We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Owner is Deranged and Verbally Abusive”
Review of Tequesta Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tequesta Palms Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tequesta B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is a very small privately owned motel. We began communicating with the owner about six months ago and everything seemed to be great. We had family in the area and the owner quoted us a reduced price and called it a "local special." We confirmed the reduced rate several weeks prior to traveling. I found it odd when we arrived that we were the only guests at the motel, but I soon found out why. When we checked in, I told the "day manager" of the quoted price and she checked us in with no problems. We found the rooms were obviously older, but a lot of work had been done to make them nice and the room was very clean, When we returned to the room about 9:00PM a man was standing outside our room. When we got out of the car, he told us he was the owner and said, "you told my girl that I told you the room was $80." I told him that was correct, as that is what he had quoted over the phone and later confirmed. He went on a rant for about five minutes telling us over and over that he had never said any such thing, and insinuating that we were lying to him and were trying to cheat him. I told him that there was obviously some sort of miscommunication and he would only say that "there was no miscommunication on my part." He said that because we had children he would not have reduced the rate due to the number of people (two adults, a 6 yr old, a 2 yr old and an infant) in the room he would never offer a discounted rate and there was no local special. Eventually, he began to yell at the top of his lungs for us to "go to another flee bag motel." All of this was while our children were in the car watching. It was very late for the kids and I told him that we would be out in the morning. When we got into the room, he proceeded to stand outside and beat on a garbage can with some sort of stick. This was the definition of "bait and switch" and it was clear that the owner is mentally unstable. He did not appear to be drunk, but his behavior was bizarre to say the least. I must say it was the worst example of "customer service" I have ever seen. We left the next morning and found a nicer motel that was every bit as clean for less money. Unless you want to be accosted out of the blue by an irrate motel owner, called a liar, and charged a rate that is 33% higher than quoted, I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: The room was clean, the owner was hostile and rude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Jackson021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin K, Manager at Tequesta Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Tequesta Palms Inn is now open under new ownership and new management. All the rooms have been remodeled. Should you return to the area, we would like to make your experience a better one. Please consider giving us a try. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip. A very quiet small Inn with spacious, well supplied and very clean rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Only has 8 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin K, Manager at Tequesta Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Tequesta Palms Inn is open under new ownership & management. Should you decide to return to the area, we would appreciate your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 661C_cile_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin K, Manager at Tequesta Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tequesta
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Waterfront Inn
Jupiter Waterfront Inn
#1 of 10 in Jupiter
725 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Jupiter
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites West Palm Beach Jupiter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Intracoastal Inn
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Jupiter
La Quinta Inn Jupiter
#8 of 10 in Jupiter
451 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jupiter/Juno Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tequesta Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tequesta Palms Inn

Address: 220 US Highway 1, Tequesta, FL 33469
Location: United States > Florida > Tequesta
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tequesta
Price Range: $160 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tequesta Palms Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the charming Tequesta Palms Inn! Located less than a mile and half away from the beach, this is your perfect budget location for a vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tequesta Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing