We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Buy for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pieces of Eight

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pieces of Eight
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Buy for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

My family and I stayed for 1 week through the 4th of July. We had a wonderful time and were very surprised at the previous review when we researched it, which is what has motivated me to write a review. We were pleasantly surprised with the roominess of the apartments. Most hotels in this area are more expensive and don't have a kitchen. The environment was kid friendly. There is a nice BBQ area we used practically every night we were there which allowed us to be more conservative on our trip. We had no problems taking showers and our rooms were extremely clean. I would definitely return with my family. It was also a short 10 minute walk to shopping at John's Pass and across the street from the beach which was very convenient... we came and went to the beach several times per day, and the sunsets were magnificent. Again, I would recommend this hotel for the value and the location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karsphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

I wrote a review a few years ago on Pet Friendly Pieces of Eight and thought I would update it a bit. We spent 4 months there Dec-March of this last year. We always stay in the same unit (no 5) and this will be our fifth year as we booked again for this coming winter.. Not a lot has changed as far as the set up...2 two unit buidlings and one four unit building, a courtyard in front with lots of greenry and foliage, with a small fish pond. A patio with a gas grill, gazebo and a abundance of chairs.

basic info: it is located across the street from the ocean...has a canal behind it...three or four blocks to Johns Pass which is filled with restaurants and shops...and within walking distance to other eating places and the downtown area of Treasure Island.

The owner has recently fenced in the patio area so residents can sit with their dogs and allow the dogs to roam free...and I have to admit I LOVE this feature...most of the three and four month winter residents have pets so this makes it especially nice.A ll the pets get along and are well behaved and of course very spoiled!

Also this past year, gates were added to the porch area of four of the units...again so you can let your dog go out and sit on the porch with no fear of getting loose and onto busy Gulf Blvd.

Since my last review...some of the units have had new floors put in....a tile floor in unit 1 and a wood laminate in Unit 2. When we arrived this year, all the porches were freshly painted which was a nice treat as they had been scuffed and scratched from wear and tear and paint missing and I have to say it did look nice.

Our unit on the inside was pretty much the same, but the carpet had been taken up to the tile floor underneath...and though a couple tiles were cracked I much preferred that to the dark color carpeting..much easier to keep clean and the white floor makes the rooms seem bigger...Steve the owner came by on our first day to bring a brand new and very pretty area rug..but I told him I preferred the tile floor...so he took the carpet back home with him.

Our unit was furnished with everything we could need...lots of dishes, pots and pans, crock pot, toaster oven..towels and sheets were all provided. A large selection on satellite tv which was wonderful to be able to select what you want to see and secure High speed internet and house phones in each room. Pretty much the same as all the years before.

Of course there are always down sides to everything..downside is that they are older buildings, built back in the forties or fifties...and do not have a lot of the shine and sparkle of newer places...and they are apartments, not a motel so you have to do your own bedding and towels..but there is a laundry room on site so it makes it pretty easy to get your laundry done.

Being a place that is pet friendly the "clean up" rule is pretty strictly enforced by the residents. One couple that stayed for a month, their dogs wold bark when they were left alone, but it was during the day time, and they did work at it to figure out how to keep their dogs quiet (by leaving out the back door instead of the front).

Probably the biggest gripe this past winter was not about Pieces of Eight but about noisy neighbors living behind Pieces of Eight..but the owner, Steve was able to get that remedied and peace was restored to the area.

We have made many new friends by going back every year and even know a lot of the local residents in the streets around Pieces of Eight. We had a lovely time this winter..so much to do..so many places to vist...that we are already making plans for this coming year.


Most of the long term residents return each year, though there are still openings during the tourist time...but if you stay there for long term in the winter months, you get to know each other, almost like a big extended family...if you wan to go somehwere all day..another resident will take your dog for a walk and watch over your dog while our gone...and that is a BIGGIE for any pet owner.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stilljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at Pieces of Eight for three weeks in January and found it to be ample for our needs. Rooms were clean and were furnished with all the necessities. Location was great just a short walk to the village of John's pass and right accross the street from the beach. Was decent value for the money. Plus if you travel with a pet it is pet friendly . We didn't have a pet but the ones that were there were very well behaived and well taken care of.... Would recomend it for a reasonable priced place in a good location..

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gogi315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

Cleaning fee? What a rip off! There is NO cleaning done there! There was literally dust hanging from the ceiling fan. The carpet had many stains - - it was filthy, appearing to be animal stains. The bedspread also had blood stains in it. Many upgrades needed -- the shower curtain was hanging from the rod. Also -- it was like showering in spit. There was no water pressure, nor hot water. The majority of the money was put into Direct TV. Very friendly and kind man running the rooms -- but dirty room. Nothing looked like it was clean. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shop_girl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twins Inn & Apartments
Twins Inn & Apartments
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieces of Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieces of Eight

Property: Pieces of Eight
Address: 12315 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5011
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Treasure Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Golden Location in Treasure Island! An Old-Florida Style Retreat, Pieces of Eight was lovingly restored in 2004. Eight one-bedroom one-bath units surround a central courtyard, and our brick BBQ is a great spot to eat outdoors. Most units have private patios. All units feature full kitchens with utensils, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, stove, AC, cable TV, VCR, and queen sofabed. Onsite laundry and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pieces Of Eight Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing