We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 crazy girls”
Review of Cheri Lyn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheri Lyn Motel
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“8 crazy girls”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

us girls stayed here at Cheri Lyn Motel and it was excellent. Clean friendly and easy to get to the beach. Look out I'm coming back. I enjoyed my vacation. I would give this top billing. Right across the street was a trolley and there free yes free cab rides. the sunsets were out of this world. the owner's were right on site at all times in fact i looked myself out of my room no problem they were right there. there was a game room outside shuffle board and the pool was very very clean. the only problem with me was it wasn't pet friendly, i would have like to have taken my dog.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in room 25 nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4girlsfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    21
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let me start with the staff. They are so sweet and attentive. We had never stayed at treasure island and was leary about renting.
The hotel is lovely, very clean and the grounds are kept immaculate. Its an older hotel which has been renovated wonderfully. Our room was on the ground floor and had a full size kitchen. The full size beds were very comfortable and the updated bathrooms were great too.
We are a family of 4 and the room was fine.
The hotel is across the street from the beach but not a big deal at all.
Would definitely return.
I only wish it was pet friendly

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, but our friends room upstairs was just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socarras4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We read the reviews and felt pretty good about what we booked, however until we arrived there was a little doubt. That was immediately put to rest on arrival. The owners have done a fantastic/excellent job on preserving Florida history. The pictures from others are exactly what we arrived to. The room was very clean and modern and comfortable. The Cheri-Lyn is located directly across the street from amazing beach, the pool area of the motel is in excellent condition and well maintained; it's within walking distance to numerous restaurants and shops, and Johns Pass. Other reviewers have commented on it being a gem, lovely etc, very accurate. We definitely will return.

In fairness, although not an issue for us, Gulf Blvd is the main road along the coast seeing a lot of traffic that creates some noise. Others commented that this was an issue, I remind all that this applies to all accommodations along this route. This noise never really entered our room due to a/c running and when outside by the pool etc, we never really even noticed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Finally found a clean and friendly place to stay that was also a bargin. Going back in June gona cancel our resevations for the fancier place down the road an stay at Cheri Lyns and looking forward to years of vacations spent there PLEASE just dont change...

Room Tip: Only complaint light outside door to bright when sleeping (not that bigga deal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from a great weekend at Cheri Lyn Motel. The motel is VERY clean. The owners are always on site and are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Loved seeing Shadow and Lucy too. The motel is right across the street from beach access which makes it very convenient. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cheri Lyn for 2 weeks in January 2012 and returned again for 5 weeks over Christmas 2012/2013. We were more than happy on our first visit so didn't consider staying anywhere else. It is great value for money, as we did compare other motels on our first visit. We found it clean and comfortable. The owners; Trisha, Dan and Dave are on site and are always friendly and ever ready to assist in any way they can. It was a very homely place to stay and we easily made friends with some of the other holiday makers. There must be something special about the place as many of them have been coming back for years upon years. It is beside a junction which may not suit everyone but we got used to it. The rooms are quite large and have been renovated recently. The motel is just across from the beach with easy access to shopping by car or trolley bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallygirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here last year on spring break. We only slept here and were gone during the day. Rooms appear renovated by way of bathrooms having updated tiles, but furniture was old and uncomfortable. (Notice the website doesn't show the inside of the actual rooms?) Rooms had an odd odor. At night, people sit outside and get hammered; you will have a hard time sleeping since the sound travels thru the thin doors and you can hear partying til the wee hours of the morning. If you want a cheap place to party, this is for you. If you want a comfy and quiet place to sleep after long days out, I'd suggest a hotel where people can 't hang out outside of your room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greeneyes751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
0.0 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
523 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Page Terrace Beachfront Hotel
Page Terrace Beachfront Hotel
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
390 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset Inn & Cottages
Sunset Inn & Cottages
#1 of 48 in Treasure Island
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mardi Gras Motel
Mardi Gras Motel
#27 of 48 in Treasure Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheri Lyn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheri Lyn Motel

Property: Cheri Lyn Motel
Address: 11705 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Treasure Island
#15 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#19 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Treasure Island, Florida motel located at the heart of it all. The Cheri Lyn Motel’s central location gives you easy access to everything Florida’s West coast offers and much more. Here on the island, you will find an assortment of resturants to tempt your palate, featuring some of Florida’s fresh Gulf seafood. Shopping, entertainment, and watersports are just minutes away. In addition, Treasure Island is less than an hour and a half away from most major attractions, including Disney, Seaworld, Universal Studios, and Busch Gardens.Call now to make your reservation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheri Lyn Hotel Treasure Island
Cheri Lyn Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing