We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Where to start? This place is awesome! We were going to stay in Orlando while on vacation but thought maybe it would be nice to go somewhere with a beach. We had stayed in St. Pete's for our anniversary 28 years ago and remembered driving by this area then. After reading reviews here on TA, we rolled the dice on this place, and won.

The rooms are immaculate. Cleanliness is such a big factor for us. The room had everything. The views from our balcony were incredible. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. So much space. The kitchen had everything we needed. The balcony is huge and has doors from both the living room and the master bedroom. It is located right on Gulf Blvd and is within walking distance to everything including a Publix grocery store, a Walgreens and several great restaurants ( Ricky T's being our favourite ).

There were a few bumps in the road during our vacation. The pool and hot tub were both down for the last 3 days of our stay. While we love the beach, it would have been nice to have the pool too. They did offer us the use of their sister site just a 5 minute walk up the street, so that was not a deal breaker. The elevator is super slow too but that only seemed to be an issue on the day we arrived with our luggage. Most days we had no issue and we also decided to walk down the stairs for exercise. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful ( Eva if my memory stands correct ).

So having said all of that,,,we can't wait to book it again next September. We loved it! The area of Treasure Island is more of a local's kind of place and less like a touristy hangout. Our kind of place.

Room Tip: As stated before, every room is great. We chose to stay on the top floor. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbert63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Bobbert63,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    160
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
434
119
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm giving this four stars with a few caveats. We rented directly through the owner so I won't comment on the interior condition of our condo, but will review the property and surrounding area here. It's true that this condo is technically beachfront and you will have a nice view of the ocean, but the water is quite a long hike from the building. Factor this in if you have small kids, are handicapped, or are 7 months pregnant like me and don't want to do a lot of walking in the hot sun.

The pool area is small but nice, with loungers, umbrellas, and a hot tub.

There are plenty of shops and restaurants and a Publix grocery store within walking distance across the street, and John's Pass Village has even more options just down the road.

The building has one elevator but it's very slow and smelled strange.

The parking situation is a potential negative. You only get one tight parking space per unit, and there is only one guest spot for the entire place. If you have 2 couples/vehicles sharing a condo, the other car is out of luck. You will have to find parking several blocks away or park in front of the building and hope you don't get towed.

The beach was just okay in my opinion. The sand had a lot of shells instead of the powdery soft sand I'm used to on the Gulf, there was the long walk to shore (seriously, you could stay across the street at any other beach and still have a shorter walk), and there were tons of stingrays in the water when we went.

I did enjoy the paved sidewalk running behind the condo - nice for taking a walk or run, and there was also a public playground on the beach to the right if you have kids.

Overall, we got a good value for the price we paid, but I will probably look elsewhere for our next beach vacation, mainly due to the conditions of the beach here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bananafishfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear bananafishfever,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will address all issues immediately. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Theses condos are just the best place u can take your family. They r 2 bedrooms and r fully stocked with everything that u need!!! The view is beautiful and all the staff is amazing. If u r looking for a getting away for a great price u should really check them out!! They have a heated hot tub and a hot tub. Go check them out :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear MissyWhite,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is very good. Nicely furnished and very clean two bedroom, two bath in the heart of Treasure Island, Fl. I was there for the pool and view of the gulf. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this resort and plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Judi P,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay at Surf Beach was average. I did stay there a few years back and thought it was awesome. For some reason they have let it slip a bit in the expectations. The furnishings were outdated & worn. The blinds had been repaired several times and were very hard to work with. The room was for the most part clean. Had some issues with sheets on one of the beds had not been washed. The room layout is great and the beach is beautiful. A bit of a walk but very nice.

Room Tip: May want to look at it before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nsanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Nsanney,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We will address all issues immediately. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was first time staying at this property and I was very pleased. I was in town for the Yankee baseball series with the Tampa Bay Rays. This property was a perfect on the beach and a 20 minute drive to Tropicana Field. The front office staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. Surf Beach Resort sits directly on the beach and there were resturants within walking distance. The 2BR 2 bath was perfect for two couples traveling for the game. Nicely furnished and large enough for two adult couples to move around freely.

I would certainly recomennd this property and plan to return there on my visits to the Beach or during baseball season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Chick S

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Surf Beach Resort FL was a fantastic place to stay for me and my family, the condo was clean and spacious and was directly on the beach. The staff were friendly and I would highly recommend the Middle Ground Grill directly opposite, a little pricey but very high quality food, would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf View room, we were in 402 and so was quiet with beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfBeachCondos, Manager at Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Gaynor K,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sunsational Beach Rentals LLC as your home away from home. We look forward to your return visit with us soon!

Sunsational Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Beach Resort

Property: Surf Beach Resort
Address: 11040 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Surf Beach Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing