We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, free breakfast, but weird bathroom set-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, free breakfast, but weird bathroom set-up”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and adult daughter recently spent 3 nights at this Residence Inn for a short trip to check out Treasure Island; I picked it mostly because it was on the beach, had a free breakfast buffet and I wanted to get more Marriott Rewards points. We were in a one bedroom suite with a King in the bedroom and a sofabed in living room; beds were comfy but needed to call for extra pillows even though I put it in my reservation request. Kitchen facilities were good if you needed to store leftovers or wine or heat water for tea, etc. Nice balcony with view of the Gulf and the pool. The breakfast buffet was from 6:30 - 9:30 am. on weekdays which I thought was kinda early for people doing Spring break vacations. It would have been nicer for us if it had been open until 10; the mad rush between 9-9:30 indicated we were not alone. They also have a happy hour from 5-6:00 with reduced prices on wine and a few other drinks; we only did this one of the nights but wine choices were not bad.

Overall the service was pretty good and they even allowed us a late checkout. My main problem was the bathroom set-up. The bathroom has a door from the hallway into the shower/toilet area and then another one to the sink/mirror, which opens to the bedroom. If someone needed to use the facilities in the middle of the night and wash up they would have had to turn on the light at the sink - and thus wake up at least one other person. My daughter had to take soap and a towel into the kitchen so she could use them if needed. I don't know who designed the room but it just doesn't work - they should have put another door on it!!

But the staff was pretty great and kudos to the ones who had to try to keep the breakfast stampede happy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieqinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    297
    60
    21
    20
See reviews for
462
348
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had visited this hotel 4 years ago when it had just opened ... and it's still quite adequate today. Just the right size hotel (busy but not too big), good service, very nice rooms (appartments, actually), beautiful view ... right on the beach ... and free breakfast thrown in on top. Glad that I returned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SniggyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. Room was amazing. Separate living quarters from the bedroom, nice kitchen. Loved the big bathroom and shower. Only downside was the elevator situation...one to service 9 floors, who on earth planned that? We were on the 7th floor and spent the week walking the stairs. Can't say it hurt me any, and my grandkids 2 and 1/2 and 8 didn't mind the walk. Took the opportunity to practice counting. Beach was beautiful, and we will be back

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited Treasure Island 3/23 - 3/28 with two adults, one teen, and 3 dogs! Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a king size in bedroom, sofabed in living area, full kitchen. The hotel was fully booked, but parking was not a problem. I believe all the rooms here have balconies that offer some view of the very expansive beach area and the gulf. Unfortunately, the weather was not very cooperative, and so did not make much use of the pool. The pool area has an outdoor bar setup - not staffed when we were there - and a hot tub. You can access the beach directly from the pool, very similar setup to the Marriott vacation club hotels in Hilton Head.
The hotel, while showing its age somewhat, was well maintained. Every member of the staff we encountered was pleasant and helpful. We were on the 3rd floor, and met others who had dogs with them, so this may very well be the "pet friendly" floor - there is a grass lawn at the front of the hotel with a "poop bag" station -
There is a paved walkway running along the beachfront of Treasure Island which is a great place to get a nice long walk in for your furry friends. We had a difficult time finding places to eat with a dog along, even at the many restaurants which offered outdoor seating along the beach..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

on the beach. Off season in treasure island is lovely. room was fine.Pool was a little small,. but still nice. since it was off season (a cool january) the beach was fairly empty, but still wide open and lovely to walk. Close to several good restaurants/bars. Room was two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Would have been perfect for a family trip. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I guess when you stay at a hotel on the beach you must expect to pay for the privilege, so I can't really complain about the price. And when I mean "on the beach" that's what I mean--nothing between you and the water but a short walk.

Based on the decor, one has to assume the hotel was built in about.. oh.. the 70's. It feels a little old but remarkably well-maintained so the decor, aside from being 40 years out of style, wasn't so bad. Probably the only complaint I would have about the age of the hotel was the elevators were painfully slow.

The rooms were what one can expect from a Marriott, comfortable but unremarkable, although the high price of the room does include a much nicer than average bathroom. When was the last time you had glass doors on the shower in a hotel room??

The staff was nice, there were tons of towels, and the access to the beach was fantastic. I'd definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Definitely go with a suite if you can. We stayed in a smaller room with a king-size bed and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly_0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights 3/13 to 3/16 on part of our Spring Break family trip. GORGEOUS location. Out the gate from the pool area right out onto the beach. Also a really nice paved walkway between beach & hotels just steps out the door. The room was 1st class, the amenities were outstanding. We had a great balcony that overlooked the beach (yes, the hotel next door too but no problem!) Our first night there (Wednesday) there was a Happy Hour with food, free beer, soda and $1 wine! The morning breakfast buffet was great (many choices) but crowded so allow time & be flexible. The lobby & dining area was beautifully decorated. Hotel staff were friendly & helpful. Work out facility was up to date and clean. Only tiny suggestion would be to add a soap dish to the lovely claw-footed tub in the master bath (there was no place to set the soap ☺). Oh, and basically right next to the hotel is a fabulous ice cream shop - a big plus in our kids' opinions!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBS323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#3 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#21 of 48 in Treasure Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island

Property: Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Address: 11908 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#2 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island offers outstanding suites and a great location. Our guests love our service and the extra amenities that we provide such as free breakfast, free high speed internet and luxurious suites with energy efficient stainless steel appliances in our fully-equipped kitchens, flat screen TVs, and a private balcony overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott St. Petersburg / Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island Florida
Residence Inn Treasure Island
Marriott Treasure Island
Treasure Island Marriott
Treasure Island Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing