We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not for families”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel staff were nice and accommodating - the rooms were clean. It is an average hotel, while "on the beach" was a bit of a walk. It is more an "older families and couples on spring break" type of atmostphere hotel. There was lots of smoking by the pool area and people stayed up late drinking. My 3 and 5 year learned all sorts of "new language" during the day. The hotel was gracious about letting us out early of our booking so we could change hotels to the Pass-a-grille area (more family friendly and easier beach access and amenities). I won't return because it wasn't my style.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    437
    153
    64
    69
See reviews for
665
421
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love this hotel the people are the most friendliest inviting people and down to earth I've ever met at a resort. We're going back to the hotel in January for this huge kiting event. The staff is phenomenal we love Mr. Bill who takes care of the grounds and the maintenance is wonderful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestfriendsparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took our family of 7 on a trip to the beach, and we didn't make reservations before we went, because we thought maybe we would find one we liked once we arrived. With such a large family, most hotels told us we needed 2 rooms! And with a hotel on the beach, 2 rooms would have been very expensive, and we were looking to have a nice vacation, without completely breaking us. We seen Best Western Sea Castle Suites, and we are familiar with their chain of hotels, so we decided to stop and check prices. I was worried they were going to be very over-priced since they are all "suites", but went in anyway. The guy at the front desk was very welcoming! He said we could all fit in one room with no problem, and the price was much better than we had expected! The beach was beautiful, and the hotel was really nice and clean. The whole staff was very nice and helpful, too! I wish we had stayed more than we did, but now we know exactly where to go for our next vacation, and will be reserving this hotel! And we have already recommended it to a few of our family/friends that are planning to vacation in Florida within the next several months! Over-all = Great experience, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLA_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

nice property..old fashioned feel..rooms have more space than a hotel room with living & kitchen area. older property..going to be :gutted" according to the maintenance man who couldn't adjust our VERY hot water.. small pool..long walk to gulf..overall ok..workers very friendly..convenient to restaurants & shops

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandasue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having to spend 5 weeks away from your home and family can be stressful. The office staff Linda, Louie and especially Dawn made us feel at home. They as well as the girls cleaning the rooms were always up on everything.
Dawn =was especially helpful in pointing out the excellent places near the motel to eat.
The only downfall is the parking, ok for a motor scooter, but not realistic for a work truck.

Room Tip: 55 is next to the ice machine and in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deadeye3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Thunderbird is a beautiful hotel with the pool and grounds being kept up by Bill. This Landmark will be preserved and the memories and fun that you share here is a real treasure. Keep up the good work. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karl1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Bill at the thunderbird really swell person and does a great job with the grounds. all of the housekeppers at both hotels great people and do a great job.Linda,Louis,and Dawn are the best. We come twice a year mainly because of people like Jake and Walter. hated to see Walter had moved to the Tahition. We really enjoy coming toSea Castle Suites,hope it doesnt change much?????? Thank you,Henry LeRoy Warnke Covington,Ky.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort

Property: Thunderbird Beach Resort
Address: 10700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4706
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#12 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Classic Courtyard Style Beach Resort has been a family favorite for generations. Nestled on the beautiful shoreline of the Gulf of Mexico, the Thunderbird Beach Resort is a tropical beach retreat with long stretches of pearly-white sand & sparkling blue waters. Featuring oversized Heated Pool & Hot Tub, Tiki Beach Bar w/ Live Music ,Feola's Italian Ristorante, Sunset Meeting & Banquet Facilities and Private Gulf Front Balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Thunderbird Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing