We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Beach Condo/Hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The hotel's website leads one to believe that this is an oceanfront property. It is BUT it is a long walk to the water. The rooms are adequate though need major updating. The fabric on the couch as faded and dirty. The pillows are foam and very stiff. We asked for extra bath towels for the beach since they do not provide beach towels. We were told that the unit has a washer and dryer. We were on vacation...didn't want to do laundry! The manager leaves at 5:30 pm and no one is around to supervise the property. We heard noises outside our room at 1 a.m. We called the emergency number we were given. No one called back. No one investigated. We felt like they deserted us!! The pool is a rectangle of water with outdated furniture. The hotel is noisy, too! Right on the main road. Wish I knew the Residence Inn was down the street. It looked much nicer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetodance418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flgal68, Manager at South Beach Condo/Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
All feedback both positive and negative are welcome, as management reviews all comments and improvements are always a work in progress. We are very disappointed that you had a bad experience at our resort.
The "long walk" to the beach is sadly, nothing we can control. Due to hurricane restrictions we are as close to the beach as legally permitted.
When calling the emergency line, I am not sure what occurred, but management keeps this phone available 24/7 and the emergency line never received a call on the night that you were attempting to make a phone call. We do apologize that you felt you were deserted when visiting, our goal is to make everyone feel like they are “at home.”We have reviewed incoming calls and it appears the phone never received a phone call on that particular night.
Beach towels are no longer made available to guest due to the overwhelming amount of towels that were being taken when guests were checking out. We do try to keep costs down to make reservations more affordable. When distributing beach towels we would have to raise rates and pass the costs on to reservations, therefore management chose to discontinue with beach towels. We do remind guests that a washer and dryer are in the condos and we provide the laundry detergent if the washers are used, but we never deny a guest a new set of towels. If new towels were requested and none were given we do apologize but again, we NEVER deny anyone a new clean set of towels. The staff is trained to remind the guests of the appliances in the room but if the guests want a clean supply of linens, we are more than happy to supply them.
The beach chairs around the pool were actually purchased in March 2010, and we attempted to select colors that match our décor with the building, unfortunately not everyone has the same taste as one another. We appreciate your comments on our pool furniture and will keep it in mind when new pool furniture is purchased in the future.
Again, we would like to offer an apology for your bad experience at our resort.
Best regards,
Crystal Isenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    259
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
481
454
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My husband and I just got back from Treasure Island, FL for a family wedding. We stayed 3 nights at the South Beach Condo Hotel and it did not disappoint.

The hotel is located on the beach about 30 minutes or so from the airport. We rented a car to get around in but there is so much in walking distance that you only need transportation to and from the airport. The building is really cute from the street. Very bright and really catches your eye. The front desk is only there during business hours but we were able to make arrangements for a late check-in with no problems. When you get out of the elevator on your floor, you might be surprised. It does seem a bit dumpy and its a bight seafoam green everywhere. But once you step inside your condo, its like walking into Oz. Its completely different and all your worries go away.

We had a one bedroom condo with a king bed. It was awesome. Completely modern and updated. Clean bathroom, linens, towels, bedding, etc. Washer and dryer in the room and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Full eat-in kitchen. Nice television with cable. And the best part: the view of the beach from our balcony! It was great waking up every morning to the sound of the ocean. From my understanding, every room is different. So in our room, the owners did leave us some beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and a boogie board. But there are shops in the area where you can buy your own and you can rent cabanas on the beach for the day as well. Oh, and the rooms have central air. Thankfully! So no worries about that!

Across the street from the hotel, was a Waffle House and some ice cream shops. We had breakfast there a couple of times. And a block down the street we had lunch at Ricky T's. They also serve breakfast. There is a Walgreens and a Publick's nearby all within a couple of blocks. So the location is fantastic.

Now the beach. In this area, the buildings are on the beach. But they are about a 3 minute walk to the ocean. So there is a big stretch of sand and sand dunes in between. The beach is clean and the water is beautiful. There is a pool at the condo that has about 20 lounge chairs and a few table sets. There is ping pong, shuffle board, etc.

Since we were there for a wedding, we didn't get to see too much of the attractions that were in the area. But overall its a great area in Florida. And if you want a really nice condo that is in the middle of it all and you don't want to pay a fortune, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flgal68, Manager at South Beach Condo/Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
The management would like to thank you and the entire wedding party for your visit with us here at South Beach Condos. The entire party was very nice and it seemed as if you all had a great time here at our resort. Everyone was so nice we were thrilled to have you all stay with us here at our resort.
We are currently working on a few renovations, one being, new doors on all the units. There is always room for improvement and we do thank you for your review. There is no such thing as "good enough" for our guests and we achieve to be "the best" for our guests.
We hope that you and your family will return to South Beach..... we welcome repeat guests and look forward to your return.
Kindly,
Crystal Isenberg
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in this Condo for a weekend with family and friends. We were entouraged with a cosy view of the beach and calmness of all vicinity...! Relaxing, nice place to have a rest. We would really like to come back once again! Thanks for the high quality service and best impressions we keep in our minds till now!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marakuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flgal68, Manager at South Beach Condo/Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay here at South Beach Condos in Treasure Island. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return soon....

Crystal Isenberg
South Beach Condos
Resort Manager
Treasure Island, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2010

All rooms have beautiful beach views. Miles of sandy beach to enjoy. Condos are well equipped with full kitchens & laundry facilities. Walking distance to restaurants & entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeMcPhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flgal68, Manager at South Beach Condo/Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
The staff here at South Beach Condos are delighted that you had a great stay here in Treasure Island. Yes, our beaches are absolutely beautiful and the view from the balconies are breath taking.
We do try to keep each unit fully equipped with all the essentials needed for "home away from home", when in need of other items we will always do our best to provide whatever is needed to please the guests.
Thank you again for the nice review you've provided for your stay with us here at South Beach Condos.
We do hope to see you again as a repeat guest very soon.

Best regards,
Crystal Isenberg
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal river, fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I was born & raised near Treasure Island & like to come back for weekends on the Gulf beaches as often as I can. This trip was several high school girlfriends for a "catch-up & laugh" weekend & our 1st time at South Beach Resort.
The price was very reasonable, less than most motels & we got a nice sized 1 BR condo w/full kitchen, washer/dryer, nice, private balcony with a beautiful view of the gulf and all the decor was tropical, up-to-date and pleasant. Bathroom could have used some caulk repair, but otherwise, very clean and comfortable.
Great location within walking distance or a very short drive to everything from great restaurants, shopping, grocery, pharmacy, entertainment and water sports. Did I mention the beautiful view???? A bit of a walk to the water....one of the widest stretches of beach along Pinellas Co., but the sand was clean and soft. Nice pool area, hammocks, cook-out area, ping-pong and shuffleboard for those who are interested. We just relaxed on the beach and enjoyed the beautiful breeze and wonderful salt water. Front desk was very polite and friendly...would definitely book here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flgal68, Manager at South Beach Condo/Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Getting away to be with friends that you don't have the opportunity to see often is always fun. The staff here at South Beach Condos is very happy that you and your friends chose our resort to reminisce with one another. We really do appreciate the kind review of our facility and hope that you and your friends can make this an annual event, and plan to return next year for your "girl’s getaway", or better yet come as often as you like and you will be eligible for our repeat guest rate.

Sincerely,
Crystal Isenberg
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I am a Floridian who has been enjoying various cities throughout our state. South Beach reservation was made at the last minute, I was helped out courteously, given a great last minute price (it was Mother's Day weekend), and the 1 bedroom Condo more than met my expectations. Really good deal for the amount we spent. Would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake ozark, mo
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Great location - within walking distance of great restaurants, beach bars, live music, shops. The beach is beautiful here and it's just steps from your door. Clean, comfortable condo, nicely appointed, plenty of linens, towels, etc. Nice pool too. Enjoyed beautiful sunsets each evening. We highly recommend this place and will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8Ekarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Condo/Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Condo/Hotel

Property: South Beach Condo/Hotel
Address: 11360 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706-4642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#1 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Condo/Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Condo Hotel is a big, beautiful property in Treasure Island, FL. Whether you are traveling alone or with a family of 6, we have the perfect accommodations for you. Our bright colors and modern condos will be sure to put a smile on your face and provide you with the best experience as possible. Be sure to visit and ask our friendly staff their favorite local hotspots! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your South Beach Condo/Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Condo/Hotel Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing