We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middle Grounds Grill

Middle Grounds Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
lakeland, fl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We recently spent a long weekend at Treasure Island and headed over to Middle Grounds for my birthday dinner. What a perfect treat! The restaurant has wonderful ambience, great decor and the food is so good. I had the special - oscar topped with soft shell crab, rice pilaf and roasted asparagus. Husband had the filet with new red potatoes and haricort verts. But the best was the milk chocolate martini -- it was so good I had 3!!!! After which walking back to the hotel was not easy, but it was so worth it. It was pouring rain - sideways - when we were ready to leave, so rather than get totally soaked to the bone on our 1 block trek back to the hotel, we sat in the lounge area and listened to the band. And they were great. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,274
    469
    137
    44
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looks Nice, But Not Consistent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The decor is fabulous, and it is one of the few upscale restaurants in Treasure Island. But the food is not consistent with the image that Middle Grounds is trying to project, especially for the price. I would recommend drinks and appetizers, but not entrees.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We were so excited about trying the #1 restaurant in treasure island but were disappointed when it didn't meet our expectations. It was pricey and the food was so so. We really wanted this to be easy on our tastebuds but was let down. Did try "Guppys on the beach" and was delicious!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachbabeinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent food, best restaurant during our trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

A pricey, but worthy restaurant to eat at. In fact we came back twice. We like very good quality and unique foods.

Had the aged ribeye beef with garlic mashed. EXCELLENT. Highly recommend.

Also we had fish and a pasta which were excellent as well.

Probably a $15-30/plate supper.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gritz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We chose this restaurant as it was ranked #1 in Treasure Island on TripAdvisor. This is an upscale place with valet parking and vegas style music entertainment. My family and I ordered a cheese tray, duck, shrimp, and scallops with soft drinks. The total was $100.00. The food was very good. You don't have to use the valet parking. We didn't. A great place if you would want to splurge.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PlunderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Grounds Grill also viewed

 

Been to Middle Grounds Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing