We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairytale castle”

Chateau du Moulin Conservatoire de la Fraise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Le château du Moulin parfois appelé "perle de la Sologne", se niche dans la foret Solognote. Construit par Jacques de Persigny pour le compte de Philippe du Moulin, il mire dans ses douves son architecture du XVeme siècle, de briques roses au décor losange et ses toits élances en ardoises. Ouvert du 1er avril au 30 septembre, 7/7 jours, de 10h a 12h30 et de 14h a 18h30. The "Chateau du Moulin" has been erected at the end of the XVth century by Jacques de Persigny, following the order of Philippe du Moulin. Hidden in the heart of the forests of Sologne, the castle is surrounded by water, where it reflects it architecture of pink bricks, white corner stones and slates covered elegant roofs. Open from the 1st of April till the 30th of September, 7 days a week, from 10 am to 12:30 and from 2pm till 6:30 pm
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We loved this chateau. We arrived early and had to wait until they opened but that gave us a chance to walk through the gardens which are beautiful. Unlike other castles we visited, this one had a guide who accompanied us all from room to room explaining what it was that we were looking at. That was much better than just walking through and wondering what things were for. Another thing I liked that they did was to dress up my 2 grandsons in basic period costume.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Hawkes2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny412013, Propriétaire at Chateau du Moulin Conservatoire de la Fraise, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Thank you for your nice post. Happy to read you had an interesting visit with our guide and that your grands ont enjoué their costume. Fanny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"strawberries"
in 2 reviews
"fairy tale"
in 2 reviews
"varieties"
in 2 reviews
"forest"
in 3 reviews
"moat"
in 3 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"art"
in 2 reviews
"france"
in 2 reviews
"history"
in 3 reviews
"chateau"
in 6 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2016

Sometimes those unplanned turns in your travels can lead you to little treasures and this is one of our new ones. We were in the area and followed the signs to the Chateau (that we knew nothing about). When we arrived, we were told the only way to see the interiors was a private tour, only in French, and starting in 10 minutes. Well, why not? So we two, who do not speak more than 'tourist French', headed for the chateau and joined the tour. We were given written information in English which was very helpful. The Chateau is filled with original in situ furnishings, art, and decorative items. The outside is lovely 15th C with moat and interesting out buildings. Our May visit was unusually wet, so we did not walk the grounds too much but I think they would be great for walks. I believe that is one of the attractions of the property for locals. If you are French, check this one out. Your history awaits without too many of us English speaking tourists hanging about. If you do not speak French, go anyway. We did, were welcomed, and thoroughly enjoyed our time on the property.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Montine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny412013, Propriétaire at Chateau du Moulin Conservatoire de la Fraise, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2016

It is very nice to ready your note. Thank you very much. When did you visit the castle ? We usualy have English speaking guides . It would help us to know who was leading the tour.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
The chateau is on Google Arts & Culture since the 5th of July.
Hope to see you again when ever you fly back to France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2015

We visited this chateau in May. It is a bit off the beaten track at Lassay-sur-Croisne some 36 kilometres south east of Blois and is smaller than the great chateau of the Loire but is worth a visit as it is moated and has an array of turrets with conical roofs which present a delightful spectacle. Chateau-du-Moulin was named after the knight who built it and has nothing to do with a mill despite its name. There is a good guided tour on offer in French, conducted by an enthusiastic young lady. The setting is very tranquil. It has an association with strawberries introduced from Chile to France and crossed with European varieties to give the plants we know today.

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Chateau is 15th century, and unusually, constructed of brick rather than stone. It is isolated in the forest, and one must walk a couple of hundred yards from the car park. We had time to kill, because one can only enter the castle on a guided tour, which is included in the admission price. So we enjoyed the peace, the complete lack of background noise, and the pretty surroundings. The grounds are low key, but really pleasant. As for the strawberry exhibition, maybe we missed something, because we saw only what is in the well preserved old stables. And this isn't a huge amount. The house was a private residence till recently and so it still has a personal feel. The current owning family bought the place in 1901, from the original family. They were rich and bought some very good 15th and 16th century furniture, and they also restored the castle sympathetically.
Our guide gave us a well informed visit in English, and our overall impression was very favourable. It's a minor chateau, a very interesting one, and well worth a visit. With 10,000 visitors a year, you will not be caught up in a crowd. The tour takes about an hour, twice in the mornings and four times in the afternoons. We could have done with a coffee.

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Black_Doris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A very interesting privately owned Chateau slightly off the beaten track. Still has a lived in look and the guided tour in English was very clear and comprehensive. Shaded parking and picnic area near the entrance.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank ffantail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau du Moulin Conservatoire de la Fraise also viewed

Cheverny, Loir-et-Cher
Fougeres-sur-Bievre, Loir-et-Cher
 
Romorantin-Lanthenay, Loir-et-Cher
Selles-sur-Cher, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Chateau du Moulin Conservatoire de la Fraise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing