We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly & Fabulous Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Family Friendly & Fabulous Fun!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed at the Sunset Vistas condo and couldn't have been more pleased! The entire experience was fabulous! From checking in with the front desk staff, to delicious breakfasts at the cafe, to the clean condo, to the fantastic views of the Gulf, to the large sized pool, to the location to the parking! These beachfront suites can't be beat! Worth every penny! Our children, aged 15, 12 and 8, enjoyed sunsets on the beach, playing the in the pool and just relaxing in the warm sun! This was a perfect family spot for a winter getaway! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beachfront view! Fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We enjoyed hearing such nice comments and will share this review with our staff. We are delighted this family found Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites to be their fabulous family getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    536
    156
    48
    35
See reviews for
1,131
252
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Usually beach hotels are too relaxed from the housekeeping and attention to detail points of view. This hotel an exception to that rule and we were extremely happy to find out this jewel in Treasure Island. All the staff we dealt with, especially the Front Desk Supervisor whose name I quite can recall was extremely helpful. I am sure I will return but I will recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.
Kudos to the staff as well as to the Management Team who make sure that the guests leave the hotel with a great impression while looking forward to go back.
Thank you!!!

Room Tip: The way the building sits on the beach, all the rooms have a great view of the ocean which is a majo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesusinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We appreciate such a nice review, and your "kudos" will be shared with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were a family of 4 traveling to Treasure Island for the first time for our younger children's Spring Break. First of all Treasure Island is one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen and we have even been to Hawaii. This beach is not crowded. The sand is so soft and wonderful. My 10 year-old who has always loved the pool more than the beach could not get enough of this beach and voted it her favorite. Sunset Vista could be equally as enjoyable if they would just take some time to listen to the reviews here.

Sunset Vista was relatively easy to find and check-in was a breeze. I love the assigned parking spaces and the convenience to access the parking. We parked, unloaded and proceeded to the room. The plants along the way were just beautiful and we anxiously awaited entry to the room. When we opened the door we were relatively pleased but then we started looking around and saw just how filthy things were. The floors and carpet was dirty. The spoons, coffee pot and other utensils in the kitchen were disgusting. The base boards were extremely dirty with dirt caked on. The refrigerator had standing liquid inside that I had to wipe out. My youngest, aged 7, went to check the beds and saw the pillow covered with someone else's hair. The bathtub was full of other people's hair as well. I come prepared and thank goodness for my huge container of Clorox wipes and Clorox's amazing new 4 n 1 product to spray even the couches.

If I could have gotten my money back I would have checked out and driven right to the Residence Inn next door. Please don't let them try to tell you that it is the Rental Property within Sunset Vista that folks are saying is so unclean. I booked a hotel room with the Sunset Vista hotel directly. Christina in reservations and even reservation manager David Mason both told me the negative reviews were only for the rental property and not the hotel. Clearly this was not the case. Sunset Vista seriously could be a wonderful place to stay if they would just properly maintain their property. I saw on the bill board sign that they are looking to hire a housekeeper. I really hope that helps as I did not see not one housekeeper the 2 days I was there. Even the motel on the other side of Sunset Vista had on their bill board, "We clean our rooms, not your wallet." When I mentioned the dirty room to the receptionist upon checkout, she was un-phased. Clearly it is a common complaint. Please listen to the reviews here, Sunset Vista management, so that everyone's vacation can be equally enjoyable! I really really want to come back but not to filth!

Room Tip: S607 is conveniently located in front of the elevator. It is a two-bedroom and relatively spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dwbaisden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We regret that this reviewer did not find everything up to her expectation. We appreciate her noting the beautiful beaches of Treasure Island and many positive features of Sunset Vistas. I can assure the readers that the management and staff certainly do read, research and act on every review from every site possible- we do listen. We truly wish we had the opportunity to observe the mentioned issues and correct them immediately and make things right! Nothing was mentioned during their visit, even with the suggestion in emails by David M. to contact him personally if everything was not up to expectation. Reviewing their email correspondence: the rental program comments were certainly misrepresented in the review. Even finding one hair is too many and our housekeepers will be reminded to take a second and third look! However, adjectives like filthy, full of hair, covered in, caked on, are embellishments. The carpet in this suite was shampooed less than two weeks before this stay, and on inspection immediately after seeing this review could not be considered dirty. the "bill board" mentioned is a discreet 2 ft. sign by the bus stop. During peak tourist season every hotel is looking for qualified employees- the Residence Inn (mentioned) had it on their marquee as well.

We hope that readers understand that some reviews may have different "motivations" and to suggest that we do not listen, please understand we view Trip Advisor daily. Obviously if there is a glitch, we want to fix it immediately, and prevent it for future guests. In the past 60 days of peak tourist season only 3 comments were about a cleanliness issue (out of 30 reviews). During the same period over 1,500 families have enjoyed our resort and each receives an electronic review form from our management team. Every review is discussed with the appropriate department in our effort to continually fine tune our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here in oct-nov 2013, our friends who we were travelling with stayed here before and said how nice was, and after our stay were are hooked. The staff are great and very helping!!! We stayed on the west side of the building which was nice, but the way the building is positioned all rooms will either have a nice view of the sun rising or setting. The food was great and cheap at the Cafe, and was served very quickly. The staff came every second day for towels and just to freshen up the place. There are beach chairs in a box on the way to the beach for anyone to use, floats for the kids etc. We are booked to go back in Oct of this year, so the countdown soon begins. Location is awesome if anyone isn't familiar with Treasure Island, John's Pass is only about 1/2 mile away and all the shopping you want!!! For anyone looking to go here for the first time Don't Hesitate!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We are so happy to hear from another fan of Sunset Vistas and look forward to your return!
It is a good sign to us that our largest source of business is "return guest"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice place to stay if you want beach front. Had a room on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the gulf and beach. The room could use some updating and yes the floors and carpet are dirty. Make sure you bring something for your feet or they will be black when you leave! Towel service was terrible! They say you get fresh towels every 2 days but we had to track someone down on the third day and never got anymore for the rest of the week. Pools and grounds are kept lovely. Pool guy was there everyday, cleaning and testing. Nice and close to John's Pass ( about 10 min walk). Front desk was very helpful ( Kay ). We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms closer to beach have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We appreciate the review and suggestions and will strive to improve the floor cleaning and step up shampooing carpet. We do find this can be partially attributed to sun sprays and tracking in from hallways and outside balcony. Our housekeeping staff does maintain a log of towel service and possible DND signs. With numerous guests in room it can happen that not everyone in the suite knows when the service has been completed.. A quick call to the desk and we will always be glad to exchange towels or deliver. We are happy overall to see your strong rating and will recognize the specific employees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent three days on a family vacation, loved the rooms and the beach view. Loved the short walk to the beach and the pools were great.
It was great to be so close to John's Pass. Loved having the little Cafe right at the condo, although having only one girl working tables and cooking was a bit odd when busy. She could have used some help. Although she was happy and did not seem to get flustered.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
It is great to hear such a positive experience and we appreciate the patronage!
Sometimes it can take a bit to find a fill in for an ill employee but we are happy your cafe experience worked out well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful ocean and beach views in this 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite which my parents and my 2 girls and I stayed in for a week. There is limited parking with only one spot per unit but they were accommodating and found us an additional spot for our 2nd vehicle. The suite was a bit small but nicely finished. Don't plan for regular, large meals in the suite as the kitchen offers only the essentials and nothing more such as no colander or mixing bowls. It also seemed like a big deal to get additional towels other than every other day and no beach towels. They also weren't generous with toilet paper, paper towels, dishwasher soap or trash bags. I always felt we were putting them out by asking to replenish these items or get fresh towels which was annoying for $2600 for a week. They also don't clean the room at all unless you stay longer than a week and it tends to get pretty dirty with the sand and being oceanfront. In lieu of these complaints our overall stay was great and we very much enjoyed the beach, pool and hot tub, tiki bar and the workout room as well as convenience and proximity to other area amenities such as John's Pass, Dali Museum and much more.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Most guests find our resort a great match for a family with the full kitchen (sorry we can not anticipate every cooking need but we are happy to handle a special request), a washer/dryer in the room, and select housekeeping service. Additional housekeeping services can be arranged upon request. Never hesitate requesting towel service as different parties tend to use different amounts, we do begin with 8 sets upon arrival. Overall we are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our beautiful beach and pool facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Property: Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5124
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect family beachfront resort offering condo-sized suites and resort amenities all under one roof! Located directly on one of America’s award winning beaches and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico is this “all-suite” resort hotel offering 154 - 2 bedroom/2 bath & 3 bedroom/3 bath condo-size suites. 24 hour front desk, on-site restaurant/cafe, beach/tiki bar, heated pool, 2 whirlpools & kiddie pool with fountains. Free use of business & fitness center, free WiFi, reserved parking & daily paper. Enjoy beach volleyball, ping pong, corn toss and more. Each suite is designed in a “Coastal Living” style motif and offers spacious living/dining rooms, full size kitchens with all appliances, china, glass & silverware, in-suite washer/dryer & private balconies facing the beach. Lush tropical courtyard with multiple waterfalls and fountain. Daily, weekly & group rates are available. Walk to world famous John’s Pass Village for more restaurants, shopping, jet skis, fishing and dolphin tours. Tampa Bay’s Busch Gardens and the area’s other world-class museums and attractions are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing