We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Camping Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort De Soto Park

Fort De Soto Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$324.99*
and up
Ultimate Tampa Bay and Fort De Soto Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Camping Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A great family vacation spot if you love the beach and/or camping. The location is lovely and the facilities better than most. One of the few parks that has campsites that afford some privacy between each site and many right on the water. A favorite weekend get-away spot for locals. Always busy-reservations recommended as they often have no vacancies.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,604
    489
    108
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My cousin and me usually go there in the mornings, with our rollerblades, park the car where the "path" starts, and can go on for miles past the fort.. Very, very, good

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ernst K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dog Beach Yea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonderful time and the twoddlers had a blast at the dog beach with their four-legged big brother and his new found furry friends romping in and out of the tide. Arrived too late for the food pavilions and the Fort Museum, but enjoyed wonderful playgrounds, beautiful beaches, saw lots of campground areas, bike trails, kayaking, and so much more. Plan on a long day to enjoy everything or better yet stay and camp, and be sure to pick up a map when you enter the park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrippinTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tampa's traffic is awful even in the off season. We drove to Desoto beach and were not disappointed. My wife found a variety of shells. We did rent bikes and rode the park (bikes were marginal). Beautiful Beach. Don't miss it. Pier was fun too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank xmo0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's a Must for Us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whenever we're in Florida, we make a point of visiting Fort De Soto Park.
There's a small entrance fee and parking has never been an issue.
The beach is fantastic...lovely white sand and peaceful! It has a life guard staion, but I'm not sure if it's guarded all day.
The park itself has wonderful facilities such as shower, toilets, and picnic/BBQ areas and the fort is interesting to see...lovely views from the top.
There is also a company which hires out kayaks, which is fantastic for families who are into this activity. Seeing the manatees in their own environment is out of this world!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort De Soto Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort De Soto Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing