We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2008

The Tropic Terrace is an older motel style property situated right on the gulf beach. It is a beautiful area of the beach complete with dunes and palm trees and it's on one of the wider areas of beach. The property itself does not have a pool (but who needs one with the gulf right there). There are 2 shuffle board courts and a grill for guests to use as well as lounge chairs in the courtyard.

The rooms are efficiencies (w/ kitchens, cable and a/c) most are studios but there are 1 and 2 bedroom rooms available.

Most of the rooms are privately owned and all decorated differently. There is daily maid service and rooms are clean and tidy.

You are within walking distance to the business district of Treasure Island with shops, eateries and Walgreens.

You can walk the beach for miles in each direction. We even walk to John's Pass and Gators!!

Overall I would recommend Tropic Terrace for anyone on a budget that doesn't need all the bells and whistles of a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank choochy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2008

To celebrate my birthday (six perfect tens), I wanted to goto the beach...spring breakers were soon to arrive and the cold weather was still around. Anyway we went. I was somewhat uncertain since the office was closed..we arrived past ten at night...but we had made arrangements via phone. All was taken care of. The only 'inconvenience" we had upon arriving was some mold on a bamboo window curtain. All was in order and clean. Everything in working conditions. No internet in rooms..basic cable plus local channels...But being right in the Gulf..why sit and watch TV??Make sure you buy groceries before getting to the area..it is cheaper and easier...bring all you might want..for the kitchen...paper towels etc..shampoo.. All was good,even with cold evenings,cold breeze and plenty of sun. Probably if you plan on being here in the summer you might need to spend more time indoors...so much sun!!Most of the guests we saw were seniors-friendly and enjoying themselves- Spring breakers were around yet nights were quiet. The office staff we talked to were friendly and relaxed. The place is next to the expensive ones-you have the same beach- but being kind of a mature place..with no pool..and no extra amenities..Yet Clean you end up saving money on room rates.We stayed in a one bedroom with a living room..second floor..easy steps..clos to the parking lot..Go for it ..it will be fun..if you are.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank playera8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2006

Spent a week at the Tropic Terrace in July 2005 in a beautiful one bedroom unit on the second floor. Not technically a gulf front unit but still had a gulf view! The property is charming - very reminiscent of the 1950's with photo albums of the property in its prime in the lobby. We were worried about the property before we arrived because the rates were so cheap but were very pleasantly surprised. Everything was well maintained and clean. Location is right on the beach and our unit was immaculately clean and very quiet. We really liked having a kitchen so we didn't have to eat all our meals out. The staff was very friendly and the housekeeping staff did a great job with all the sand around! There's no pool but with the gulf right there we didn't mind. This is not a luxury property, but for clean, inexpensive accomodations it can't be beat. We will be in the area again in 2007 and really hope to stay again but can no longer find the website - we really hope this gem hasn't been torn down to make way for high-rise condos.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rkecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Axel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 12 nie wieder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
541 reviews
0 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
293 reviews
0 mi away
Algiers Gulf Resort
Algiers Gulf Resort
#2 of 6 in Treasure Island
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island

Address: 11730 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island by Suncoast Beach Vacation Rentals. Our suites will offer a welcome respite after a day spent walking the beach, jet skiing, parasailing, fishing or doing any of the other activities that are offered in our area. We also offer free internet, cable TV, local calls, coin laundry, shuffleboard court, BBQ grill with picnic area and free parking. We are offering incredible weekend rates all summer long. Come play on our beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tropic Terrace of Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Terrace Of Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace Treasure Island
Tropic Terrace Of Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing