We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Longer a Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property no longer honours Best Western Reservations. Too bad as this was a very well run property oin a great location. It is now part of the Thunderbird Hotel offering higher rates for the same rooms.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 1600Penn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager10700, Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

We are sorry that you were upset that we are no longer a Best Western, but the Thunderbird has owned that property for the past 8 years, even though we are no longer honoring the Best Western Reward Points, the property is the same. The employees are the same, office is gone but everything else has remained the same. All of the wonderful things you said about us on your previous trip advisor is the same, just not a Best Western, and we have not raised rates, we have actually lowered them. We are sorry to lose you as a guest because of Best Western points, and wish you would give us another try as you seemed to enjoy us before it really is the same hotel that you raved about last year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Thunderbird has been our vacation spot for over 8 years. We keep going back because of the staff especially Jania who cleans our room. She remembers from year to year the simple things like what kind of coffee we like. Bill the pool man because the pool is always in great shape. it is clean and well taken care of. Can't wiat for next year.The whole staff is very good.

Room Tip: Choose the sunny side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at he Thunderbird. It is a laid back atmosphere. The cleaning staff were very nice and did an excellent job cleaning. Also, Marty and Missi, who work at the front desk, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigdees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The suites are very nice, very clean and comfortable plus a good value. The attached restaurant served a great breakfast. The beach was under renovation when we were there which was not a problem, should be done before to long. When you reserve you might ask how the project is coming.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whydothis066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I Just spent 4 days at the Thunderbird 1/17/2013 -1/21/2013. Weather was great Clean rooms, awesome staff, Tiki Bar and everyone was so friendly. New restaurant was wonderfull. Lots to do in the area. Great lots of choices to eat and visit. Can't wait to go again

Room Tip: Gulf front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jfala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thunderbird was the perfect place to view the annual Treasure Island Kite Festival. Our room was clean and very 'comfy' with new bedding and kitchen facilities. Missy, at the front desk, was friendly and professional. Breakfast for two mornings(eggs benedict and french toast) was excellent and the service was very good. As Florida residents, who do not live close to gulf beaches, this is the perfect place to stay. Economical, clean and friendly with perfect beach view and west view for sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. It is an older hotel that has been renovated. It is kept up very well. The landscaping is beautiful. Our suite was comfortable and always clean. Our housekeepers (LaTonya, Janice and Yuhc) took such good care of us! Also, they were kind, polite and helpful. Marty, who works at the front desk, was wonderful. He was kind, professional and had a good sense of humor. Craig, the Security Guard, was also very professional. One day when our car was hit in the parking lot, he handled everything for us. His calm personality kept my husband and I from getting all worked up! You are so blessed to have these fine employees working for you!! The only complaint is that there is not enough parking. Also, the parking spaces are too small for two full size vehicles to park side by side.

Room Tip: It was so nice having a suite. It was equipped with everything you need (refrigerator, dish washer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Tahitian Beach Motel
Tahitian Beach Motel
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#30 of 48 in Treasure Island
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,849 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $169 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing