We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST 4TH OF JULY EVER 2012”
Review of Sea Chest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Chest Motel
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the very best place to stay in Florida it's home away from home! Everyone from the very 1st day made you fell welcome! Oh parking no problem! The Staft went all out everyday to make you stay the very best! The 4th of July well it was a blast from the very youngest to the old guys you need to vist on the 4th of July to find out how much fun you will truly have! We are looking foward to next year can't wait. We have been going to Florida for over 30 years now and we want be looking anymore for places to stay we have found a Gem! just stop in and stay a day or two and you will see why we fell in love with the Sea Chest. The rooms, the pool the view the beach all were tops. It's in a Great location for shopping of fishing. Thanks again for a Great vacation! Milton & Lena Robinson. Walhalla SC.

Room Tip: Any room will be great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4,997,337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Sea Chest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Sea Chest is by far my favorites motel in Treasure Island. This has been the third year that we have stayed at the motel. Th motel is right on the beach with lots of green palms around with shade. There is a big pool and a shuffle board and lots of ground for kids to play around. Our rooms was very spacious with a kitchen. Very very clean. With new plasma T.V. I was very surprised to find out that the owners talk to their guests regularly and treat them like a family. For example, we forgot our beach toys and boards at home and they let us use their's. It was very kind of them. Service was excellent! The only complain was that we can't stay forever!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pazik04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was our first stay at the Sea Chest. We have stayed at the Page Terrace and at the Residence Inn.....both were very nice places, so we were hoping for yet another great trip to Treasure Island. We were not disappointed.
Negative: There was only one negative. We booked two rooms for our stay. We arrived as Tropical Storm Debby was hammering TI with rain and winds. One of our two rooms never had hot water for the duration of our stay and from my observation, no attempt to correct the problem (calling a plumbing company) was made. However, we were offered another room.
Positives: Price, value, pool, room cleanliness and overall accomodations were very nice. There are quite a few "regulars" who book rooms here and after staying, I too hope to become a regular visitor to the Sea Chest. Our family had a wonderful experience and met some very nice people. Its funny to travel so far and to see people who live so close!
We will definitely be visiting the Sea Chest again next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Sea Chest is a beautiful well kept property.The parking is terrible some people that are regulars get 2 cars and people like myself were lucky to get a parking place.Laundry facilities could be better.You get your exercise walking to the beach because it is quite a walk tor being an ocean front property.we were enjoying our stay until money was stolen from my purse and our belongs in dresser tossed around. We were at pool all day and only maid and daughters were in and out.The owner sweetly gave me 100.00 more than the 200.00 stolen to keep quiet! This was turned into police to be looked into.St least Marie gave us money so we could leave and never return

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank travi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

The parking lot has one space per room, without favoritism. We do not allow multiple parking spots for repeat guests. As you may be able to see from photos, Treasure Island has a very wide beach, and our property is as close to the ocean as allowed by building codes. Also, our laundry room features a very adequate full size washer and dryer available for guests.

As for the incident with the misplaced money, like every other motel/hotel, we are not responsible for lost or stolen goods or property. This is stated on the check-in agreement signed by every guest. We encourage everyone to lock their room door while leaving. A police report was filed. Yet, the guest continued to verbally assault and physically threaten the housekeeping staff. As well as, repeatedly slam the office door, threaten management, and overall try to make as big of a scene as possible, until money was given to her. At that point, her mood and demeanor completely changed and she became quite grateful. The reviewer profile states that she is from Massachusetts, but on the registration the guest claims to be from Ohio. If they are dishonest from where they are from, how do we know they weren't being dishonest about the entire situation.

Reviews such as these are based on hearsay and are slanderous. Unless it is proven by police investigation that the establishment in question is responsible, a review such as this has no place on a reputable website such as Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This is our second year here at the sea chest, as we are from England we love the typical American motel, and this is what it is!! The place is spotless and the owner Mary is such a lovely lady!! She makes sure she speaks to all her guests which is a nice touch. We are also sending some friends from the uk here next month on our recommendation. The pool is always sparking, and grounds are very well maintained. We had room 105 which was huge. With a separate bedroom and full kitchen!! The only negative is that it is directly on the beach but the beach is very deep so it's quite a walk to the ocean. I would recommend this motel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We are Florida residents who was looking for a local getaway. We love spending time on the beach. We are always looking for that perfect place and have tried quite a few local small motels. We prefer the small places for more peace and quite, we found it at the Sea Chest. The room was awesome! The first thing that we noticed though before we even checked in was how clean just the outside was then when we went into the room it was more than we expected. We got one of the effenciencys which is usually everything in one room, this was like a small apartment for a regular room price (in my opinion) and everything was clean and fresh. The people were so friendly and helpful also. You have the beach and a nice clean pool right in your reach. I truly recommend the Sea Chest Motel!!! The pictures on their web site are accurate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at the sea chest for a few days in may, and we were thouroughly impressed!! The staff was friendly and welcoming, the owners Maria and Andy were always so helpful and kind, and the pool was great. Everything was immaculate and comfortable! We will definitely be back. Beautiful place to stay. Thank you sea chest for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobysue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.3 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Page Terrace Beachfront Hotel
Page Terrace Beachfront Hotel
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Chest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Chest Motel

Address: 11780 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5118
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $59 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely two story motel with lush green grounds and heated pool directly on the Gulf of Mexico beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Chest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Chest Hotel Treasure Island
Sea Chest Treasure Island
Sea Chest Motel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing