We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location ... Food average”

Gators Cafe & Saloon
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gators Cafe & Saloon is ready for your vacation in Treasure Island, Florida! What was once a small beach bar has grown into a 400 seat sports bar and restaurant complex, with waterfront views of historic John's Pass and the Gulf of Mexico. Our second floor comes fully-equipped with the Gator's Saloon Tasting Room, The Tiki Lounge at Gators and a sunset view that will make all of your Facebook friends jealous.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location ... Food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a few starters here rather than a big meal ...
Ordered a what was described as a whole pound of wings which when brought out was about 8 wings ! Ok I know they were bigger than your average ... Then advised to have there speciality waffle fries which we all thought were disgusting and wish we'd just gone for the usual fries ! Caesar salad was good though ... Margarita was ok nothing special .... We were on our last night of the holiday superb location but food was not great we will perhaps go for just drinks next time if anything ...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    213
    139
    73
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went to the gators with friends on Memorial weekend 2013 the place was buzzing,the atmosphere
Was superb,it was packed, but the service was first class. We sat outside over looking the
Water, food always seem to taste better outside. My wife had the ground beef on toasted rye with all the trimmings, I had the large white fish with all the trimmings, both dishes were excellent. We went again 2 days later. When we go back to Florida in Oct on vacation from England we will
Go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albers, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lifesaver's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were supposed to only go to Gator's for a wedding reception..until Tropical Storm Andrea washed out the beach wedding location. The staff at Gator's were understanding, helpful, and enjoyable to work with. The reception area really wasn't going to work for the wedding and it just so happened that 2 parties were ending in the big room next door, so within minutes (literally) of those parties ending, the place was set up for a wedding! Izzy, a female manager (whose name I didn't get), and their staff were so helpful in setting up the room, cleaning it, and doing whatever I asked of them.
The food was great and while it wasn't exactly what the bride and groom had planned, they and all of the guests were happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston TX
Level Contributor
1 review
“Wouldnt go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location!!! Food and service was just OK. Might be a good place to have a cold beer and watch the boats come in but thats about it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peaches1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just the Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Gators is a great location. You can visit by land or water. They have people to help you dock your boat, which is nice. But it all stops there. The food is pricey and not good. Not even good for "bar food". The draft beer was warm, so was forced to pay top dollar for a domestic bottle. Spent $45 on mediocre food (sandwiches) and 4 beers for lunch. Our server had too many tables so service was poor. The view, and watching boats go by was nice, you really can't go wrong with John's Pass. And they actually had a good band for entertainment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gators Cafe & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Gators Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing