We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on Treasure Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilmar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
2 reviews
“Best location on Treasure Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bilmar for a week over spring break. The resort was very clean and well maintained. We stayed in the Gulf Front Efficiency and it was well equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, and stove. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting some rest and relaxation in the Florida sun.

Room Tip: Gulf front efficiency is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    616
    169
    51
    42
See reviews for
728
736
72
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can't tell you how much I love this hotel. My hubby and I had our first date at Sloppy Joe's. Your standard bar & grill food, but good service and a great view. We actually got married at the Bilmar. Had an absolutely beautiful, simple wedding at the sand dune. Was a wonderful day for everyone. I've attended work functions here too. Can't tell you how great it is working from the beach. The Bilmar is my escape from reality. We always get great service here and take every chance we can to re-visit. It's everything I look for in a getaway. Just a nice relaxing place with everything I need. We wake up and enjoy Bazzie's for breakfast staring out at the beach while we drink our coffee and enjoy the food. Then we head over to the pool for a nice relaxing day of reading and swimming. We take a break at Sloppy Joe's for lunch. Of course, we also visit periodically for drinks while we're at the pool. We usually end our day down the road at Middle Grounds for dinner. The Bilmar is just heaven for me. We consistently have a wonderful time here and have for years. Everything you could possibly want in a vacation is within walking distance. And if you're staying for a little longer, you're just a car ride way for lots of great attractions. I honestly could go on and on, but we love the Bilmar. It's a huge part of our history and will continue to be a huge part of our future as we continue to frequent the Bilmar on every anniversary and any other occasion we have to get away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Cons: Lack of cleanliness (not major, but not minor mildew in shower window (they are glass block) and on back of sink splash where it meets the counter top, stained tub-looks dirty, but didn't appear to be), noisy at times - as other reviewers have stated thinner walls, doors don't seal all the way around, so if you are on a first floor (we were in 136), you will hear conversations and noise as people walk by, sirens and music from Ricky T's and Sloppy Joes, no comfortable chairs to sit in outside of the building - the lounge chairs are not comfy if you want to sit and read or watch the sites, you will pay a minimum of $30 PER DAY to RENT two beach loungers and cabana on the beach - otherwise you're sitting on the sand at the water's edge. Pros: GREAT location in TI, friendly staff, steps from the paved walking path on the beach, Walgreens, Publix, Clock tower plaza, etc nearby, as other reviewers have said - gorgeous sunsets, AC works very well, WiFi is a bit slow but adequate, updated flat screen TV, beds are ok, tile floors in walkouts (ours had a slider that opened to the sand) are nice, the Suncoast Trolley is easy to catch just steps from the hotel.

With all of that said - Would I stay here again... probably not - I am grossed out by mildew that is simple enough to clean with a little bleach and I coudn't quite tell what the shower head looked like, as it had a decorative cover on it. To the hotel manager - there are just some things that are deal breakers... cleanliness is one of them and sadly, it's such a simple thing to fix.

Room Tip: Room 136 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Carolyn,

Please accept my apologies for the bathroom and noise issues you reported on your posting. I am extremely embarrassed by the condition of the bathroom and assure you and other travelers that this is not the standard or normal condition of our guest rooms as evident by the many positive comments shared by other travelers. My team will immediately address this room and increase our inspections of all others. I appreciate your positive comments on our wonderful service oriented staff and convenient location. I am also happy to report that we are awaiting the arrival of new chairs for the beach area adjoining the resort. They will be the island style Adirondack style in fun colors to brighten up the area. Also the Shells Studio rooms like you stayed in are receiving new 40 inch LED TV’s to complete this property wide upgrade from the previous 27 inch models. Again I am very apologetic for the condition of your room and hope for the opportunity to show you our true standards on a future visit. Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived and stayed in a gulf front studio the first half of our vacation, but then work needed to be done on our room (they were running new wires outside on the balconies). We were upgraded promptly (even had help moving) and provided with free breakfast one morning. The staff was very courteous and helpful, restaurants on-site were great, and the location could not be beat. It seems to be right in the heart of Treasure Island. We walked to both ends exploring shops, cafés, bars and attractions. Beach is huge and the white sand is amazing. It's right on the path which meanders along the beach and is a great morning/evening stroll. Would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area!

Room Tip: Gulf front rooms are worth every penny for the view of the sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Bilmar Beach Resort while visiting Tampa Bay. I apologize again for the internet installation that was underway during your visit but we are very excited about the new state of the art WiFi going live this week. I believe all of our future guests will enjoy the upgraded service. Treasure Island is a great place to explore and I so glad you enjoyed yourself. Come back soon and experience it all again! Clyde Smith – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This resort is well maintained with 2 restaurants/bars..2 pools --beautiful large beach area.. clean maintained rooms and facilities. We were only there for 3 nights but very pleased with the whole resort. We arrived early(noon) Michael took good care of us-got us right in a room. Both restaurants had fabulous food for all day long meals.. nice atmosphere -avg pricing.. their specialty drinks were great too. I seen some post on here about the wide beach-it was wide but not overly wide if you consider that most beachfronts have more sand dunes and their pools all directly behind the resort where Bilmar has their pool level with their buildings it was about the same. Either way very nice. Across the street Ricky Ts good food live music nightly there too. Several places to eat and shop directly across from Bilmar. Rented a car -didn't even use it. about 20 minute drive to ST Pete/Clearwater airport... Book it you'll like it!

Room Tip: Get a room on 3rd floor to see better -- maybe request not right over the 2 restaurants --late bar p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the Bilmar. Our room #116 was clean, large and had a beautiful view. My teenage daughter & her friend thought it was the best hotel ever. I think because it wasn't your typical chain hotel. It had two pools and two decent restaurants. We experienced no problems with it too noisy to sleep. We slept great. The boardwalk was perfect for your morning walk or run. The location of the hotel is great. I had no wifi problems in my room or public areas. The only negative at all were the lack of chairs at the pool. It seems as though they could add a lot of chairs to the 2nd level teenage gaming area as adults like me don't jump in and out of the pool all day and that would have worked great for me. Overall great stay and we plan to be back. We were there at heavy spring break season and the hotel was well staffed and everyone was friendly. Thanks Bilmar!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mylo5765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in April 2013 at the Bilmar Beach Resort in a gulf front studio. This overlooked the beach with an amazing sunset each evening. The hotel itself is not modern however they have done a good job at keeping it updated. The pools are small but big enough for the kids to play in. The food at the two restaurants is really good. We had a room over Sloppy Joe's but there was very little noise. I would definitely recommend the Bilmar Beach Hotel.

Only downside the water was not hot at times.

Room Tip: You need to have a view of the beach and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing