We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location-poor service”

Gators Cafe & Saloon
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gators Cafe & Saloon is ready for your vacation in Treasure Island, Florida! What was once a small beach bar has grown into a 400 seat sports bar and restaurant complex, with waterfront views of historic John's Pass and the Gulf of Mexico. Our second floor comes fully-equipped with the Gator's Saloon Tasting Room, The Tiki Lounge at Gators and a sunset view that will make all of your Facebook friends jealous.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location-poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sitting on the deck cannot be better across from Johns Pass. Food was very good but the service is lacking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindadilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    213
    139
    73
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time has changed this place for the better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for a few drinks and an appitizer a few weeks ago and we were very impressed! We haven't been to Gators in well over 5 years (we live in Tampa). We were so shocked when we saw new hard wood floors, new chairs and tables, new bar and a brand new logo. Our waitress was very sweet and made our short time there a lot of fun. The food was delcious. We went back a week later and tried their breakfast and we had no complaints. All the staff we encountered were nice and fun. We will be coming back. This place is a staple on Treasure Island and we are thrilled at how well they are doing. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilight473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to Gators for the Reggae music and we weren't disappointed! The band was fantastic. Friendly place, we even made friends with friends of the band. Oh.... and the food was good also. Regular pub fare, but good. Even had gator. The sunset from the deck was beautiful. They have gators and pirates outside for photo opportunities if you are so inclind, which I am. I love stuff like that. They sell T-shirts and have great drinks. Great place for a night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ehhhh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was a bit disappointing. Tried the Gator tail, and it was hard fried, over breaded, and chewy. More fries in the basket than the actual order. Drinks were ok but service left a little to be desired. Atmosphere was like biker bar meets college bar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jpowelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellette
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent primerib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband had the prime rib and said it was the best he has eaten. Loved the rub they had prepared it with. The meal was good. We didn't realize it had to do with the college team. Lots of memorbilia in it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank harveylou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gators Cafe & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Gators Cafe & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing