We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage Getaway”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorse Cottages
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed at the Seahorse Cottages multiple times growing up. This year was a pleasant surprise with all the upgrades :) Granted the place isn't perfect but they are Cottages! If you want the fancy hotel treatment this isn't the place for you. But if you want a quiet and relaxing vacation on the beach then you will get it here. The cottages are old but very clean with a kitchen stocked with plates, glasses and pans - if you don't want to eat out. Which leads to everything is within walking distance....Grocery store, restaurants and other shopping stores. The management was very helpful. The wi-fi, firepit and kayaks are nice touches added to the property. I was a little bummed that the room we got was right next to the road but other than that everything went well and we enjoyed our stay. Definitely will be back again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a little noisy due to it being right by the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tabitha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice little inexpensive place to stay right on the beach. Convenient to everything. The only thing was the hard beds. Very uncomfortable next time we are bringing our own blowup mattress. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank brooklynspizzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We paid for the use of the available equipment and met up with numerous problems. The access code for the key was incorrect. The lock box was not working.

Internet access was very poor. Wi Fi access was only available in one area of our room.

The on site attendant was very friendly and helpful. He was able to help us with many of the problems we faced. His efforts were much appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeemingVR, General Manager at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We apologize for any inconvenience with the technology. We have lockboxes set up for all recreational equipment. The batteries went dead and where replaced as fast as possible. This has been the only issue we have had with them to date and we replaced all batteries with Duracell 10 Year shelf life batteries. The codes can include an asterisk (*) and some people do not use that as part of the code and it will not work. But, these are easily taken care of with a phone call, text, email or seeing Ron on site. I am not sure if these were the specifics of this guest or not but these are some issues we have encountered.
The internet was an issue to the point we had Bright House (ISP) out almost everyday for a week. The system was finally replaced and all has been working good since that time with no complaints.
We appreciate your feedback as we continue to strive to provide a wonderful "old Florida" vacation experience for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great location and hosts. This cottage was our perfect way to vacation. We enjoyed the large beach and the patio area, the bikes, kayak (for calm waters, a good place to put in is at the dock behind the Publix), walking path right next door, kitchenette for cooking, the convenience of a Publix grocery store right across the street, and the many things to do nearby. These are nice little cottages, not pristine condos, but are great places to stay to enjoy the outdoors. We are already planning to return. Thanks Jeff and Gina for keeping these wonderful vacation cottages alive. This is so much better than a cruise, hotel or condo: It was the perfect vacation for us.

Room Tip: Cottage #5 has a single room like a studio apartment, with adequate space for my wife and I but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeLovesVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

..but don't expect too much more. The cottages are quaint, if dated. I really enjoyed my stay here though. They are on the beach and next to the boardwalk, steps to groceries, restaurants and downtown TI. If you like matching dishes, decor, and furniture it's not here. You will find out what "rustic" means. That said, the shared beach furniture, grill, kayak and bikes were nice to have on hand. The extra fee is a fraction of the going day rate for theses locally. If you don't have a lot of money, but want to be in the middle of it all and right on the beach, you can't beat this place, if you don't mind 'rustic, Old Florida". ANYPLACE on Treasure Island is worth it, this island is pretty incredible.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank condorjpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

great place right on the beach---Ron the maintenance guy on site was helpful if you had a problem.The couch in the living room was a little small and I just called it LUMPY.WE met some great people and made some friends.We had cottage 2 for the month of March the weather was cool at night(44f) but warm in the day time. Ocean was cold but eh it did not snow--

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in #3 cottage, it was small but nice, great TV good wifi. The cottages need some repair arond doors and windows. We had a good time. The beach is really wide and clean. Very convient to shopping and eating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smith7842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Inn & Cottages
Sunset Inn & Cottages
#1 of 48 in Treasure Island
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilmar Beach Resort
Bilmar Beach Resort
#8 of 48 in Treasure Island
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 10356 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4813
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range: $75 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better for your budget on the beach. Kayak, paddleboard, bikes, grills, firepit. Enjoy Old Florida as you did as a child. Not a resort, but a retreat to the good ole days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Treasure Island
Seahorse Cottages Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing