We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Westwinds was a good value, clean and well appointed. The outside looks a tiny bit motel-ish but the inside makes up for it. The pool is small, the access to the bay is nice - the beach is easily accessed across the street. The staff was helpful. You also get access to a nearby full gym as well as the local country club. Treasure Island as a whole is a bit "old florida" run down and touristy but teh Westwinds is a good choice for that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cq94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    54
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
215
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in early February as our base for the St Pete's half marathon. I booked online through the resort website and it turned out to be everything the website and trip advisor said it would be and all pictures posted were accurate. Our 1 bedroom had a king bed, ample bathroom, well stocked kitchen and huge living room with an equally huge flat screen TV. All furniture was updated and fairly new and the unit was spotless.
Jimmy Dean was a great host, he looked after all our needs, upgraded us to a larger, pool side room with walkout to the waterside decks and ensured we will stay there again if we are in the area.
Do note however that there is a $50 cleaning charge for your 1 bedroom condo. This is listed on the resort website but somehow I missed it when I booked. The result was that the room was $25 per night ($50 / 2 nights) more expensive than I had expected. I'm sure there is a good reason why cleaning isn't included as part of the room charge, I just don't know what it is.
Overall, a great stay. Super accommodations that are right across from the beach, easy walk to Sloppy Joes and Ricky Ts and a block or 2 from Publix and Walgreens. I highly recommend this resort and remind you to add in the cleaning fee so you have an accurate nightly rate before you book.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have rear doors allowing access directly to the pool, patios and docks on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaydub99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westwinds Waterfront Resort for one week at the end of January 2013, and we really liked our room and the location. This was our first beach vacation trip to the St. Petersburg area, and we did a fair amount of research and planning. After spending six full days in the area, we were glad we had selected Treasure Island as our location and the Westwinds as our lodging.

Our room (206) was just about perfect for us. It was one of the "Tortuga" types with two bedrooms and two bathrooms -- more space than we needed but the price was good in January so we upgraded. The condo was very large, with a modern, fully-equipped kitchen, a spacious common area that included a dining table with four chairs, leading to a couch, easy chair and TV in the "den/living room", and then to a "sunrise" space by the large windows overlooking the bay with a small table and two chairs. A relatively large number of colorful artworks were displayed throughout the condo, and there were ample reading lamps. Each bedroom, as well as the main room, had a flat-screen TV, and closet space was quite large. Everything appeared new, modern and clean. Both bathrooms were large; as I recall, the master bath was shower-only while the guestroom bathroom had a shower inside a bathtub. Our condo had a king bed in the master bedroom and two twins in the other room, and we found the beds quite comfortable.

The location worked out fine for us. Walking across the street on the nearby pedestrian crosswalk to the beach was quick (about one or two minutes) and easy. Treasure Island has almost finished a nearly 1-mile long sidewalk along the beach that will start not far from the Westwinds. Walking along the sand is great and preferred for most people, but the new paved walk is nice for those who just want a stroll on a smooth sidewalk alongside the beach and removed from the noise of the sidewalk on the main road.

We could walk just two short blocks to the Publix Supermarket, which proved to be a greater-than-expected convenience. In addition to buying breakfast pastries and other food items, we walked there nearly every morning for a newspaper, and they had a good selection of sunglasses when mine broke. Also within easy walking distance were two restaurants/bars we can highly recommend -- Sloppy Joe's for beachside dining and Ricky T's for breakfast (note that their famous potato pancakes are very good, but more breakfast potato than pancakes). Other shops along the Treasure Island Causeway were also within walking distance, and the St. John's Pass collection of shops and restaurants was about a five-minute drive north along Gulf Boulevard. The nearness to the Treasure Island Causeway made it easier to drive into downtown St. Petersburg (with its beautiful waterfront area) than if we had stayed at some other beach towns further away.

Our room was generally quiet, despite that fact that Gulf Boulevard has a lot of traffic as the main beach thoroughfare for the various beach communities to the north and south. Only if we opened the door or front windows did we hear the street noise, but we kept the front window closed and the air conditioning system kept the rooms comfortable. We did open the larger rear windows that faced the bay quite often, and that side was very quiet.

A number of smaller things added to the pleasant experience, such as plenty of pillows and towels (no maid service during the stay -- not a problem for us), a roll of paper towels in the kitchen, one free coffee pack for making that first-morning's full-sized pot, and plenty of clothes hangers.

If you're looking for the negatives, they were few and minor. There were no balconies outside our large windows in the master bedroom and main room, although the views were beautiful over the bay to the homes on Paradise Island. And we could go down one floor and outside to chairs and tables on a lawn by the bay and the pool, with several small docks. If you absolutely must be right on the beach, then look elsewhere. Again, our walk to the beach access right across the street was very quick and easy, and not coming in right from the beach tracks less sand into the room. Parking was free but limited to one space per room, and you have to avoid the spaces marked "reserved." That was no problem in January, but I guess could make for more time searching for a space in the high seasons. The office is not open at night, so be sure to tell the staff ahead if you're initially checking in after-hours to get your key from the outside lockbox. The outside front of the Westwinds might initially disappoint you with its motel-like appearance, but much more important are the great rooms, bay views, and ideal location.

Summary: We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Westwinds and the St. Petersburg area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HikerEldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were very happy with the property and condo - spacious, well maintained and updated, and clean! We had easy access to the beach, and also enjoyed sitting by the pool behind the property which overlooked the intercoastal. A special thank you to Dy for arranging our late arrival and taking care of several requests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gd849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed at the Westwinds the beginning of February 2013. The rooms were very spacious, clean, and nicely appointed. The grounds are kept clean and well maintained. The staff here are very friendly and eager to please. Several times I was asked if the "pool was warm enough", "are you enjoying your stay", "is there anything you need". I was standing in the shallow end of the pool looking out over the water and watched a pod of dolphins swiming around. Another day I was just sitting on one of the docks and a Pelican sat down on the railing beside me. This was a very pleasent stay, I very much enjoyed myself, the surroundings, and the wonderful people who strive to make your stay more enjoyable. Thanks Guys!!!

Room Tip: I would try to get a ground floor facing the coastal waterway, the view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great and friendly place to stay, we stayed there with 3 adults and 2 children and was enough room for 2 more adults without feeling squashed.The location is ideally suited for an exploration of the Saint Petersburg area (St Pete's beach through to Clearwater Beach, St Petersburg and Tampa).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Westwinds over MLK weekend as a last-minute getaway from NYC. The property had plenty of parking and checking in was a breeze, even though we didn't arrive until after 11pm. Dy was very helpful. The view from the Bayside condos was awesome. We spotted some dolphins from our living room. We really enjoyed the pool, which was heated to the perfect temperature. The beach was right across the street - what more could you ask for?

We will definitely return Westwinds next time we are itching for the perfect beach weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Address: 10265 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4873 (Formerly Westwinds of Treasure Island)
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwinds Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled between the Gulf of Mexico and Boca Ciega Bay in beautiful Treasure Island, Florida this bayfront resort offers affordable luxurious condominiums with coastal beach elegance. Just minutes from world class shopping, dining and entertainment this resort features fully furnished accommodations that offers all the comforts of home. Guests can cook a delicious meal in the fully equipped kitchen, barbecue and dine outside in the picnic area or just relax at the waterfront heated pool. If catching dinner sounds fun there is a boat dock for on-site fishing.Near recreational facilities, downtown Saint Petersburg and the world famous John’s Pass Village this resort is where you will want to be.This vacation paradise offers unparralled sophistication and style that is hard to find elsewhere. Make plans for your vacation your way at Westwinds Waterfront Resort. “Where the Beach meets the Bay” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westwinds Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Waterfront Resort Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing