We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Time to Eat Diner

Time to Eat Diner
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Tequesta
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Polish, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy a classic New York City / New Jersey diner experience with friendly all-day service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Serving the Palm Beach, Jupiter, Tequesta region.
FL
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“School Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was our 2nd visit and decided the chaos of Opening week was not fair to judge a new restaurant (1st time terrible service, long wait, many items "out" and mediocre grilled cheese sandwich) ...for dinner. Our lunch visit had few diners and fortunate to get a young, energetic and personable waitress. Place looks clean, including toilets, but too warm and carpet in need of airing or cleaning. Why dont restaurants smell like real food anymore? Good selection of lunch specials and tried open faced hot turkey sandwich/steamed veggies, soup and dessert. Looked like large portions but thin delicatessen-like slices of tasteless turkey on too much soggy white bread, instant mash potatoes, steamed overcooked vegetables, canned gravy and the scariest matzo ball soup with one huge, tasteless white Play Dough like ball made of grits or flour. I'm from NY too and worked and eaten at kosher restaurants. Had to take home the left over turkey to show a friend! Just like my junior high school lunch. They do have a large selection of beautiful looking desserts, but very fluffy-bland fake cream filling. Staff needs to smile more and management more customer caring attitude when you walk in..and leave.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flsouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Good morning, flsouri. We're sorry you're disappointed. Folks generally rave about our Open-Faced Turkey Sandwich. A diner classic! We roast the turkey ourselves. We peel, boil, mash and season our own home-made mashed potatoes -- Join us on potato-peeling duty ;-) -- and we make our own home-made gravy. Our matzoh balls are freshly made according to our simple and time-tested recipe from New Jersey. Best wishes and good eating, wherever you may travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    45
    38
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I agree Phoenix33”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We ate there when first open and was great. Since then the food has gone south.
In addition the management takes no responsibility and like your response from management, nothing but excuses.
We no longer eat there, it's a shame they had a great start.
The pastries however are freshly baked and yummy, but not worth the attitude to stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Suzy41. We loved it when you wrote last year that we are "Fresh, courteous and big portions." We're sad that you feel we've changed. You're right that management is important. If you don't like something, we're happy to replace it with your choice of anything else. It's a good thing that you still like our pastries: Our in-house baker has read your words and he's beaming with pride! If you visit again, please feel free to introduce yourself to Maria or Angel in the lobby, at our hostess station. Your happiness is essential to us, and we'd like to ensure that you have a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed but I may give it another try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I had lunch today with two friends at Time to Eat Diner. Based on other reader's reviews, I ordered the pierogi lunch special. My friends ordered the chicken salad croissant and the grilled chicken on a pita.
Our waittress was quite friendly and prompt but somewhat overwhelmed by the menu. It is impossible not to be as the specials menu is larger than most restaurant menus. We didn't even glance at the novel that is the diner's regular menu. It's crazy huge.
We ordered the split pea soup, which was quite good, especially with home made croutons. Our food arrived promptly. Very large portions. We all ended up taking food home. I was disappointed with the pierogi. They were served with carmelized onions that were overly sweet and tasted like they had been prepared days ago and then warmed up and served. The pierogi were a bit bland, although the texture was good, but frankly they are not as good as some frozen pierogi that I have eaten.
For dessert I had the lemon coconut cake, which was pretty good although slightly dry. I wasn't overly impressed and neither were my lunch companions but I'm willing to try it again. One change that would greatly benefit this restaurant is to cut their menu down by at least 75%. Seriously. If I looked at every item on the menu it would have been 15 minutes before I would order anything. There is no way that one restaurant can offer that many dishes and cook them all well. I'd rather have a smaller portion of superb food at a decent price than a huge portion of something mediocre at bargain prices. Just my two cents.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 854laurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello Laura. Great to see you visiting from right nearby. We're sorry that you weren't impressed. We try our best :-) Our pierogi are made from scratch using a recipe brought from Poland by the owner's family. Same with the caramelized onions, made fresh every second day. Our in-house baker works overnight to make fresh cakes and pies. Time to Eat Diner is ranked number 7 of all diners in South Florida according to a poll by WPBF-TV (ABC). Feel free to introduce yourself to our manager, Maria. We'd like you to enjoy yourself. Good eating - Smacznego! -- from all of us at Time to Eat Diner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

love cold water lobster this the PLACE TO GO best local place I found in Northern Palm Beach County.
great price and food

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank stanpbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“a real diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

you can get it all and get it all the time, great lunch, dinner and breakfast all day. The Polish specials are the best also any of the traditional diner favorite open faced sandwiches. Fast and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sphgordo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi sphgordo13, It's great to hear from folks who enjoy that diner classic: the open-faced sandwich. Hey, you're tawkin' our language ;-) And we hope to serve you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Time to Eat Diner also viewed

 

Been to Time to Eat Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing