We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Wonderful Hosts”

Good Times Continental Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Tierra Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: European, Hungarian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Continental Cuisine. Imported beers. Fine wines. Hand crafted soups and desserts.Reservations are recommended Cash or Local Check only. 37 Years here on Tierra Verde.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is nothing that Marie and Sidney wouldn't do to make your meal and visit a success. The food is excellent - doesn't matter what you order. It always feels like you are going home and the family is intent on your having a super meal and a 'good time.'

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    21
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Top Notch in Every Way”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for the past 20+ years. The reason is simple, it's ALWAYS fantastic. Owners Sid and Marie take personal care and pride in running a clean, high quality establishment and ensure their customers of delivering friendly service, a relaxing environment and, most importantly, the best quality in food offerings. With a european influence, the menu offers a very nice variety of beef, pork, veal and fish, not to mention a few standout German dishes that are the definition of comfort foods. A couple of rotating daily specials always make it difficult to choose what to get (a very nice problem to have!). The portion sizes are quite large and include homemade soups, salad and fresh breads with your meal. Sid Jr., the executive chef, makes a mean Duck, Goose, filet mignon and of course, the best schnitzel this side of the Atlantic. If you have room for dessert, the Strawberries Romanoff or fresh apple strudel cannot be beat. Eva is the star of the wait staff that will treat you like royalty. While the wine list is average, you cannot beat the beers on tap. Choose from Hacker-Pschor Oktoberfest or one of several rotating Czech pilsners. No credit cards accepted here. Prices are quite reasonable for the amount and quality that you get. The Good Times is really the BEST Times! Dine here!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fgh8664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deceiving from outside location”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been going here for over ten years after a recommendation from friends. The food is the freshest and most is well presented except for the veggies. Exactly the same every time, over cooked green beans and red bliss potatoes, please change it up. Also, everytime I return I'm am begging to re-decorate. Lose the dated dirty lace curtains and stained red carpet. I know the saying "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" but I think this is an exception. It begs a fresh clean look. The family is wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went for dinner ana what a suprise. Food really was good. I had the steak which was cooked to perfection. Service was very friendly, in fact all staff were friendly and gave the impression of being family run. Good selection of European beers.

Will certainly return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Came over from Orland for the weekend and had dinner here last night. OMG.....My husband's duck was to die for. I had the Beef Stroganoff. It was so good. If we lived here we would there for dinner at least once a week. The ownef' are the sweetest, friendliest people. All the waitesses are as well. The restaurant has been there for years and they have a pretty big local following so make a reservation. I highly recomend this place. It's a must if you're in the St. Pete area. We'll be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank exnyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Times Continental Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Good Times Continental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing