We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vacation away from the snow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation away from the snow!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Traveled here with my wife, infant son and my wifes parents. The place was easy to find and the condo/room was perfect for us. Very clean and comfortable. Nice size TV and great view from the balcony of the gulf. Stayed on the 6th floor right by the elevator and did not have any problems with noisy people. Rented a pack and play pen from hotel that worked out great. Was not in the room when we arrived but one phone call to the front desk and it was brought up immediately. Same with the towels. We called and fresh ones were brought up quickly. Hotel is right on a nice big beach so easy to access and were able to take some nice long walks. Also Johns Pass was very close and my wife and mother in law went there often and enjoyed themselves. From the hotel it was very easy to get to anywhere else in the area. Treasure Island itself is looking pretty run down and tired but seems to be getting a revival. Ate at the Middle Grounds Grill and it was excellent!! All in all a great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are pleased to hear you found our facility to be clean, comfortable, and peaceful. We are also always pleased to offer pack-n-play units as we have them available for a nominal fee. Additionally, if you have further baby needs (such as full crib), be sure to check with our Front Desk who can recommend a local company that rents other equipment with delivery to the hotel. Please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    526
    151
    47
    35
See reviews for
1,090
244
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We also stayed during the cool weather. The hotel is quiet, the staff very friendly and helpful.
The suite layout is great, lots of space, and storage. A real plus with 2 bedrooms,
2 baths, full kitchen and balcony. Wasn't really thrilled with the "restaurant" on premises,
but it does provide light food, and there is a Circle K across the street, a trolley stop
in front, to venture to Publix, and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: We wanted a room facing the gulf. Most rooms are actually Gulf view, with a partial view. You reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clydekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites! We are always happy to hear our staff offered you a welcoming and hospitable stay, and pleased to hear you found our location to be convenient to various amenities. Please come again and feel free to inquire on our Gulf Front suites, facing directly onto the Gulf with balconies offering a 180 degree view of the beach and water. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Sunset Vistas. The rooms are very spacious! We loved having a full kitchen,2 baths,2 bedrooms and even laundry. Rooms were clean and the resort was very quiet and peaceful. The weather was cool while we were in Florida but with the pool located between the buildings it blocked the wind but not the sun and we were able to enjoy sunbathing poolside.The location was great for walking to Johns Pass which has nice shops and great restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint we have is the beds and pillows are not very comfortable. We did request new pillows but they weren't any better than what we originally had on our bed.Overall a great hotel and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of our property! We are pleased you found our pool and facilities comfortable even with the weather that was a bit cool for Florida. We agree our location is great for accessing nearby John’s Pass shopping and dining. We will take your thoughts in mind as we continue our maintenance and upgrades to our property. Please come see us again soon!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our family is 2 adults, 2 teenagers. We stayed in 611S for 1 wk.
We specifically chose this unit because the 2nd bedroom has 2 twin beds.
In reality, it is 2 squeaky COTS in a very tiny bedroom.
Masterbedroom also needs a new bed.
The view, beach, pools, and location are fabulous!!
We would stay again, just not in this unit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank angiehockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Treasure Island is indeed a great location for a vacation! This particular unit is not part of the on-site rental program with Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites and is rented through another source. All of our suites are supplied with a queen size bed in each bedroom and most reviews are very positive about the comfort. We also have an on-going refreshing process to maintain the units to the highest standard and offer the benefit of on-site housekeeping and maintenance to address any need or request. We encourage booking directly with the hotel or direct on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day vacation at Sunset Vista. We wouldn't change a thing about our trip (other than one day of rain). We had a fabulous time. We were traveling with a 5 year old and 10 month old. The beach access, pool area, proximity to restaurants and room space were fabulous. We especially enjoyed the hospitality bin of beach toys and chairs, there was a huge selection of beach toys for our daughter to choose from. The 2 bedroom suite did show a little wear and tear, but we didn't come to Treasure Island to sit in the room! It was more than adequate for our needs and had a great gulf view. I spent countless hours researching both hotels and condos and am very happy with our decision to stay at Sunset Vista. We plan to return next year over spring break.

Room Tip: A full of partial gulf view is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are excited to hear you wouldn’t change a thing about your stay (other than that day of rain)! Our property is definitely family-friendly, as you found with our amenities and nearby attractions, and we would even try to send a message to hold off on the rain next time around. Please come see us again on your next vacation to Treasure Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel and the view from our 4th floor gulf view room. The room itself was comfortable but it did seem to be lacking in up-keep. For example, the faucets were missing pieces, the grout in the tub was moldy and falling off, the appliances are very old as are most of the kitchen items. The beds were very comfortable with nice enough linens. The room was noisy at times with what seemed like someone above us dragging furniture across the floor. On the few times that we dealt with the staff they were very friendly and helpful. The pool area was very clean and the sandy beach is fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a gulf view room on the top floor to avoid room noise from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites! We are pleased you found our location to be ideal and had a spectacular view of the Gulf, not to mention found our staff to be accommodating. We have completed some recent upgrades to rooms such as new flat-screen televisions, new window coverings, and other upgrades and also complete regular preventative maintenance to rooms. That said, we would be pleased to learn more about specific items you found lacking so we can ensure there is nothing we are missing. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to talk further and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Vistas as a result of the owner of the property I originally selected decided to vacation during the week we were coming. The broker offered this location as a second option. SV offers all you would expect from a hotel. They even have their own little tiki bar near the pool. But when I come to Treasure Island it's like a second home and that's the kind of condo I like to stay in. SV lacked that feeling and the units were quite narrow and rooms small. We had a family of 7 and I felt cramped unlike the other properties we have stayed at in Treasure Island. The rooms only have queen beds which seemed like full size. SV does offer a tad more than the condos but those things are not as important to me. It's a hotel attempting to be a resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blkwomannucleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoch, Manager at Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for trying Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites! We are pleased to hear that overall our 810 square foot condo suites helped make for a reasonably comfortable stay. If your family of 7 comes to visit Treasure Island again, be sure to inquire on our 3 bedroom or Penthouse suites, which offer 1620 square feet. In fact, our Penthouse units even offer a king size bed in the master bedroom. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites

Property: Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Address: 12000 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5124
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#10 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect family beachfront resort offering condo-sized suites and resort amenities all under one roof! Located directly on one of America’s award winning beaches and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico is this “all-suite” resort hotel offering 154 - 2 bedroom/2 bath & 3 bedroom/3 bath condo-size suites. 24 hour front desk, on-site restaurant/cafe, beach/tiki bar, heated pool, 2 whirlpools & kiddie pool with fountains. Free use of business & fitness center, free WiFi, reserved parking & daily paper. Enjoy beach volleyball, ping pong, corn toss and more. Each suite is designed in a “Coastal Living” style motif and offers spacious living/dining rooms, full size kitchens with all appliances, china, glass & silverware, in-suite washer/dryer & private balconies facing the beach. Lush tropical courtyard with multiple waterfalls and fountain. Daily, weekly & group rates are available. Walk to world famous John’s Pass Village for more restaurants, shopping, jet skis, fishing and dolphin tours. Tampa Bay’s Busch Gardens and the area’s other world-class museums and attractions are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Hotel Treasure Island
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Resort
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing