We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love the Sea Chest!!”
Review of Sea Chest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Chest Motel
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
“We Love the Sea Chest!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sea Chest Motel for the first time, and we definitely will be back. We stayed in a newly remodeled 1 bedroom that had a brand new kitchen and flat screen TV. I can't say enough of the value of this motel. The room rates are very competitive with excellent service. The room and grounds were extremely well kept and clean. Great area for restaurants and John's Pass shopping and entertainment. It was very nice that the motel is located on the beach. My wife and I enjoyed a daily walk on the beach. Honestly too much to put in one review. We loved every minute!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    35
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
99
93
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this place numerous time over the last 5 or 6 years. It is a very clean and comfortable mom and pop type establishment. If you are looking for a place that offers a continental breakfast and a workout room this place isn't for you, but if you want a friendly, quiet little place right on the beach for less then half of what you would pay otherwise, this is your place. I've never been disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fxrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here in September 2010 and had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. The beach was beautiful, the grounds were well maintained, and the rooms were updated. We stayed in a small efficiency, which suited our needs fine but next time we would try to stay in the apartment with the seperate sitting room. This place is a great value. If you are looking for a low-key vacation with a wonderful beach, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdwggw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Love the Sea Chest and TI! We had absolutely perfect weather and have already booked for next October. Will be counting the days!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fargofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2010

we had stayed at the sea chest previously and had the room that was behind the office and absolutley loved the place,we turned all our friends on to this place.Talk it up all the time. So this last time we went with another couple who had their own room as we had ours,this time our room was 101 right next to the office,well that night after a great day,we went to bed and the light was so bright from being in the hall way you have to walk through to get to the parking lot it shined right in the room.Me ,my 8yr old and husband could not go to sleep,there was only blinds no liner to block out the light,my son was wide awake,i was wide awake,i tried to put blankets,towels etc over the window with no luck. Then on top of that there was banging going on the whole time,we ended up leaving at 230am and going back to our home in tampa,got home around 330am..it totally sucked. when we called the next am to tell them where we left the room key,they didnt even ask us why we left early. I wanted to complain but my husband said it wasnt worth it because soon the oil would be there and they wouldnt have it as good as they do now..Would I stay there again? Yes,but I would have to have that room in the way back behind the office.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at the Sea Chest. It is very clean, rooms are various sizes and layouts making it nice for singles, couples and families. Some rooms can be joined to make a small apartment for larger family groups. The grounds were very well manicured and the beach access was perfect. Our room was a double with kitchenette. It had a full fridge, flat top stove burner, microwave, all utensils and beautiful cabinets. The bath was large with a vanity type dressing area. I think they may have recently done some remodeling. The beach was nice, typical for the area. No crowds when we were there, plenty of space and pretty clean for a public beach. The Sea Chest is within a 5-10 minute drive of at least 4 causeways over to St. Pete/Clearwater area and walking distance to the little town square area on Treasure Island. Great place, great stay, will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband and 9-year-old son and I spent one night at the Sea Chest Motel. Our only complaint was that our trip was so short! We all wished we could have stayed here much longer. We live in Tampa, so this was a weekend getaway. The motel is right on the beach. The pool, rooms, common areas, etc. are spotless. This is not a fancy motel, but everything is so clean!! Our son loved the pool, which was not crowded at all. Everyone we met was extremely friendly and accomodating. The motel is near lots of restaurants (St. John's Pass is north of here and has lots of shopping and eating). My son loved the Sno-Balls place near the hotel (sno-cone type treats). I cannot recommend this motel more!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.7 mi away
Page Terrace Beachfront Hotel
Page Terrace Beachfront Hotel
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Chest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chest Motel

Property: Sea Chest Motel
Address: 11780 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5118
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely two story motel with lush green grounds and heated pool directly on the Gulf of Mexico beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Chest Hotel Treasure Island
Sea Chest Treasure Island
Sea Chest Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing