We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bayside Inn & Marina
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I've never stayed anyplace quite like this. Upon arrival, they could not find a room key, so the gentleman at the desk (who informed me he was not the desk clerk) climbed through the window so that we could get into our room (#212) It has a stove, refrigerator, cable TV, and appeared recently remodeled (except for the bathroom which was somewhat dated in pink and burgundy tile. New furniture included (but was not limited to) a bed and two lamps adorned with pineapples and the whole scenario gives one the feeling of staying at the Coconut Palms with Elvis during the filming of Blue Hawaii. I considered the room adequate for our three day stay.

Unfortunately, both my wife and I walked around the all tile floor of our unit in our bare feet and they turned black from what I can only hope was just dirt on the tile. The pool is not heated and thus too cold to swim in. When our room wasn't attended to our second day, I inquired at the desk and was informed that there was no daily room service, but that I could exchange my towels. A second gentleman told me that I should have been told that there was no daily maid service when I checked in. Finally, you can save yourself some heartache by not looking at the inside of the shower curtain when you shower.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WRKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideInnTI, General Manager at The Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear guest and other guests who read this review,

First off I am very sorry to hear about your stay based on your review. I wish I could have been there so everything could have been delt with in a proper way so that you were happy in the end and your stay with us was a good one. The "problem" manager and employees who were working there at the time of your stay are not working for us anymore. I have been hired and am the new manager and things are being run quite a bit differently. I have a new crew of friendly and smart front dest employees and a new cleaning staff.
The frist problem you had with the key to the room is unacceptable. Because of this review when I started here I made a set of spare keys which we keep locked up so that we can always access them if we need to. Now it will be impossible for a guest not to have access to their room.
As for the rooms, yes they were recently renovated, and in some of them we did choose to keep the "retro" tiles. It only adds character to the rooms and is still in amazing condition. Many of the guests absolutely love them and say they add character. The furniture we have in our rooms is all broyhill furniture. The quality and design of our furniture is a step above many other hotels on the Island and I also cannot say I have evey heard anything bad about it. It can be viewed on our website and on tripadvisor for those of you who cannot see.
As for the clendlyness of the tile floors I am sorry to hear that they made your feet dirty. I can say that the old management never checked the rooms after the cleaning ladies had cleaning them, in doing so the old manager would never know if they did a good job or not. Now that I have been working here I have hired all new cleaning ladies and I hold them to the highest of standards. They will clean one room at a time and before they move on to the next room they have to have approval from me or one of the other desk employees first. This way we make sure thet the room is spottless before they move on. I have also bought the chemicals and materials they use to clean the room and make sure everything is commercial grade in order to have the room as clean as possible upon check in.
We now do offer a cleaning every other day or so. We will have the cleaning ladies come into the rooms and they will make the beds, sweep the floors, take out the trash and provide fresh towels. Also any time the cleaning ladies are not on duty getting new towels is as simple picking up the phone and ringing the office and we will bring the fresh towels up to you right away.

I hope this response helps you and all who may read it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

This hotel has a very competitive rate for the Florida winter season. The rooms are very modern, spacious and clean. The hotel staff brings a new meaning to "service with a smile".

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband and I just stayed here and found the room to be very nice. It is super clean and newly remodeled. We were concerned at first because the rate was so fantasic but after getting there we were totally surprised. The rooms are wonderful. We also went to The Cigar Republic and Caddy's Way. Make sure you check both out while you are visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogators87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I had read other reviews on Trip Advisor about this motel so thought we would give it a try!! How wrong we were!!! making a reservation was easy and the desk clerk we talked with was warm and courteous, we even got a bit of a discount from the online posted tariff.
So far..so good. Upon our arrival we found the office door locked and no one around but a cleaning crew person who could not help us, we had given a one night deposit so we were staying around and eventually someone showed up, having had run an errand to get cleaning supplies.
The first room we were shown was quite nice, having recently been renovated but...alas, the circuit breaker for the frout half of the room was broken and there was no heat, nor air nor TV power. We were moved to another equally attractive room and settled in for our 3 days. Unfortunately that evening we discoverd that in order to get any warm/hot water, it needed to run from the faucets for at least 20 minutes...we were "forgotten by the "maid service" and had to go to the office for fresh towels....our beds were never made nor the trash emptied. The beds were comfortable but that is the only positive things we can say about this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluegoose29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideInnTI, General Manager at The Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Guest and other guests who read this review,

At the time that this review was made we were under old management and I am truly sorry to hear about some of the stories of the past. Since then, about half a year ago, we have gotten rid of all the problem employees and we have a new manager, myself (Aaron) and a brand new team of employees and things are being run quite a bit differently, not to mention way more professional and curtious and extremely hospitable. First, the office is always manned and the residential manager, myself, can always be reached by phone 24/7 if there is a problem. I can be reached during work hours and even after work hours in case of emergency. We will always meet guests needs and make sure they have a enjoyable stay with us. We have taken the cleaning of rooms into consideration and we now can offer a "freshing up" service from our cleaning staff every other day or so and they will go in and sweep up, made the bed, take out the trash, and leave fresh towels. The days that the cleaning ladies are not here getting fresh towels is as easy as picking up the phone in your room and ringing the office and we will bring some fresh towels up to you right away. We are trying very hard and have dramatically changed the way things have been run here. Since new management has taken over there has not been one complaint and things are running very smoothly. We strive to make sure your vacation or weekend getaway is enjoyable and that your interaction with all our staff is nothing but friendly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Arrived really late one Friday night after driving for hours looking for somewhere to stay. The whole of the Tampa Bay area seemed to be booked up for the weekend. The guy behind the desk took pity on us even though he was just about to close and his car park was overfull. The room was great, huge comfortable beds, small kitchen area, really clean. The next morning we were delighted to find that across the road behind the hotels was the beach, literally a few minutes walk. The beach was fantastic. We were so pleased that we decided to stay another night rather than moving on as we had originally planned. Would definately return to this motel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daffodildazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We live in FL year round and have visited many hotels........This one had to be one of the better ones. It was newly renovated 3 months ago and it is really a very nice room. There is tile throughout, a refrigerator, micro, stove top, plates, glasses, pans, coffee pot & coffee, etc. It had everything you would need to prepare your own meal! The staff were very pleasant and very friendly and went out of their way to help us. The mattress was a bit firm to my liking, but the room was brand new throughout. Granted, we were there after season ended (by one week), but the beach is right across the street and the sunset was beutiful. The sunrise was just as wonderful! We took a chance on this motel and I would definitely recommend it. It's not full of "frills" but then again, it's well worth the money! I would love to go back and stay longer at this motel! And I will definitely recommend to family and friends, esp. the young adults of the family!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank momsangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank Lucianoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
933 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bungalows
The Bungalows
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayside Inn & Marina

Address: 11365 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4641
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Price Range: $82 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayside Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside Inn & Marina is a beautiful Boutique Inn features newly remodeled suites with separate living area, a deep water 15 slip marina with water and electric, outdoor deck and barbecue area and pool. Each suite is very large and spacious with all the amenities you expect from a luxury vacation resort! The perfect location only steps from the Gulf of Mexico, Sunset Beach, Saint Petersburg and Tampa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayside Inn And Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina Hotel Treasure Island
The Bayside Inn & Marina Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing