We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”

Middle Grounds Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

First off I want to say the staff is great. Automatically will be back because of that. Food was kinda average, maybe I went in expecting too much. (Based on friends) but a nice place all in all

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liketotaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,328
    494
    145
    46
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yum!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

great seafood! must go! go early or make a reservation, it gets packed. We joked the next morning that we should go for breakfast and get the same food as the night before.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We loved the bar! Fantastic staff. We thought the food should have been better... It was good, very good- but didn't really seem up to the standards of the facility & the staff. We thought the food should have blown us away- like the rest of the experience.
Went 2 x... But we will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Treasure Island by far.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We mistakenly drove by this place repeatedly for 3 days on our way to other restaurants in the area. Probably because it doesn't grab you by outward appearances. However, once inside, there was nice live music being played by a welcoming up scale bar. The dining room was nice too. What really stood out was the great food. As my mother-in-law declared: The best crab cakes she's ever had. Now, I'm not quite as sure, but they were darn good, as was all of our food. The service was great, and there was a nice wine and drink menu. It isn't cheap, but it is worth it. Quality in an area where a lot of other places get by on their glorified bar food or location. Worth it if you want something nicer! We went twice and we will be back again this winter!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Picky_Traveler_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but passable”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Middle Grounds has an extensive menu with an emphasis on seafood and offers a choice of inside or outside dining. Unfortunately, the outside dining is right on Gulf Boulevard and not the beach, but they have done a good job with the decor with torches and palms giving off a South Sea Island atmosphere. The food was on the expensive side, but that would not be all bad if it was prepared with a little more care. The grouper, a specialty, was a bit on the dry side, but still tasty. Maybe that was because we were in a large party. Good drinks menu, and the service was excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Grounds Grill also viewed

 

Been to Middle Grounds Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing