We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing Okay”
Review of Time to Eat Diner

Time to Eat Diner
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Tequesta
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Enjoy a classic New York City / New Jersey diner experience with friendly all-day service for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Serving the Palm Beach, Jupiter, Tequesta region.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
313 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Doing Okay”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I were visiting the area and wanted a place to eat that would offer a variety of options. Being an ex-NY'er I knew diners generally are the place to go. We were not disappointed. Yes. They have an extensive menu and from the previous reviews and our meals their chefs are not overwhelmed by it. I had a good turkey triple decker with real turkey and crisp bacon. My friend had a very large and juicy burger. The fries were cooked well and there were plenty on the plate. I tasted the cole slaw and it was okay but it was a rather small portion considering everything else.

We were sat quickly but waited a while before having our order taken and the food served. Seemed a little odd since there were only 8 other diners present at the time.

I also thought it was odd that they were out of ginger ale and peach ice tea. But it happens. The raspberry ice tea was okay.

The pastries did look great in the front case but we were not that hungry.

Dinner for two for $21 - I can see stopping in again if I am back in Jupiter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grrprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
grrprr... We're glad to hear that your friend and you enjoyed the triple-decker turkey sandwich and the large, juicy burger. Always a pleasure to have New York-minded folks visit us. See you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    39
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pigeon forge, yn
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“much better than most- highly recommend”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We held off trying this place due to so many mixed reviews. We are retired and travel full time volunteering and one of the things we enjoy is trying non chain restaurants, large and small, in new areas. After two months in this very affluent area volunteering at a nearby state park we decided to give this place a try. Our experience(s) showed we were wrong to wait. The name includes "diner" but this a diner in name only. It is quite large, spotlessly clean, very nice décor. Greeting you when you enter is a display case of cakes, rolls and various pastries. On the counter is a basket of small pastries or cookies for you to sample on your way in or out. The menu is very large, maybe too large to assure good quality for every dish, but our first and second trips resulted in excellent meals and very reasonable pricing.
Our first trip was mid-afternoon lunch. I had the gorgonzola burger lunch special and it was excellent, large and came with a bunch of fries, a couple of large onion rings, a decent size house salad (very fresh) and surprise, dessert (our choice was a large piece of Oreo cake!) which we took home for later. My wife had a grilled chicken Caesar salad with a crock of excellent French Onion soup. The bill total was $19, which is very reasonable, especially for this area.
Two days later we returned for breakfast which was maybe even better than the lunches. Eggs, wonderful (and enough for two) hash browns, large slice of ham, toast, juice, coffee and for me pancakes. Total price with tax, $13.67. Unbelievable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ah_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello ah_10... Thank you for the volunteer work performed by you and yours at the state park nearby. We're glad that you enjoyed your visits to our diner. If events bring you back to our little corner of Florida, we'd be delighted to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, dull”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Former Denny's, still uses the same cups and dishes Denny 's used 2 years ago. Unspectacular food that is way, way overpriced-$40 for a burger and open faced turkey sandwich.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello bigroan. Our deluxe Angus-beef burgers are priced around $8.50 and our open-faced turkey sandwich is $11.95. This totals around $20. We're scratching our heads if you paid $40.00 for these items. Please write to us at hello@timetoeatflorida.com so that we can follow up. Additionally: we have one correction to your comment about our cups and dishes: We purchased these from the Homer Laughlin China Company. Festive! And customers love 'em.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Fl
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Menu overload”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I frequently see local diners go out of business for this very reason. OMG too many items on their menu, it's crazy! We've been there twice now and the prices are good however a southern staple biscuts and gravy are terrible. Hard frozen biscuts and canned gravy not for this southern girl.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makowish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi there makowish. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy the biscuits and gravy as much as we enjoy making 'em. Our home-made biscuits and gravy begin with our in-house baker, Mark, who bakes biscuits from scratch. We're proud to have an authentic New York and New Jersey diner menu, and we would be honored if you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Menu disaster”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

300 hundred items on the menu and the first two picks are a no go. Ten minutes past twelve and a luncheon special is already sold out. The second pick from the special list and the waitress says we don't have that not that there sold out but even though it's listed as a special they have never had it. Now we're down to 298 items. Third pick they had. Food was excellant but I won't stop again

Helpful?
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoeatdiner, Manager at Time to Eat Diner, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
How are you doing, Sheldon. You make us happy by saying that the food was excellent. We're sorry if a meal you wanted was fresh out. Based on your comment here, we've talked with our team, but we can't find any menu item that's "never" been in stock. Please write to us at hello@timetoeatflorida.com. We'd love to hear from you. And your detailed explanation will help us to follow up properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Time to Eat Diner also viewed

 

Been to Time to Eat Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing