We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast Frequently”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phila Deli

Phila Deli
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Tierra Verde
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This deli boasts huge portion sizes at unbelievable prices. We feature Boar's Head meats and cheeses. Cheese Steaks are our specialty and are as authentic as the true masterpiece of Philly. We now specialize in local Craft Beers and have a Wine & Cheese Shop.
Tierra Verde
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast Frequently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Best Philly Cheese Steak I have ever had. Also, His House Breakfast Sandwich with egg white, cheese, Jalapeno and sausage on an Amoroso Roll is killer. Or everything bagel with Taylor Ham, eggs, cheese and fresh onion.

Got to get to know Matt, the owner. Dry sense of humor. Nice guy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TierraVerdeGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ick!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stopped in on a Saturday morning for breakfast. The dude seemed to be bothered that we were there. Not inviting at all.. I was joking with him and asked for a cheesesteak and was told I didn't want one.. Geeze, I ordered a hoagie instead, not close to Philly food at all ( the place of my birth by the way). I could have gotten a better Italian sub from Subway. The place seemed clean, then I moved the basket my food was served in and there was a tiny German Roach. Ick! Will never go back, terrible attitude he had.. Duh, if you are not a morning person, don't be open for breakfast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Heh! Authentic Philly taste and style. Try cheesesteak with. Order ahead to take out. Seating a little tight.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fslocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lacking in Meat/Rib Eye Steak in the Steak and Cheese Sub that I ordered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was very disappointed to receive a Steak and Cheese Sub that did not have enough meat in the sub to reach the top. There was about 2" of steak missing to reach the top and both ends did not have meat filled in. I'd like to find a restaurant that could provide the proper quantity of meat to fill the sub roll in Florida. This is not the way a Philly Cheese Steak should be served. I paid enough money to receive a sandwich that should have the proper quantity of meat in the roll. NOTE-we were the only customers in the shop-so it's not like there was a long line of individuals to receive an order and perhaps there was a mistake in placing enough meat on the grill due to being rushed. The flavor was good but I won't be going back because of the lack of meat/rib eye steak.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATSKB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This new addition to the Tierra Verde food scene is a must visit. The breakfast and lunch choices are extremely varied and the prices so reasonable. There is something for everyone's taste. The Philly Steaks come chock full of ribeye and the onions are free of charge. Wonderful. There are also chicken (cooked in-house) steaks. All served on a 12" roll, as are the hoagies (subs). Various toppings are available. Matt offers "Heart Healthy Options" which include: Italian, Greek and Mediterranean salads, to just name a few. Breakfast is also a real treat. So if you are on your way to Ft. DeSoto for the day, call ahead and your food will be waiting for you to pick-up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyTierraVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phila Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing