We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food. Outstanding Service”

Good Times Continental Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Tierra Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: European, Hungarian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Continental Cuisine. Imported beers. Fine wines. Hand crafted soups and desserts.Reservations are recommended Cash or Local Check only. 37 Years here on Tierra Verde.
Meredith, NH
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Outstanding Service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner here! Love the different flavors and variety of food served in this European style restaurant. All the food and sauces are homemade and delicious. If you are looking for something a little different and delicious give it a try. And hopefully you will get Terri as your waitress! Fantastic server. Friendly, knowledgeable, and professional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaymo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    21
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, SC
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were visiting my mother-in-law and decided to take her out for dinner (this was last year) and when another restaurant was unavailable we ended up at Good Times. Oh my God. What a find. We (my wife and I) have just finished a week revisiting her mother and we went out twice to Good Times. Just as enjoyable as last year.

The first night I had grouper meuniere and my wife steak au poivre. The second night she had a pork dish done German style and I had duck (a full half) in a cherry sauce. It was the best duck I have ever had and I have had duck at several well regarded Parisian restaurants. Soup and salad (there is actually a choice for the salad) come with the meal. The wine list, while not extensive, has both inexpensive and more expensive choices. We were happy with it.

The menu is continental tending towards German, but with a fair number of French style items available. This is not a restaurant for children who crave cheeseburgers. Either they need to be able to eat more sophisticated food or they should be somewhere else.

Two caveats. The desserts are almost exclusive German. If you like heavy desserts this will suit you. Second, THEY DO NOT TAKE CREDIT CARDS. Cash or personal checks. Please note: there is an ATM machine right outside so you can get cash. More than worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ture German Food in a quite little corner”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We go here every chance we get when we are in St. Pete Beach. The service is great, they treat you like family. The fresh catch is always a good choicebor you can go with the beef stroganoff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pilotadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD - EXCELLENT SERVICE !!!!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good Times Continental Restaurant --1130 Pinellas Bayway S, Tierra Verde, FL
We were considering to go back to Cafe Vienna in St Petersburg, FL as we had both an excellent dinner in March 2013 and a poor dinner in April 2013. In checking TripAdvisor there was another POOR review for Cafe Vienna; however the writer recommended the Good Times Contintental Restaurant in Tierra Verde, We checked TripAdvisor and found many excellent reviews for Good Times Continental Restaurant.

So we made a reservation for Wednesday, June 19, 2013 and my wife and I and another couple went to dinner at Good times Continental Restaurant. Three of us had Wiener Schnitzel with Lyonnaise Potatoes and one had fish, like Grouper. Everyone raved about their meal which also included soup and salad and fresh homemade dark rye bread. It was as good as we have had in Berlin. The price is very affordable. One thing to remember CASH ONLY -- No Credit Cards.

You will not be disappointed, the food is excellent and so is the service and the surroundings are also very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sailorwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like being back in Munich”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is amazing. The food makes you feel like you are in Germany (It's that good and a great selection). Went with another couple and everyone of raved about our soups,appetizers and entrees. When you are in the area it is a must.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeyave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Times Continental Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Good Times Continental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing