We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the perfect location for a beach vacation. The beach itself was spectacular. Clean. Soft sand. Never over-crowded. The shore at Sunset Vistas is not nearly as deep as the hotels that are just 2-3 doors down, (which have a quarter mile hike through the sand before you hit ocean.) We lucked out on this detail, for sure! SV has loungers, umbrellas or clamshells for rent, and there is a free “take what you need, leave what you don’t” beach box. Some days it was over-flowing with floats, knee boards, chairs and toys. Other days it was completely empty by the time we got there. Hit or miss, but a nice feature.

There were two pools. The kiddie area had a nice sized, zero-entry pool with fountains. Deepest part was 1.5ft so it’s ideal for independent toddlers. There’s also a hot tub in this area. The second pool is a good sized, clover-shaped pool ranging from 3-5ft deep. There are plenty of chairs around the perimeter of the pool and a separate deck with a bunch of loungers.

One downside to the beach/pool, is that they do not supply towels! They encourage you to use hotel room towels at the pool and gladly swap them out (if you call the front desk), but they don’t like for the towels to go to the beach. In my opinion, the hotel needs to invest in a proper towel exchange. We’ve visited many different types of water-front properties and this was the first time we had to go out and buy beach towels. That was disappointing.

We had a couple minor housekeeping issues when we first go into our room but aside from that (and the towel issue) we are so pleased with the facility and the kindness of the staff. They were always tending to the grounds in some form. The front desk staff was warm and kind, even remembering our names. Little things like that make you feel very comfortable.

The units were exactly what we needed, a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with plenty of storage, a full kitchen & a washer & dryer. We were on a lower level and towards the front of the building (close to the street, rather than the beach). Although I would have liked a better ocean view I did appreciate the quiet of being away from the pools. The accommodations were more than adequate and quite comfortable. Other perks of the property include a ping pong table, workout facility, café (I had a great little breakfast sandwich every morning for just $4), and a beach bar.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms will be in the front of the building. The best ocean views will be towards the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are delighted the writer enjoyed our beach and resort, very helpful suggestions (we do listen!). We look forward to welcoming you back and our staff appreciated the very nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    499
    142
    46
    33
See reviews for
1,026
220
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was concerned about some previous reviews on cleanliness. I emailed the property prior to our visit and received a prompt reply from the manager. He also asked if I had a preference for our view from the room and I received a north view and was able to view the amazing sunsets right from the unit. Loved the location. Also was concerned about lack of maid service during the week but actually it worked out great. Traveling with my kids, 2 of which are older teens, they are on a different schedule than the younger kids. They could stay in bed late and lounge around without worries of maid service. They do refresh the towels every second day which is fine, and since we stayed 10 nights, after 7 you get a full maid service. They have a café on site serving breakfast and lunch and I have to say that the women working there were awesome! So friendly and easy to talk to it was like having lunch at a friends house. Food was reasonably priced and very good. They will also deliver to the pool if you like which is great.
Location is good. Most places are within walking distance.
The only reason I am not giving it 5 star rating is the parking. You are assigned a parking spot for your particular unit. The problem with ours, room 412N, was it was tight as all of them are. However people parked along the curb directly behind that row of parking spots making it difficult to back out or even to back in to the spot to make it easier to leave the next time. Really a minor thing but just saying.
Pool was large and clean. They have a "sharing" box near the beach entrance which was great. People leave chairs, rafts, noodles, etc for the next guest to you.. My boys loved that and I was happy to borrow a chair for the beach.
Give it a try. For the price you do get a lot for you money. Having 4 children a regular hotel no longer cuts it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We couldn't agree more that we are perfect for families with the two bedroom suites, full kitchen, balcony and even the washer/dryer! Thanks for the great review. We are sorry about the parking limitations but most find it great to have a reserved spot at a beach setting! We want to work on that 5 star! The Cafe staff appreciates the nice words as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a very spacious 2 bedroom suite overlooking the Gulf and a beautiful white beach. The room had a full size fridge, washing machine, dryer and full size stove. I have stayed in many hotels both on business and with the family and this is definitely one of best. Even the cafe and bar doesn't charge silly hotel prices but even if they were given out free cocktails, I don't think it would entice my wife and 1 away from the view from our balcony. Fantastic, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Our staff is thrilled that you found "paradise"! We thank you for the super review and agree that this is a fantastic resort for families and at a great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sunset vistas is a great condo for the $$. Was concerned because of some comments on cleanliness from other users, but had no problems. This is our 2nd year at this location and the condo was clean and right on the beach. Great location, easy to get to great resteraunts in St. Pete and Treasure Island.

Only negative is cost to rent beach chairs...seemed expensive to me, so if you drive, take chairs. Beach was fabulous though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed the location and accommodations. Thanks for the great review!
Beach chaise rentals are an outside concession but they do have multiple day discounts and options. We are proud of our beaches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Aug 4-7 my sister and I brought our 3 boys to the beach before school starts. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, partial ocean view condo. Let me just begin by saying, the view from the master bedroom and balcony was beautiful. We stayed in S310 and couldnt of been happier with the view. There was plenty of room for all of us(5 people total), and the kitchen really came in handy. We went down the street to the grocery store and pretty much cooked easy meals the time we was there. The pool area is nice, with a large enough pool that it didnt get crowded. Also, the beach is literally a few steps away. I will def. be returning to stay here. It is by NO MEANS a 5 star hotel, but its def a good catch for a good price. I must agree with a couple reviews, the floor was dirty and looked like it hadnt been mopped in months, but I still think its a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room S310, and the view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretti_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are glad you and your families enjoyed Sunset Vistas. the full kitchen does give guests the option to save on some meals and still enjoy area dining experiences. We had the tile floor stripped the very day of this guest departure to remove some old sealer that was discolored and it is in top shape now, we are very sorry it was not done sooner. We had a bad experience with a certain sealer product but now all is removed in all suites. Most of our suites have wonderful views but to clarify, 310 is a gulf view suite and not a partial view where the view is a bit more limited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, 3 nights last summer, 4 nights this summer and plan to go back for 7 nights next summer. We had 3 suits last year and got 2 this year due to fewer family members able to join us this time. We are always very satisfied and have a great stay. The location is perfect for our needs and the beach access is very good here. The rooms are clean and well stocked. This is one of the very few properties on the beach that will rent for less than a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are so glad to be your beach home away from home and hear that your expectations continue to be met. We are happy to have the flexibility to rent on most dates for any number of nights in addition to weekly discounts. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is right on the beach. The rooms are spacious with cooking and washing facilities. There is a small breakfast room on site, and pool bar for afternoon and early evenings only. The bar and restaurant area of John's Pass is 5 mins drive or 15 mins walk, with numerous venues, including boat tours of the bay. A few blocks from a Publix supermarket if you need this.

Room Tip: Beach views improve at the back of the property, the front is on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joetidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, General Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are delighted that you had a terrific vacation and enjoyed Sunset Vistas. Thanks for the informative review. We look forward to hosting your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Property: Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing