We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Exchange a timeshare”
Review of Sand Pebble Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Pebble Resort
Certificate of Excellence
kingmikey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Place to Exchange a timeshare”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Pros:
*Rooms were clean and in decent condition considering how old the resort is.
*Plenty of parking space and there is a boat ramp only about 50 yards away.
*It's right on the beach and it's a good beach.
*Very, Very, friendly staff on hand.
*Good Location on the strip near everything that you would want near your resort.
*One bedroom units were a decent size.

Cons:
*Near the Johns Pass bridge and there is ongoing, Loud construction during the late morning and early afternoon. Based on what I've seen this will continue for another year or two.
*Free wireless internet in the lobby and at the pool which means it cant reach your room. Every night you'll see several people in the lobby huddled around their laptops.
*It's an older resort. They do a great job with keeping up with it but at the end of the day it looks like it's right out of the 50's.

Bottom Line:
I would strongly consider coming here again, especially to fish. My kids loved the pools and my wife was fine with our stay. If your expectations aren't too lofty then you'll be quite pleased.

  • Liked — The location and the beach
  • Disliked — Better free Internet options would have insured a repeat visit
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kingmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
58
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

What a nice hotel, rooms were clean and the staff very helpfull. It is well situated, right on the beach and has a large pool, small kids pool and a jacuzzi. The pool area is cleaned daily, but OMG! They forget to clean the tiles at the sides of the pools where a dirty, greasy black scum has built up. Its so thick you can write your name in it. Yuk!

This however is the only complaint about the place and don't let this put you off too much. There are two gas powered BBQ's which are great to use in the evening whilst taking in the spectacular sunset.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Filthy pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Grubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Booked room through exchange with RCI. Got a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit which seemed to be recently remodeled. Everything in the room was great the furniture was nice and comfortable. Only one laundry room on the premises. Would have been nice to have laundry in each room. They surely have plenty of room for a washer/dryer in the master bedroom closet. It was the size of a small room. The property was at a wonderful location and close to everything lots of stuff in walking distance. The beach was magnificent and about 10 feet from the front of the resort. The pool was great and shuffleboard was fun.
Brigette at the front desk was far from knowledgable and not too friendly. I alsked for directions one day and she had no clue where it was and did not seem to have any desire to help figure it out. She never had a smile on her face and did not seem to enjoy the job. The other girls at the desk were wonderful and alot of help. The elevator was horrible it made crazy noises and took forever to get to the 5th floor. If you are in a hurry make sure to take the stairs. The crowd was much older and the atmosphere was very relaxed. I liked the activities one day they had hot dogs and ice cream sundaes it was a nice perk. I would recommend the resort it was a great vacation.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — No washer/dryer in unit
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationing78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This is such a friendly place. The staff tries its best to help you and the other guests are very friendly. Many of them have been coming here for many years. The place was very clean. The second bedroom, which is small in so many places, was large with two double beds. There was a king size bed in the master suite and even more closet space than I have at home-a regular closet plus a walk in closet and double sinks. Very nice. You go down the elevator and you are at the pool and spa. It is on the beach, not across the street as so many resorts are. The prices are quite reasonable and we plan to go again. It is a ten minute walk to John's Pass with its stores, restaurants and boats and a block away from the Suncoast bus that goes up and down the island. It's good if you are a group with only one car because you can still get around independently. There is wireless internet in the lobby or you can use your phone. Free local calls.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

just returned from treasure island on tueaday may 29. third time stayying at the sand pebble resort. i love it there and booked a week in oct. i give it high reviews toledo ohio

  • Liked — so close to beach swimming pool everything about it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank almeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

My husband, 3 year old daughter and I stayed at this resort last summer for a weekend & really liked the resort. The unit was clean, staff very friendly and the location is perfect. We loved the pool and Jacuzzi and even witnessed a beach wedding one evening at sunset. (Gorgeous!)

I would definitely recommend it for families with children as the pool was a big hit & you really can’t beat the location.

  • Liked — Location and pool/jacuzzi - modern rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing - aside from maybe the elevator
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank icechik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We booked through a timeshare exchange with RCI in December. Town looks like it was stuck in the 60's but the beach itself is the big draw. Beautiful sunsets, great shell collecting for kids... but hotel itself is pretty rundown and in dire need of renovation. Furnishings in unit were really old, pull out couch unuseable due to broken springs etc but kitchen well stocked and unit large. Bring your own towels, these were so old and threadbare I would rather use to dry off my car not my body. Front desk help soooo nice and helpful and I don't agree with statement about not kid-friendly. They were so nice to my son we never had any problems. Lots of kids there. Had basketball court and volleyball on beach which was nice. All places down there seem pretty much the same, older and rundown but the beach is the main attraction anyway.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — needed updating
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your own towels
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sender7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,726 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebble Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebble Resort

Property: Sand Pebble Resort
Address: 12300 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5004
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Treasure Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebble Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sand Pebble Hotel Treasure Island
Sand Pebble Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing