We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a great place!”
Reviewed December 12, 2006

The joys of staying at your Hotel ...

1 - Dec. 11th....first of all finding this hotel....the driving instructions are not correct on the web site

2 - When we finally arrived there was no one to help with bags - the front staff could not help but notice us struggling with our luggage but, there is no offer to help.

3 - When we got to our room:

a) urine in the toilet - hey, that's ok as I flushed and cleaned it myself.

b) hair on the floor - BLACK hair - we have light brown and grey hair

c) the fridge had been turned off and defrosted - leaving a tray of water to clean up

d) bath towel was stained

4 - No shuttle to Busch Gardens - all the other hotels (less expensive) in this area do

5 - Waited for shuttle for over 30 minutes and had front desk call again.

6 - When the shuttle arrived the wife or girlfriend or friend(?) was in the front passenger seat.

7 - While driving, the driver answered the cell phone and continued to have a lengthy conversation.

8 - After the first night advised the front desk that the room was not very clean, hair on floor and hole in one of the sheets - was assured that this would be attended to - upon returning late that afternoon found that nothing had been done. - in fact, the hair was still on the floor and the sheet (complete with hole) was still there.

9 - When returning from Busch Gardens, asked the shuttle driver what the rate from the Hotel to the Airport would be to confirm what I had been advised by Hilton Hotels (head office) which was $55 for a taxi and $35 for a shuttle - the driver advised that the shuttle fee was $35 for one person and $55 for two - well, the reservation had been made for Mr & Mrs .. what part of this am I missing?
On the other 2 trips we made with the shuttle the driver as well was answering his cell....and no it was not a hands free one.
I realize the shuttle does not belong to the hotel but it is up to the hotel to set the guidelines.

Not so much as a "thank you for staying with us", "have a good day" ... or whatever, as the front desk watched us struggle with our luggage on the way out ...
not very likely to stay there again!
.......and that's why it's not a 4 star ....shouldn't even be a 3

  • Liked — popcorn available in the lobby
  • Disliked — just about everything
  • Tips/Secrets — chek hotels closer to Busch Gardens and the airport
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cr3bevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    234
    106
    53
    36
See reviews for
321
177
46
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City,Okla
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

If you are going to Busch gardens, take my advice stay at this hotel. It may be 4-5 miles further to the park but the hotels in this area are not ran down. This place is great, clean rooms, managers reception a typical Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelpro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2006

If you stay in Tampa, FL you must stay here. The hotel is very nice. I stayed here for 2 nights at like $75 a night and the hotel was great. When you walk in the hotel the lobby is so nicely decorated. It really feels like an regurlar fancy Hilton and what a bargain. There is always a treat at the counter. One day there were fresh apples in a huge bowl filled with ice water and the other day I had soft cholate chip cookie. Checking in and checkin out is a breeze. When you checkout you can use the phone in the room which is so fast and you can then just leave your keys. Everything is close to this hotel. There is a Walmart, Busch Gardens, and some shopping and nice restaraunts nearby within 5 minutes. I must tell you about the best restaraunt that I went to when I was there. It is called Remington's Steakhouse has the best sirloin steak I had ever had and the biggest baked potato was as big as a mini football i swear. My wife had the tastiest strawberry daquari ever. Vist [--], there are 3 locations in Tampa, FL. You wont be disappointed.

  • Disliked — I did see a bug that I think was a cockroach but a small one. There is a marsh behind hotel so there will be a lot of bugs back there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bullybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights at $62/night (AAA rate). Every staff member we came in contact with was pleasant, helpful and provided excellent customer service. The hotel lobby and restaurant were clean and very well-maintained. The breakfast buffet was great! Our room/bathroom were also very clean and comfortable (in addition to the bed it included a microwave, fridge, desk and comfortable chair/ottoman). Parking was never a problem.

It's a great place to stay if you are planning on going to Busch Gardens which is just a few miles away. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2006

All the guides I've seen have listed the Hilton Garden Inn (Tampa North) as a 3 star hotel. For the life of me, I can't figure out why it isn't a 4-star hotel. Everything was excellent. Staff was courteous and helpful, the standard room with king-sized bed was spacious and came with a microwave and refrigerator which came in pretty handy. The hotel itself is just a short drive from Busch Gardens, and the construction (mentioned by a previous reviewer) seems to be finished. On my next trip to Tampa, I'll definitely be staying here.

Helpful?
1 Thank MsUrbanProdigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 11, 2006

We stayed here for two nights. I had screwed up the reservation and forgot to cancel one of the four rooms we had booked before the deadline. The manager graciously cancelled the room the day of check in without a charge. She then allowed us early check in three hours early. We initially thought the air conditioner was broken and we called the desk. Maintenance responded within 10 minutes. The maid had turned the unit off which she was not supposed to do. Maintenance advised to leave it at the set temperature and it would be cold when returned that evening. He was correct. We left the unit running and never had another problem. The bathroom was clean (which is a major issue with me). The in-room coffee and refrigerator helped with leftovers. We did not use the pool but, from what we could see, it was well maintained. We got a $80 rate at this hotel and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herculaneum, Mo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Wow! Needed help in the Business Center, an employee stepped in and started working with us to print our boarding passes and didn't give up. Next morning, had a great breakfast and the same guy poured our coffee.

The hotel is beautiful with fantastic service. The grounds are equally maintained. Elevators worked well. Despite a full parking lot we hardly had a wait.

Oh! I asked one of the other employees who the gentleman was who had been there helping us and she replied that's TJ...., He's our General Manager!

Wow, no arrogance...a true manager. Great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Terrace
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
0.7 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
Address: 13305 Tampa Oaks Boulevard, Temple Terrace, FL 33637-1110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Temple Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North and enjoy everything you need for a relaxing stay. The hotel is ideally located in a tranquil nature preserve, yet just minutes from popular Florida attractions.Relax in your comfy guest room at the Hilton Garden Tampa North, where everything you need is within easy access. Unwind on a patented auto adjustable Garden Sleep System(R) bed or get to work at the large desk and ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra(R) chair. Begin your day with a delicious cooked breakfast at the Great American Grill(R) and choose from the a la carte menu at lunch and dinner. Do business in the 24-hour Business Center, refresh in the fitness center or enjoy a revitalizing swim in the tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North Hotel Temple Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Temple Terrace
Hilton Temple Terrace
Temple Terrace Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing