We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A peice of paradise !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A peice of paradise !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If I could sum up the Westwinds in two words it would be Hell Yes!!! My boyfriend and I stayed here Sept 12-16 and it were totally amazed by the huge condos this place has to offer. We stayed in the one bedroom villa. It was absolutly perfect. It has a huge living room, full kitchen w/dish washer, wine cooler, ice/water maker on the fridge. (check out the pics) There is a Publix grocery 2mins up the street. The place is super clean! Beds are comfy. Kitchen Has all the needed cooking utensils, plate setting for 6. Has a kitchen table, even a dining room w/table. Free wifi and on site laundry room. We did not have much of a view but there is a lovely pool area w/a dock to go fishing and grills to BBQ. There is also a beach that is right across the street and another beach about 10 minutes away that is really beautiful. The manager Jimmy and Dy are very friendly and helful. They had beach chairs at our disposal as well as towels and coolers they let us use. They also are very knowledgeable of the area and have alot of pamphlets of nearby activites in the office. The hotel is was very quiet and peaceful. It is the perfect place to spark a magical summer romance for couples or a great safe place to have fun for a family with kids. Either way, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_I_Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    39
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
170
88
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This resort gives the best of both worlds relax on the beach or flash right out back..great views from rooms..all rooms very well appointed and comfortable. The local restaurants and shopping is fun and easy to get to. The staff is nice and helpful. Rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishcvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Shores, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

WOW!!!!!! Just a wonderful experience all the way around including the weather. These units are all full size condos with updated kitchens, furniture, bedding etc. Just across the street to the beach on the Bay with good viewing of boating and great fishing. Close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beau4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for six nights at Westwinds. I would give it 3.5 stars because there are really nice aspects to the “resort”, and definitely some things I would change. On the positive side, I really like that you can rent for just a few days, rather than a whole week. We loved the floor plan of our unit – it's so nice to have king and queen beds and two full baths. The only thing I would have liked to add would be a balcony to enjoy the evenings. Our unit was a corner unit on the third floor, and we had a nice view out to the fishing piers, and also did not hear any outside noise at night. When we walked in we really liked the décor (beachy , but not cheesy beachy). We saw dolphins from the fishing dock in the mornings, and one dolphin swam right up to the dock in the evening.

Though the location isn't on the beach, it is an easy walk to the beach across the street. Westwinds has plenty of beach chairs, towels, umbrellas and toys for guests to borrow when you go to the beach. We didn't love the beach – the sand is full of broken shells, so my daughter didn't enjoy walking there. We took a day trip to Fort DeSoto and loved the powder sand of the north beach there.

It was a really easy walk to Publix and Sloppy Joe's as well as a few other local restaurants (VIP, Middle Grounds) from Westwinds. We loved having free use of the washers and dryers on the third floor, though one of the washing machines was out of order during our stay (not a huge issue because the resort wasn't at capacity). The little patio area looking out to the water has a few umbrella tables and chairs, and we enjoyed being able to use the grills outside.

We definitely appreciated having use of a full kitchen, including a refrigerator with ice maker and water dispenser. The kitchen was stocked fairly well, though there was only a set of 6 plates, silverware etc., which doesn't go far when you're cooking a lot. I found myself needing to run the dishwasher before it was full so that we could have enough silverware and dishes available for the next meal. There were also a few items I would really have liked to have: an oven mitt, a few more dish towels, containers with lids for leftovers and a griddle pan for making pancakes. The pots and skillet were all pretty scratched up – I assume they are non-stick, so should really be replaced.

Now on to the negatives. The information we received upon check in said linens and towels would be replaced on the fifth day, but we did not receive a change of linens/towels. The air conditioner worked quite well in the common areas of the unit and in the small bedroom, but the master bedroom was really stuffy, especially at night when we like it to be cold. The fan in the master only worked at low speed, so did not really help with the heat in that bedroom. We are pretty particular about our sheets and found the sheets here to be quite scratchy – the sleeping experience in general wasn't ideal, but I admit we are pretty spoiled when it comes to beds.

The pool is pretty small, a little dirty/slimy, and also deeper than I prefer (3.5 feet is the minimum depth, and it goes to 8 feet deep pretty quickly). We have a young child who likes to be able to stand in shallow water in the pool. I knew the pool was small from the photos, and we decided it would be okay, since guests have use of the nearby club with an olympic sized pool. On the day we wanted to check out the club pool, the manager told us things were changing with Westwinds guests' privileges at the club. If you plan to use the club membership amenity at Westwinds, be sure to ask exactly what is and isn't available before you book. We ended up not checking out the club, partly because we worried that they would not allow us in due to the changes.

The free wireless internet was not super reliable – my husband was not able to work in the evenings as we had originally planned. We had to be in just the right spot of the condo for it to work properly, and we frequently lost our connection.

Lastly, on the last night of our stay I noticed there were no lights lit up on the smoke detectors. I asked my husband to test them, and he discovered that all three units were disabled. It appears they were intended to be connected to a central alarm system of some sort, but they were all disconnected. I informed the manager (Jimmy Dean) of this upon checkout. To me, lack of functioning smoke detectors is completely unacceptable; I hope it was just our unit, and is not a problem with all units.

Room Tip: I would choose a third or first floor looking out to the intracoastal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank klsinatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for listing all the positive comments about your stay here at Westwinds. I would like to address what I consider your major concern, the smoke detectors.
All of our detectors are hard wired and interconnected, with battery back ups.
After you voiced your concern I personally changed out the detectors with brand new ones simply as a safety precaution. The issue was rectified within 20 minutes. FYI - We run monthly tests on all of our detectors. Jimmy Dean, General Manager...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay. It had a laundry room, pool and the rooms were great. Huge, affordable and clean!! The owners were nice and the staff was too. Only a block walk to the beautiful beach! We grilled out each night since there weren't that many places to eat with little ones in the area. Tried to eat at the country club and the people were so mean and rude, we walked out. Don't go there!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family of 5 stayed at Westwinds for the third time last week. We love this place! Jimmy and Dy are so helpful and friendly. Our suite was gorgeous and immaculate. This time we saw dolphins while swimming in the pool. We can't wait to go back next year! I highly recommend Westwinds!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryM01545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we stayed here 11 days in july and we found this place amazing. Beautiful and immaculate condo facing the boca ciega bay. Very clean pool, stunning view on the bay where dolphins, fishes and pelicans did the show every day. Amazing beach just accross the street. 3 mn walk from publix supermarket. Thanks to Jimmy Dean and his staff from keeping the place so well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyDean55, General Manager at Westwinds Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Well thank you right back!
Kind words such as yours are always appreciated and inspiring. I will definately pass this on to our staff. It really helps to know that guests are happy with what we provide. Thank you Caroline... Jimmy Dean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#18 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4873 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance.Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.Access to the Club at Treasure Island is provided to all guests where they can enjoy tennis, a fitness center, junior Olympic pool, tiki bar, and fine dining.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort.“Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing