We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed in this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little disappointed in this place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

The room was pretty small adn the bathroom felt clostrophobic. We were in the beaches building, directly over Sloppy Joe's, which is okay, but with the entertainment on weekends, don't try getting any quiet until at least 10 or later. You have to keep the sliders closed and A/C turned on. Our balcony had a condensation issue on one side, and the constant drip, drip, drip almost drove my crazy! Especially at night as I liked sleeping with the slider open for the fresh air. The room also had a funny smell when laying on the left side bed....can't quite decide what it was but it definitely bothered me while trying to sleep. The room was surface clean, but if you walked on the rug with bare feet, you got black on your feet. We did have fun at Sloppy Joes - especially with the $10 margaritas! Highly recommend them...so big, but good! The hotel folks were all very nice, but after being told all the rooms had been redecorated, I was a little disappointed in what we got. Also, there was not one comfortable place to sit and relax. Balcony chairs were okay, but that's it. This is my second time there and I'd have to think twice about going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KZKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    623
    174
    51
    42
See reviews for
744
743
73
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

After reading every hotel review under the sun for Treasure Island, I chose the Bilmar based on price and the fact that there was entertainment and a restaurant on site. We booked ahead and requested a first floor room with walkout to the beach. We had to pay a premium for this type of room in order to reserve it up front. It led directly to the beach which was nice, however, the beach in front of our room was not maintained in any way. It would have been nice if the sand was raked and the trash was picked up each day. Another negative was that our room was directly next to a VERY noisy generator that kicked on and off all day and night. Not at all relaxing when you are sitting outside trying to enjoy the sights and sounds. That really aggravated me that the hotel thought nothing of sticking us in that room and yet still charged a premium for it. The pool and hot tub are pretty good, nothing spectacular. It was a bit noisy around the pool the days we were there; lots of kids jumping in and out of the hot tub so we could not relax in the hot tub due to that. One very disturbing thing: One of the maids dropped off her 5 year old niece or daughter and left her unsupervised for hours at the pool. My husband and l were shocked that this child who was as cute as could be, was just left to swim in a pool with no adult to keep an eye on her. Very dangerous and very odd that someone would do something so reckless with a child. The sand isn't really sand on this beach; but rather broken little shells so you need sandals to walk to the water. We took a ride to Clearwater Beach which is where I would go next time. White sand like sugar. John's Pass was a great shopping destination. Fort DeSoto was a fabulous day at the beach, but I digress....The pros of the Bilmar: the staff are very friendly, the room was clean, the kitchen was handy. Live entertainment. But even so, I probably would stay elsewhere next time. Rooms and pool area were a little too "motel" like for my taste and I didn't appreciate having the generator blasting noise all day and night and not being told up front about it. I think Treasure Island is somewhat honky tonk and lower class then the other beach areas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatrip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed at the Bilmar in February this year, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was lovely, and had all the amenities you would need, including a small kitchen, and a beautiful ocean view. We were close to Bazzie's Beach Bar and could enjoy the evening music as well as beautiful sunsets from the room's patio. The location is great, so you could either rest and enjoy the 2 pools, or swim in the ocean, just read a book, or go to local sites which were close by, such as Heritage Village, Florida Sunken Gardens, as well as shopping. Sloppy Joe's Restaurant was also great, offered good food and views of the ocean and sunset. Had something for everyone. Jazz concerts were at Bazzie's on Wednesday which was a pleasant surprise. Friendly and helpful staff were also a plus. Good value for the money, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

If you think that the Bilmar is like any of the motels at the Jersey shore then you haven't stayed at one lately, I stayed at The Aztec last year, that is a dump and they call themselves a resort. We stayed at The Bilmar two years ago and it was great. I would recommed it to anybody. The Jersey shore or the south Bronx it's not

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We like the stay. The rooms are clean, and well taken care of. The service is good. We like to stay on the beach. It is nice to have a restruant at the hotel. Know one bothers you.
But as I said before, you need new windows. They look bad from both the inside and outside. Other then the windows I have no other thing to complaine about.
I do wish your prices were lower, and that you would honar the coupons more often when they are in the books.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

after reading most of the favorable posts here on the Bilmar, we booked a spring break trip with my wife and young daughter..and upon our arrival i could only mutter these simple words, "You gotta be kidding me." this place is a dump..for those of you from the northeast, this place had too much of a jersey shorish feel to it for my taste..the room was cruddy and the carpet stank of wet feet and mildew.. the pool was just ok but my backyard pool is in better condition.. the lounge chairs were faded rickety and old..and the gym (if you can call it that. more like a converted storage room) had not been cleaned in ages. the equipment was filthy the floors was covered with rust colored stains from the leaking air conditioning ducts that ran through the room..this place sucked and the only reason i didn't check out was because i didn't want to disappoint my little girl..I asked for an upgrade to the tower but there was nothing available. The Bilmar is in serious need of a complete upgrade before it can be called a resort of any kind. I stayed drunk the whole week to keep my mind off of what a complete waste of money this dump was.. Stay at the Sand Piper, the Tradewinds, the Marriot or the Don Cesar Resorts.. this place is a dump stay away

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnieboyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

It was just nice. Me and my fiance stayed here for a week at the end of May. I didn't have too high of expectations for this hotel, seeing how outdated it looks, but it ended up being alittle better than I had expected. The beach is huge and looks amazing from your room, but it is hardly even sand. It is basically broken up shells and can be painful to walk on, so wear your sandles until you are closer to the water. The pool is alright, you cannot see the beach from the pool because the hotel surrounds it, but it can actually be nice because it shelters you from the whipping sand on a windy day on the beach. Once the sun goes down it gets kind of boring. There is Sloppy Joes which is nice and a few other little places within walking distance but kinda gets old after 3 nights. The drive to St. Petersburg isn't bad and there are lots of shops and food options. Overall the hotel its itself was nice but if you want a good beach go to Clearwater.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing