We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the minute my husband and I walk in we felt the love from the staff. My mother originally booked the hotel as a gift for our Anniversary & I thought it was pretty awesome that they remembered and reminded us every time we saw the front desk staff. I wish I can remember the lovely lady that checked us in. She promised us a room with a beautilful view and boy did she deliver. It's resort for everyone so of course there's noise from the bar and restaurant but it didn't bother us. And it was awesome to watch a sand sculpting contest right from our balcony. The beach was amazing also the hotel is in a very convenient spot with grocery stores & restaurants. Honesty I can't wait to come back & bring my kids they will love it. :)

Room Tip: The Palms building on the upper floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is older, but pretty well maintained and right on the beach. Service was inconsistent, but overall pretty decent. Room could have been cleaner at check in, our bathroom was dirty and sand/shells remained under one bed. Bazzies Food is typical bar fare; the cole slaw was horrible (old) and we sent it back, with no offer for substitute or comp. Overflow parking isn't much of a hassle, if the main lot is full, another lot is right across the street. While the hotel is non-smoking, there are butt bins directly outside the room doors in the Shells bldg (phew). Free internet was a nice touch and is pretty fast for hotel wifi.

The main issue we experienced (and what almost calls for two stars) was noise. Every night we experienced yelling outside our door, especially as the bars closed. And every day police or fire fighters were on premise, one visit was around 3 am. An investment in a walking hotel security officer is appropriate, considering the number of incidents we witnessed during our stay. Even with the noise, inebriated patrons, and police/fire responders; Bilmar still seemed like one of the nicer places in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in southernmost building are nice (balconies), but get one that is high enough to be out of Sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VA_sundevil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a great location and place to stay when in St Petes, we went to seethe Jays play the Rays and hang by the beach and pool in May.
Short drive to everything food in the area is a good price and golf at the Tides is a must under $34 with a cart for 18.. hopefully the rezoning does not shut it down.
Sloppy Joes has fresh fish daily and great on the beach atmosphere. We will be back next year in May ..unless we can get a great rate at the Vinoy.
Room with kitchenette was great with a full fridge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0lfnutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The front desk staff was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. Every time we stopped to ask a question, we were met with a smile. It was our first time here, but it won't be our last. If the hotel wasn't already full for the next night, we would have stayed another night. Great view of the beach and Gulf from our third floor window. No noise from any restaurants or bars near by. Just a beautiful room with a beautiful view and great employees. The restaurant n the grounds had fun and professional waitstaff, too!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Mefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The room was very nice and clean. We were on the second floor in the center building. The only downside to our room was no balcony or walk-out to the beach. But we had a clear view of the beach from our room. Sloppy Joes is onsite which is a huge plus. Ricky T's bar is also across the street. The front desk help was very helpful, I asked them on the second day if we could walk to St Johns Pass or if we should call a cab and the gentleman at the front desk offered to call the free shuttle that was available (we did not know about this option). St John's Pass is just a short ride away. St John's Pass is also a must see if you are in the area, there are restaurants, shops, and bars on the water. The Clearwater beach walk was also under construction behind the hotel during our stay, but it is now complete and we cannot wait to see it. Loved our stay at this resort and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Choose one with a Balcony or a walk-out on the first floor. The balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Parking was a nightmare! Dirty carpet in the room. Not my cup of tea. The water seved in the lobby had mold in dispenser. This hotel should be totally overhauled and thoroughly cleaned. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The best thing was the tv.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Alisa P.,

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay. While parking is a challenge throughout many beach communities we work hard to meet our guest’s needs with parking lot attendants at both our East and West lots and by offering our restaurant guests complimentary valet parking while they dine. There is no excuse for dirty carpet or the fruit water dispenser in the lobby to be less than perfectly cleaned. Both of these items are monitored and inspected daily. This process will be reviewed with the appropriate team members and I will personally participate with the inspection process. As noted by many of your fellow travelers the Bilmar prides itself on cleanliness of the guest rooms and public areas. I would welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future and I am confident we can meet or exceed your expectation if given the chance.
Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

BF and I decided to take a last minute trip to Florida and could not have asked for more. The staff and accomodations at the Bilmar were most accomodating. I would recommend them to family and friends and we will gladly return. An added bonus to our vacation was in lieu of St. Patrick's day weekend, they had the Best show on surf, right outside our hotel room. Four days for live entertainment, fireworks, GREAT food and vendors, all within stones throw.

Truly a relaxing much needed vacation !

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the uncovered pool. Not noisy, left the patio door open all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $160 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing