We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

After reading many reviews my husband and I decided to give the Bilmar a shot. Let me say this: It was an AWESOME vacation!! Our room was spotless....decorated beautiful and beachy. The beach was large and clean as well. The sunsets on our private balcony were....beautiful, romantic and we enjoyed listening to the live music that played just below our room. There were alot of things to do, as we also enjoyed live music at a few different pubs within walking distance. We are already planning our next years get away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thayerugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    587
    166
    50
    40
See reviews for
681
697
67
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Overall, everything was very good. Staff was friendly and accommodating, rooms were updated and generally clean, location was great, and the pool and sun deck were nice.
A few small updates could definitely make this resort much better. It (like many of the places in this area) has a 60's type feel, in terms of layout and overall design, which is seemingly being remedied from their updates. The lounge chairs near the pool were extremely uncomfortable and outdated, they've definitely exceeded their life span.
Also, while chambermaid service was decent, they will attempt to clean your dishes, but my suggestion is to do them yourself. Our dishes definitely had coffee rings and other debris on them. Nothing horribly disgusting, just not as clean as we'd like. Overall, thought the value was very good, as we'd paid a little over 100$ a night for a mid-week visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcvsFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Bilmar Beach Resort and also for sharing your experience with other travelers. As you noted we have been very busy keeping the Resort fresh and updated with over 20 million in renovation since 2001.

Unfortunately I have to agree that some our pool lounges are ready to be replaced and I am happy to report that this has been addressed in this year’s capital replacement budget. We will begin phasing in the style of lounger you saw on the sun deck at our north pool. The south pool and beach front will have the best of the existing loungers after they receive new “sling back” covering.

Regarding the dishes in our Deluxe Studios and Efficiencies; I appreciate your offer to clean them yourself but we accept the responsibility to do a better job. Many guests do their own dishes during their stay but every guest should expect sparkling clean dishware upon check in. We will coach the housekeeping team to meet this important standard.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to your return to the Bilmar Beach Resort. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at the Bilmar for 2 nights mid week. Check in was very quick and the young man on receptipn was very polite.
We stayed on the 4th floor with a sea view. The room was very clean and well decorated - it was very cheery. The view of the beach was lovely and the walk to the sea was less than 100 yards.
The pool overlooking the beach was a nice touch. One night we watched a beach wedding from the pool!
Sloppy Joe's was also excellent and the service was fantastic. We enjoyed the sunset from thier outside area.
The only downside is that we were opposite a bar across the street that had music/live band outside. We could hear it in our room but it didn't go on too late. It was a bit annoying but only because we went to bed so early

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Beautiful room and trappings - not gaudy. Very spacious,
Sloppy Joe's - one of two on site restaruants was far from sloppy. Excellent food with decent prices.
Huge clean beach betwixt resort and gulf.
Every staff member was top notch, friendly, helpfull, and good sense of humor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bilmar for 4 nights. It is in a great location on the strip. Close to many great restaurants. We walked to a different one each night. (We LOVED Ricky T's & it's right across Gulf Blvd from the hotel.) The resort was very clean and the people who worked there were all incredibly courteous. About 10 minutes after we checked in, the front desk actually called us to make sure we pleased with our room. I have never had a hotel do that before. You could tell that our satisfaction was their priority. The beach was fabulous. We had a gorgeous view of it from our room. The hotel was quiet at night (no loud parties, which was perfect for us.) The pool and grounds were clean and well cared for. Our room was immaculate and updated. We do not have a single complaint about our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammaof2gurlz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

great staff greet you on arrival..was upgraded to a king size without asking because of some kind of mix up with smoking non smoking rooms..
ended up overlooking beach/pool and was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was..
sloppy joe's pub / eatery on site defies its name...good quality food..and great drinks at great prices (not too happy one night sitting at the bar with two rude barmen who barely
acknowledged our presence tho.) didn.t spoil it..had a great 3 days and will definitely return..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Hotel staff was very friendly and perfectly happy to accommodate our early check-in. We had a ground-floor walkout right onto the beach, which runs a few hundred yards down to the Gulf. Beautiful sunset. Nice shower in room. We liked the heated pools.
The beach is public access, so you probably could stay in a cheaper place across the street and have a similar waterfront experience. There's a nice walkway fronting the Bilmar and the adjacent hotels that makes for a nice stroll. Turns out the cabanas and lounge chairs on the beach are not the resort's...there's a rental fee to use them.
Sloppy Joe's restaurant on site was lively on the Monday afternoon we arrived. The on-site Bazzie's Beach Bar was expensive for a quick breakfast, but the staff was very hospitable.
Hotel is right on Gulf Blvd that runs up and down the coast, with easy access from downtown St. Pete.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vandebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing