We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great vacation !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Loved the location, and staff! awesome view ! couldn't get closer to the beach. The only complaint I have is that the sofa bed was totally uncomfortable. I hurt all week, The last night was the worst, We had something made the bed feel like it was a big bar our backs. And the wi-fi was iffy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plumclassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 166 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have Loved this place since I literally ran into it in 2001!! Went back a few years ago,but Now,can never find availability!! Everybody must've found out about it!!want to go back for 'the holidays' when i can see the x-mas parade on the bay,and the bikers parade!! Love to be there for the 4th!! U can walk to bars and restaurants!! Really Love Everybody There- Birgit,Ernie and Dianna!! Hi Guy's !!
Love Vicki

Room Tip: Rooms I've stayed in and seen,are all good!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LateRiser55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is our fourth stay at the Molloy and it wont be our last. The motel is basic but has everything you need, sitting and dining area, kitchen, bedroom (with double and single beds) and bathroom, complete with tub and shower. The rooms have been upgraded slightly since we were last here and the rooms have flat screen tv's now and new kitchen appliances.
We stayed in a room on the ground floor with beach view. The location of this motel is what sets it apart from the rest along with the friendly owners Ernie and Birgit who are always on hand if anything is needed.
A lovely stay, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are great with fantastic views, especially the sunsets.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joolybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Last minute trip to area! Lots of places to choose from.

Motel room - double and single bed - fine for single woman needing place to stay while visiting family booked at more expensive hotel a couple of blocks up Gulf Blvd. Price was right and owners (Ernie, his wife and Diane) very attentive to guest needs. Minor hic-up with rowdy group celebrating birthday all day into night - had to speak to them myself to quiet them down.

Would be nice to have lounge chairs by small pool but wonderful being able to step right out onto sand. Room plain but spotless, microwave, coffee maker, small fridge, toaster. No maid service - not a problem for me - able to exchange towels as needed.

Definitely will stay here again for some R&R.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank paris_european
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here July/August. Our room was great! Yes a little dated, but otherwise CLEAN and COMFORTABLE! The service here was awesome! We made great friends, other guests and had a fun time! We were married there August 1st, right on the beach! The owners made our wedding very special. We will be going back year after year!

Room Tip: The gulf views are beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle_D_NH_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family discovered the Molloy Motel in 1972. The current owners purchased it shortly thereafter. Birgit and Ernie are wonderful people. Although the Molloy is definitely dated, it is clean, and I was actually very comforted when I returned in 2010, to find the same artwork and bedspreads that were there in the 70's when I was a child. I now take my children to the Molloy. We own a timeshare in the area and choose to go to the Molloy because of it's retro-charm.

I have also found that IF I spot a maintnance problem or cleaning issue, I can go to the cleaning person, or Ernie, and they take care of it. As for peeling cabinets and linoleum, yes, it's time to fix it...but certainly don't change the overall decor.

Room Tip: The cottages are the best, but hard to get unless you make an early reservation. Poolside rooms get...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whimzicallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

First the positive:
The exterior property was very quiet and relaxing. The tall Australian pine trees catch the breezes and provide wonderful shade to relax under. The pool and pool area was small but well maintained. The exterior of the building appears in good shape but will require some paint soon. The property has a small covered picnic area with a gas grill. Some upgraded landscaping around the property would make the place a little more cozy, and replacing all the old concrete around the deck with decking or pavers would be nice. As far as the interior of our room goes, about the only positive thing I can say is that the flat screen TV appeared brand new.

Now the Negative:
We stayed in cottage room #4.
As a retired military member, I've stayed in a lot of hotels and motels in my life, and without a doubt, this was the absolute worst room I've EVER stayed in. Where do I start? The first thing that hit us as we walked into the room for the first time was the smell. This was not a typical "old motel" smell, but this place reeked of urine. We quickly detemined that it was the living room sofa/hide-a-bed. We had to run across the street to the Publix to buy Lysol and spray the whole room down!

In the kitchen area, one of the counter areas was actually a deteriorated 1/2 inch piece of plywood with some linoleum flooring glued to it. The facing on the cupboards was peeling off all around the edges, and the refrigerator was rusted and leaking something brown. The drawers were cock-eyed and difficult to open and close.

The floors throughout were deplorable! The main tile floor looked as if it hadn't been mopped in years and the only clean areas were the high traffic areas. The grout was black with filth. The carpet in the bedroom was coming away from the walls and looked like it had been there since the place was built. All of the light switches has dead skin / dirt embedded in the switches.

The Bathroom walls were very old and deteriorated masonite boards. Around the shower, these walls were so badly deteriorated that they had small holes all around the edges and were peeling away from the wall. We felt like the walls were going to detach and fall on us. The closet doors in the bathroom were also deteriorated and the facing was peeled off exposing the particle board underneath. The water pressure in the shower was pathetic and took forever to rinse shampoo out of our hair and the toilet ran constantly.

The bedroom air conditoner was quiet as long as the compressor wasn't running, but as soon as it kicked in, it would wake us out of a dead sleep. If there was a fire at night we would have never known because we later found out that the smoke detector had no battery.

Unless the property owner does some major upgrades to the room, we will never stay there again and do not recommed it to anyone else! Its a shame, because this property has so much potential. For the $100/night we spent, there are plenty of other much nicer places to stay on Treasure Island.

Room Tip: Dont stay in cottage room 4!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank heztherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#16 of 48 in Treasure Island
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
iBeach Resort
iBeach Resort
#33 of 48 in Treasure Island
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages

Address: 10164 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Price Range: $89 - $1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Molloy is the perfect Florida experience. This family-owned and operated resort is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico in beautiful Treasure Island, and offers hospitality seldom found anymore. We know how expensive vacationing with a family is so we don't charge any resort or extra guest fees. In addition, our suites come with a full kitchen so you can prepare your own meals if you choose. Sunrise-sunset, you'll enjoy them both at the Molloy. The Molloy features a sparkling heated pool in the center courtyard, where the shade trees beckon just beyond in the white sand. Grab a towel and stroll down to the shore, you'll never want to leave. The atmosphere at the Molloy is very comfortable and family oriented. Once guests find this treasure on the beach, they come back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Molloy Gulf Front Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel And Cottages Hotel Treasure Island
The Molloy Gulf Front Motel And Cottages Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing