We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and great service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampton, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was close to our motel. We had the 6 oz. sirloin with lobster special. Both were delicious. I had the Caesar salad, which didn't have enough dressing on it, but still tasted good. We had two gift cards, so it didn't cost us anything. We would certainly eat here again, if we were ever in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BonnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    26
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Outback near USF”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited my son for USF "Family Weekend" and the USF/UM football game. It was 4:30 when we got back and everyone was hot/tired/hungry/sunburned so we decided to go for an early dinner. At 4:45 we were excited to see that the restaurant was only about 20% full, but the hostess told us that "it was shift change and we would have to wait to be seated." So we sat down up front, staring at loads of empty tables and just past 5 p.m. we were finally seated--but it was in the busy area and we were waited on by a waitress who had been there all along, so it's not like we waited for the new shift to come in. Our waitress did the best she could, but we were served bread, our appetizers, finally our water and drinks and still no silverware or napkins. We finally flagged down another server who took pity on us looking at our apps and bread and salads w/ nothing to eat them with. The food was good and dependable, as a chain restaurant should be. Other than being slow with silverware and drinks, our server did a good job following us. I think management needs to review their shift change times/protocol and DEFINITELY needs to better train hostesses what to tell people when the restaurant is 80% empty yet they make you wait for a table! I would come back if my USF student was craving the food here on my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamamooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hostess needs to make sure that servers know they have a table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were seated promptly but were totally ignored for over 15 minutes until we asked a bus boy to see who our waiteess was. When Lauren H finally got there she only wanted to take our drink order, we had more than enough time to study the menu and when i said so, she came back with a lot more attitude than i can to take from a server. That pretty well set the tone for the evening, once our food came from the kitchen we never seen her again until she flew by and slide the ticket on the table. We were there on August 14 and left at 742pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Who SHRUNK the Blooming Onions?!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

A recent trip to Temple Terrace took me to this 56th Street Outback Steakhouse with a group of seven other adults for an early evening dinner. We were seated without much delay and eagerly ordered a Blooming Onion to enjoy while we looked over their menu.

Having had this big yummy, eye popping appetizer many times in various other cities, I was (we all were) SHOCKED to be served the smallest, tiniest Blooming Onion we had ever before seen! And I do mean small!

When questioned, our server instantly acknowledge that it was indeed small, but it was "legal" to serve, saying it met their 1 pound requirement. He then briskly (less friendly) offered to see if he could get us a complimentary second "Small Onion". He did bring us another, and as promised, it was just as small.

We all appreciated receiving a second Blooming Onion, but it was sad to learn that Outback's shrinking food portions and declining quality has now reached their famous Blooming Onions too, or at least that's the way it apparently is in this Temple Terrace Outback.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEXINGTON
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's Outback...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

You prett much know what to expect when you walk into an Outback. This one was no exception. The staff was fine, friendly and efficient. Our food was brought out in a fair amount of time. I had steak and shrimp. The steak was a little under cooked and the shrimp a little over cooked. My husband's steak was tough. The whole thing was ok, not outstanding.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IMSwimnoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 
Temple Terrace, FL
Temple Terrace, FL
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing