. The service is great, the management is great, the food is great, the atmosphere is great! We really enjoy the proximity to beach and anything else you need or want is close by! We highly recommend this spot for your next vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, MA
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

my sister and my 2 daughters arrived on 3/10/13. was just for l night. We usually stay at Tradewinds but we chose Thunderbird instead.... best thing we every did..... The Thunderbird is excellent, grounds are beautiful, staff, professional, friendly, and courteous....loved the little bistro which we did eat in....was good too....the place is immaculate inside and out.. next yr. we plan to come for a longer stay..... the only thing is that the beach water was so far away. I did walk it because I was deterined to put my feet in the water..... would be nice if you had a little golf car to transport seniors to waterfront....we do like the water.... Hopeful to see you next yr. the javidi party we booked a room pool side...

Room Tip: book pool side and you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stay at the Thunderbird every year - same time, same room - and it always feels like "coming home"! And we love "home"! The staff is warm, friendly and efficient - from Linda, Dawn, James, and Luis (and the rest of the gang) at the front desk to Cathy - our housekeeper who always notes we we leave to go on our morning beach walk, and cleans our room while we are away. When we return, it looks so fresh and neat - as if we were checking in all over again!

In addition, the location, right on the Gulf, with it's own Tiki bar and live music most nights to welcome the sutset, makes it a wonderful vacation getaway. We always stay in the Suites - a relatively new addition for The Thunderbird - and our room features a living room with small kitchenette, and a separate bedroom for privacy. This extra space and full living area, makes it feel quite homey....great for extended snow bird stays too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are locals from Tampa, have stayed at most of the beach hotels. The absolute worst service ever received. Room was not ready on arrival, ride staff, no towels, completely horrible experience. I highly recommend many nicer hotels in the area, Bilmar etc. Do not spend your money on a complete dump with rude staff, when there are plenty of wonderful hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwauauburn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing