We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
macster1
1 review
“Just Okay”
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I just got back from a trip to the Bilmar with five of my girlfriends.
We were booked in two deluxe efficiencies, which means that there are a few cabinets, a cooktop, microwave, a sink and a small refrigerator where the tv in a traditional room would be. We also had a balcony. (it was in the taller building on the property)
The refrigerator and microwave are nice, but we probably didn't need it when push came to shove. The room was okay, the TV on the wall is indeed flat screen, not hi def like they will tell you. In fact, my friends in the other room barely got reception. It was really fuzzy.
The view from the balcony was FANTASTIC. In fact, the beach and gulf of mexico are the best things about the Bilmar. We got two rollaway beds which were OLD and really gross--and they were charging 10.00 per night for each rollaway. If they are going to charge, they should at least provide decent cots. (one was literally held together by something that looked like a wire hanger. The room was clean enough, but the housekeeper didn't really do a good cleaning on a day to day basis. In fact, she didn't make our beds one day and never vacuumed. The staff was nice, but ver slow with everything. Sloppy joe's was okay, but breakfast at the other restraurant (bazzi's?) was horrible. The service was terrible and the food wasn't very good either.
Treasure Island itself is like a little run down jersey shore town at Spring Break. Lots of Harley's, everybody smokes like chimneys and lots of tattoos at all ages. (which is totally fine, but just trying to explain the vibe) It's a pretty noisy crowd around midnight.
My friends and I are in our 30's and still love to party and stay out late, but most of the bars were pretty gross. St. Pete's Beach is a little better for dining and nightlife options for people over 30.
This would be a great spring break for a college kid. Cheap, not fancy, and the staff really leaves you alone. Security is lax, and parking is difficult on Friday and Saturday nights.
Again, it was great being right on the beach of the gulf of mexico, but I'd rather stay in slightly more upscale digs for the same or slightly more money.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The noise, shabby appearance and clientele
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    628
    179
    51
    42
See reviews for
761
755
74
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This year in August, my family will be staying at the Bilmar Resort for the fourth time in seven years. We love the pools, the beach bar, Sloppy Joe's, the beach, and the location. We have ALWAYS had a great time there. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The beach bar is no shoes, no shirt, no problem. Very laid back and good food.
The Bilmar is one of our favorite locations!

  • Liked — Great pools and beach bar.
  • Disliked — Room was out of date. Has since been renovated.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SyrFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

The Bilmar is an awesome place to stay with a family that is looking for a lo of things to do over vacation because of its location. The sloppy joes restaurant that was attached to our hotel was my familys' favorite place to hang out because of the atmosphere , the music , the beautiful sunsets that could be viewed while eating on the deck. The staff was very friendly over the entire hotel. From the cleaning service to the grounds keepers to the desk clerks and the valet parking workers. All were very friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Definately recommend the rooms with the balcony and mini kitchens. The price was well worth the stay. Johns pass is a must see with lots of shops and restaurants to choose from and only a couple of miles from the Bilmar. We will definately stay there again. The 2 heated pools were a perfect size to accomodate all the guests!

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank motherof3girlsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Our stay was great. The hotel room and bathrooms were very clean. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful on all requests. The free Internet kept us in touch with happenings at home and in touch with our family.
The local dining at Sloppy Joes & Gigi's was excellent. For snacks you can go to Ricky T's or the in-hotel bar. Also go to the Frog pond for breafast especially (2 locations - 15 minutes from the hotel - one north & 1 south).
The happy hour music at both the in-hotel bar and the Thunderbird next door (along the beach) is great. The evening music at the in-hotel bar & Ricky T's was great.
The Bilmar is the best location for food & drink necessities on Treasure Island.
We are already weighing our destination options for next year and if it is Forida again...no doubt it will be THE BILMAR>

Lefty & Elaine

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

First time we've booked through Expedia. A good experience, no problems at all. We flew into Tampa and drove to the Bilmar, about 25 miles. We had a 3rd floor, gulf front, room. It' was great, nicely done, comfortable bedding, and clean. The window opened for a great, warm breeze and beautiful sunsets. The beach is WIDE there, really beautiful. The pools were big and nice. Live music at the beach side bar every evening. The location, in our opinion was perfect. Away from the crowds, but easy access to lots of shopping, dining, activities, etc. We'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — Location, View, Beach
  • Disliked — Parking could be an issue
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jtownjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed in a high floor Gulf Front suite in the Palms building. I loved the retro feel of the building that has been preserved but updated to include modern conveniences. Driving there from TPA was a bit dicey, but once we crossed the bridges to Treasure Island we forgot all about it!

We were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the view was and the level of amenities in the room (regular sized coffee maker, refrigerator, full set of utensils and plates, toaster). It was nice to be able to make breakfast each morning. The rooms are clean and bright. I found the bathroom a bit small, and the rooms have full sized beds vs. queen, but overall this didn't make a huge difference for us. Parking can be limited in the evenings but there is ample parking directly across the street.

There is a Sloppy Joe's restaurant in the building with a large outdoor seating area directly under the hotel rooms, so you may have trouble sleeping due to the bar noise. We shut the door and turned up the AC and it didn't bother us as much.

The beach is gorgeous and if you are looking for a low-key getaway on a budget, you'll love the Bilmar!

  • Liked — The view and proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Loud noise from Sloppy Joe's bar
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CK719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Il.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My best friend and I had a wonderful time. We stayed at the Bilmar and the staff was friendly and very helpful.
We would stay here again.
The food at Sloppy Joes was excellent. Drinks were delicious too!!
The hotel was clean and no bugs. The trolley was fun to take us to Clearwater for the day, but be aware of the drivers. Not so good at times. Alittle scary.
John's Pass is a great place to shop and the food is good at the rest.
The Beach is breathtaking, its beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Property: Bilmar Beach Resort
Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing