We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked this as a Father's Day getaway for my husband and our family. Treasure Island is one of our favorite local beaches. We had a great time with everything available. We all enjoyed the fishing docks conveniently located on property and the beach across the street. This property is 2 buildings down from Publix which is perfect to stock up for the full kitchen in the unit. The staff in the office was very pleasant and super friendly. We will return often!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melafont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend. We are also excited about you returning and joining us here at the beach. Jimmy Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    45
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
185
99
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Wonderful place...friendly staff; great accomodations. Convenient and HUGE beach. Publix two blocks down the road. No need to use your car at all. Holiday on the beach had everything we wanted and the apartment was perfect.

Room Tip: No restaurant on site but many w/i walking distance. Wonderfully clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you Ann, I truly hope you come back and stay with us again in the not to distant future. You are now officially a part of our extended Westwinds Family... See you soon.
Jimmy Dean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were looking for a nice weekend getaway to relax after our destination wedding. We wanted something in this area so we would have a short drive from our home in Orlando. After reading the many positive reviews on Westwinds and viewing their website, we decided to book our stay. We arrived shortly before the office closed and quickly checked-in. We had a lovely corner unit on the top floor. This unit was great! Nicely decorated and comfortable furniture that gave us an "at home" feel. Beautiful view of the bay from the bedroom. The weather was not cooperating the weekend we stayed, so I did not get to enjoy the pool area, but it looked nice. My husband enjoyed fishing from the docks behind the resort. The location is great with the bay on one side and the beach right across the street. We wish we could have stayed longer and are already thinking of booking another stay over the summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucfjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
I hope you do come back and see us again this summer. Sorry about the weather, I was doing my rain, rain go away dance as hard as I could but I guess not hard enough. Let's hope we wont need it the next time you book with us. Thanks, Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at the Westwinds Waterfront Resort for a week in April 2013 after exploring Treasure Island options online. We liked it so much we returned for April vacation this year and we are already making plans for 2015.

This is a condo resort and the rooms offer all the comforts of home. In our two trips we stayed in two different rooms with identical 1200 sq ft floor plans -- two bedrooms, 1 bath, kitchen and dining/living area. I believe the units had received major improvements just prior to our 2013 stay, but the unit we had this year still appeared to be in like-new condition. Very comfortable beds -- two queens -- in good-sized rooms with plenty of closet and drawer space, great for an extended stay. The living room was a nice place to relax, with very good air conditioning, the kitchen was small but big enough to work in -- and was equipped with dishwasher, full fridge, microwave, toaster, pots, dishes. . . Rounding out the on-premises conveniences is access to free washer and dryer -- very nice, new high efficiency units. On the bay side of the property is a terrific heated pool, a patio, and decks where you can fish, read, or just chill. Very nice. And the beach is directly across the street. There are beach chairs you can borrow and the staff at the office will also lend you towels. By the way, the staff is incredibly friendly, and helpful. Finally, the location is perfect -- there is onsite parking, you can walk to a very nice grocery store (Publix), a pharmacy (Walgreen's), and some shops and restaurants. Treasure Island in general is a very family-friendly beach town with a range of restaurants close-by and all the elements of a city a short drive away in St. Petersburg. The only thing I wish was different: it would be perfect if we could have brought our dog, but the units are so nice I understand that they want to keep them that way. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidP3956XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi David, we actually renovated the resort in 2012, but we do our best to keep on top of our units for our guests as well as the owners. The great thing about Treasure Island is that it does have that "Old Florida" feel to it still, and everything is so very close and convenient.
Ya'all come back now ya hear! Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I needed a little downtime and that's exactly what I got at Westwinds. From the moment I called to see about availability Jimmy and Kat made me feel so welcomed. Very accommodating and attentive to make sure my stay was peaceful. The unit was beautiful and very clean. I felt right at home the moment I walked in. Very conveniently located to great places to eat within walking distance. I will be going back again very soon! ~Amber

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amber l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
All I can say is thank you Amber. Looking forward to having you back for a little "R & R"... Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We'd booked a couple of rooms - but on arrival, the lady on the front desk told us there was an issue - she could only see one of our rooms - must have been a mix up... Not to worry she said - she'd sort it out as it shouldn't be our problem... Nice complimentary upgrade to a bigger apartment with a sensational view of the water.
Apartment was gorgeous - spacious, really well equipped & as I said - that view!
Position is really perfect - 2 mins walk to the beach on one side, right on the water's edge on the other, 5 mins walk to a Publix, Sloppy Joes and Ricky Ts.
Grounds are lovely as well - lots of seating and loungers, barbeques, pool area etc
Would love to go again and would recommend 100% to anyone wanting a perfect place in Treasure Island.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get the waterfront view rooms - just gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7ChrisM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the review and I will definately pass on to my staff your gracious comments. Once again thank you and please come see us when you decide to come back to Treasure Island. Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I had a beach wedding in Treasure Island, and we, along with our families, stayed at Westwinds. The staff was extremely friendly from the first moment, and they helped us with anything we needed. The room was spacious, modern, and comfortable. We loved having the ability to just buy some food and cook it rather than spending excessive amounts on going out to every meal. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Some of the beds left a little to be desired, but that's such a subjective topic. The pool area was also very nice, along with the patio with the grill. They supply pool toys and items for the beach, which is a great perk staying there across the street. Really enjoyed my stay, and I certainly will consider going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mokomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We hope we were able to make such a meaningful event as stressless (if thats a word) as we could make it for you and your family. As these are all individually own condos here at the resort I have notified the owners that they may wish to consider changing out some of the mattresses. But as you stated this is somewhat "subjective" as I have had people praise the same bed and mattress that someone else has complained about. We are working on it. Thank you again. Jimmy Dean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd., Treasure Island, FL 33706 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance.Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.Access to the Club at Treasure Island is provided to all guests where they can enjoy tennis, a fitness center, junior Olympic pool, tiki bar, and fine dining.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort.“Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing