We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whispers Resort at Treasure Island
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently stayed at whispers for two nights and can say that it was perfect and exactly as we expected it to be. It was clean and beautifully furnished, all facilities we required. The location was perfect, we could walk to shops, bars, restaurants and the beach within minutes. Being 5 mature ladies we felt comfortable and safe.
I would like to add my appreciation to Jeffrey, as stupidly I left a large amount of money in the room when I left, Jeffrey was of course very honest and went out of his way to assist me by finding the money and arranging for it to be sent to me to save me having to make a long journey back to collect it. We would all definitely stay here again and would recommend Whispers to anybody. Thank you Jeffrey and Sharda.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendywoo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whersuch, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Wendy,

Thank you so much for your great review.

I am glad to have helped you get your money back.

Sharda and I look forward to having you back and hopefully you will have a little more time to explore the many wonderful experiences here in the St Petersburg Area.

Wishing you all a Merry Xmas!

Safe trip home.

Best wishes

Jeffrey and Sharda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I booked unit 4 for 8 nights. We were unable to sleep here, as the bed was so uncomfortable! The mattress was worn out, lumpy and soft. You would sink into a hole and not be able to get out of it! We tried to sleep on the couch, that was hard with metal rods in our backs. It became so bad, we actually rented a hotel for a couple nights so we get some sleep! The room looked as it appeared in the pictures, it was pretty clean and I didn't see any bugs. The outside patio had so much dirt and mold on it, we did not want to sit out there..definitely would not eat out there. The pool was dirty. There was a nice dock where you can fish or dolphin watch. Saturday night some people came and stayed in the room across from ours. They had a heck of a party all night long! People coming and going all night and the music blaring!! Definitely would not return here. I guess if you just want a place to crash and party it would be ok for you...not for us!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alexanders07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent Labor Day weekend here and had a such a great time! The location is excellent! We stayed in the house where we slept 7 along with our dog. The beds were all comfortable. There was so much room! We enjoyed the dock in the back as well as the grill and swimming pool. Walking distance to the beach, Publix and great restaurants. Jeffrey and Sharda were extremely accommodating. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domingo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whersuch, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

I am delighted that your family and friends had a great time in the Executive House.

I have you confirmed for the same time next year.

Thank you so much for the nice review, we appreciate it,

Warm wishes from Whispers,

Jeffrey and Sharda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a girl’s only vacation this summer as just my three teenage daughters and I were able to go. We decided on a relaxed week at the beach at Treasure Island. I chose the Whispers Resort based in part on location and price. We were very pleased with our choice of accommodations. Jeffrey and Sharda, the owners, were wonderful to work with and made us feel welcome. Even though they do not reside on site, they responded to our requests in a timely manner and were on the property quite a bit during the week we were on vacation. Whispers is an, old resort property which has been restored in a unique and charming way. From the beautiful tropical landscaped courtyard, to the gorgeous bay front pool and dock, we felt as if we had stepped into our own little private oasis once we walked through the decorative red ornamental gate. There were few guests there during our vacation so we felt very private as well. We pretty much had the pool area and dock to ourselves, which was great! The location of Whispers is also a plus. We could walk almost everywhere we wanted to go: the beach, grocery store, shops, and restaurants. The neighborhood is very safe. The police department is just a block or so away. We stayed in the two bedroom unit (number 7, The Florida Suite). It is adorable, especially for teenage girls! They loved the bright colors and the fun Floridian themed decor. The suite was very clean and well maintained. It has a window unit for the air conditioner, but it cooled the unit more than enough. I understand there are plans to install central air in that unit this summer. I highly recommend Whispers Resort for travelers who want a unique vacation experience and are value conscious. They will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLTK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whersuch, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

We are delighted that the "All Girls" vacation at Whispers was a huge success.

I am glad that you mentioned the security being so safe.

One of the things that travelers are concerned about is safety especially when it comes to places that they are unfamiliar with.

This is especially true for ladies who may be on their own.

Whispers is very safe, and it is very private and completely fenced and hidden behind lush tropical gardens.
Like a private home.

From the street it is tucked away from prying eyes and you feel that you are safe and are being taken care of.

We call it a Retreat.

Once common theme you will find in many of the reviews is how much people feel that they are in their own private home.

So glad that you all had a marvelous time.

Respectfully,

Jeffrey and Sharda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I rented the "Executive House" for a week in July.

PRO'S:
For prime season, the price was FANTASTIC, house layout was wonderful; bedrooms are separated by central living room & dining room area. Sleeps 8 very comfortably. One entire side of the house (that faces the Bay) are sliding glass doors, with a very lovely view. House was clean and very welcoming! Plenty of beach towels, dishes for cooking & eating, etc. Only needed to buy things like trash bags, paper towels, dish soap, etc. Most everything was provided. Location was great, close to beach, shops, restaurants & bars. Publix grocery store is walking distance. The resort owners were very helpful & answered all my questions. Email was a great way to communicate, instead of playing phone tag. I got non stop compliments from my friends & family asking me how I found this place. The "courtyard" area that you walk to, to get to the unit is absolutely adorable. There's a little fountain right outside the front door that adds to the ambiance & a iron gate before you get to two big red doors that lead you into the house. Overall the house is very cozy and sweet. It's not top of the line appliances or modern decor, but that's exactly what we liked about it. Has central air, with the exception of one room that had a wall unit. But it wasn't smelly or mildewy like in cheap hotels. I have very sensitive allergies to mold & mildew (non stop sneezing) and ended up sleeping in there & was fine.

CON'S (SOMEWHAT)
The pool is at the back of the property and runs the length of the home rental (and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars). So you literally step out one of the 3 sliding glass doors into the common area; grill, dock, pool. So hopefully whoever is also renting one of the other 8 units, are not annoying or problematic. We had a couple that got way too comfortable & once they started drinking, thought they could walk in & out of our rental unit. So I had to sternly tell them to make themselves comfortable elsewhere. If you don't handle confrontation well or get unlucky with a rowdy group that's partying it up at the pool/dock, I could see that being a problem, since the unit is extremely close quarters. The same way someone has a private pool at their home. The same couple later were screaming at one another at midnight so loudly I thought I may have to call the police. Once I told them to quiet it down, they stopped. But again, I had to handle it myself. Depending on what you're expectations are, this may or may not matter. This rental is perfect for low maintenance people. There's no "front desk" or on site staff, so if you lock yourself out of your room or need after hours response, you're going to have to be patient.

The refrigerator was a slight problem, with a house full of people opening & closing it, it wasn't very cold. But there are 2 other small ones in the house, so we just ended up moving the milk & those type of things over. The washer was defective & leaked, but we only needed it once & when I informed the owner he said that he had just ordered a new one. Dryer was also broken, but was scheduled to be replaced as well. Again, none of these things were a problem for us. Just depends how high maintenance your family/group is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sovay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whersuch, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for the nice review.

Actually the room that you stayed in does have central A/C - this is one of the European style split systems that we have just installed.

It is good that you mentioned that the 3 bedroom 3 bathroom house is part of the Whispers property and it shares common area spaces with the other guests. Such as the pool and the dock.

My family and I lived in it for many years and it was a lovely home for us.

I miss the days of sitting in the sun room that runs the entire length of the water frontage just 20 feet from the water.

That is the life.

Warm wishes

Jeffrey and Sharda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We looked up the Whispers Resort on line and decided to stay there for our kids spring break based on the pictures that were portrayed online. What a mistake. Upon our arrival we quickly realized the mistake we had made. The place was worn out, dirty, smelled and did not look anything like the pictures. They were full and would not move us to another unit and we ended up having to wash the sheets on the bed because there was hair in it. So we ended up staying for a couple nights until my wife spotted some roaches in the silverware drawer. We moved out and went to a Hotel. The couple we were vacationing with had the same problem and they left with us. Very unreasonable people to deal with. Overall Dump. All I can tell you is if you have any expectations of cleanliness..... this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HPA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a trying year, we needed a good dose of rest and relaxation. And we found it big time at Whispers Resort. Where do I begin... the unique themed units (we chose the Hawaiian), the local flora lined pathway, the various water features, the pool, the dock, the lovely pool. We didn't rent a car and rarely missed having one.The beach is a 5 minute stroll from Whispers as is the Publix grocery store. Local eateries, drug store, liquor, bait shop all within easy walk. And speaking of bait, the dock was a great place to drown some bait, make friends with the pelicans, or enjoy the balmy breeze under a moonlit sky at night. Everyone we met was warm and friendly and I credit Whispers for that. It's not the extension of a concrete jungle. It's more of an eclectic taste, with the themes and the old world Floridian charm. Don't look for new chrome appliances and granite because you won't find it. You will find caring owners in Jeffrey and Charda. You will find a lovely respite. We stayed 7 days and saw either Jeffrey, Charda, or the grounds keeper every single day. They care about their space. Jeffery continues to perform upgrades, so some of the older reviews are outdated. There is a wonderful tree near the pool so don't be put off with the occasional leaf you will find in it. I made a game of out of leaf chasing when swimming. We can attest to seeing the pool cleaned everyday. Take advantage of the Trolley system. For $4.50 get a go-card pass (from the trolley driver) and ride all day long. We visited the Salvador Dali Museum in St. Petersburg and the Chihully glass exhibits. Both are a must see. Our advice... explore the area. Then come back at night, lounge on the dock and marvel at the day. We loved our stay at Whispers and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 5 are closest to the front gate. If you can when you check in or see Jeff or Charda, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fundmntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmsolomon, Owner at Whispers Resort at Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

OUR PELICAN RESCUE:

I love it when someone "gets" Whispers, and I can say that Yvonne and Glen are the most charming couple and we had some lovely chats around the pool because the daily pool cleaner is me!

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate it!

Sharda and I really look forward to seeing you again, soon!

I have to give an update on our renovations....I just put in a new Chlorine from salt pool sanitizer and I put some extra time in getting the water balance right. It kept tripping and so we put in a dedicated electrical line. This computerized device uses ordinary table salt and electrolyzes it and makes a much more healthy sanitizer than chlorine that is harsh and potentially toxic.
I hope that you all enjoy the new, soft water.

Last week we caught an injured pelican on our dock at Whispers. It was limping badly.
We found out that it had a hook in its foot and fishing line was cutting into its skin. We had to capture it with the pool net!
With 3 of us, one to hold its beak and wings, one to hold its foot and spread the webbing, and one to actually remove the hook.

The hook was right through the bottom of its foot and had lodged itself into the toe.
We had to cut the bottom off the hook that still had the line and lead weights attached, so that we could pull the hook through the foot and then to unhook it from the toe.

Dolphins and sea manatees also get trapped in discarded line and hooks. It frequently causes maiming and death in these magnificent creatures.

Perhaps this is a good time to remind all the anglers - Please dispose of your line and hooks responsibly into the trash can. Please do not leave it them in the environment, or on the dock and do not dispose of it in the water.

'Till later....

Jeffrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
2,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispers Resort at Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispers Resort at Treasure Island

Address: 279 104th Ave, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4805
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whispers Resort at Treasure Island 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright and Cheerful Unique Themed Decor Boutique Resort.......Your choice of One and Two Bedroom Condominiums Plus a 3 Bedroom House!.....Fabulous waterfront location in the heart of Treasure Island..... *** Close to Shops, Dining, Supermarket, Water Sports, Beach Trolley.....This Unique Heritage Property has been Updated in Fall 2012..... *** Full Kitchens with full size Appliances, Stove, Microwave, Fridge. *** All Appliances, Cookware, Dinnerware included. *** Iron, Hair Dryer, Linens, Beach Towels. *** Tiled throughout *** Large Size Feather Beds offer a Luxurious Sleeping Experience. *** Pull Out Sofas in Living Room *** Free Wi Fi *** Free Cable 70+ Channels *** Large Flat Screen TV's *** DVD Player, Stereo System *** All Ground Floor Suites with Private Patios..... Water Front with Lush Tropical Gardens....... *** Heated Pool *** Large Fishing Dock *** Bay Front *** Dolphin Watching *** Boat Mooring *** BBQ *** Very Private and Secluded. *** Fully Fenced. Children and Pets Welcome. *** Free Parking.......Beach Access take your car or a short six minute walk....... *** Close to Historic Johns Pass Village - 1 mile *** 20 minutes to Down Town St Petersburg and Tropicana Stadium *** 35 minutes to Tampa International Airport and Clearwater Airport *** 45 Minutes to Busch Gardens *** 45 Minutes to Hard Rock Casino *** 90 Minutes to Disney, Universal and Sea World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Whispers Resort at Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispers Resort At Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Whispers Resort At Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing