We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for busch gardens but whirlpool not working and no response to complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

It is near Busch Gardens which is why we stayed. We drove ourselves as we have passes for free parking but the shuttle is good for those who don't want to pay $17. Breakfast was good, rooms were fine, wifi worked, restaurant service for dinner was slow, but our main issue was the cold whirlpool not working throughout our stay despite being reported on first evening, indicating nobody in hotel had checked the whirlpool for 2 days, and that our subsequent written complaint to hotel has gone unanswered despite our being HHonors of 18 years standing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a great time at Busch Garden during your visit with us! I am not sure when this review was sent to Trip Advisor, but I know you and I have spoken about the issues with our whirlpool tub, and I am very pleased we were able to get this resolved to your satisfaction. We look forward to having you and your friends as our guests again very soon!

Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 893 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I got to the hotel a bit before check-in, but had the chance to eat lunch and relax after my flight. I didn't have too long to wait before I was able to get to my room.

The room was clean and quiet, but the bed was uncomfortable. The conference room my client had reserved wasn't set up correctly, and the one lady they had setting things up was so busy that I had to move the tables and chairs myself. We kept losing connectivity to the WiFi, which we needed for our meeting, and I had to ask for help several times.

This stay wasn't my most positive at a Hilton property, but it wasn't a completely bad one, either.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences of your visit with us! We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay as well as a great meeting or event. I am extremely sorry that we fell short during your event and would very much like to discuss this with you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at 813-342-5008 or sarah.schmidt@hilton.com.
I look forward to hearing from you!

Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Elevators must work. Signs indicating that the elevator is not working is not acceptable. How can you operate in that manner. What if someone get's hurt. The Fitness Center has no towels and almost no equipment. The bathrooms showers leak. I stay at Hiltons all the time. They are top notch. This one is poor at best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We very much appreciate your feedback from your recent visit with us and we're sorry that about the service issues you encountered in our fitness center during your stay. We've reviewed your comments with the appropriate department heads so we can ensure that nothing like this happens again, and everything you need is right at hand at all times.
Please rest assured our elevators are in perfect working order and 100% compliant with state and local laws. The sticker you are referring to was placed there due to our elevator inspector taking longer than what we would deem reasonable in sending us our updated yearly permit, and thus the state inspector put up these stickers. The permit handing next to the sticker you will notice is current and 100% compliant, we have simply been looking for an effective means to remove these stickers without damaging the stainless steel in our elevator.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you expect from Hilton, and the level of service we are known for.

Kind regards,
Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Garden for three nights beginning April 21. Everyone (and I mean everyone!) employed at the hotel was professional, always had a smile on their faces and willing to do whatever it took to make the guests happy. The breakfast, which was included, was very good and fresh. I had some difficulty sleeping on the beds with those small pillows but all in all I would have to say it was an excellent stay. I am going back next month and intend to stay there again. If an employee didn't smile at you when you stayed, I am sure they were mirroring your behavior. Lighten up!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piggybanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent visit with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North! We are thrilled that you had not only one, but three great stays with us! Every team member, in every department strives to provide all of our guests with an outstanding stay and it is always gratifying to know that we have hit our goal.
We will continue to work to ensure that you have a good stay with us, and we look forward to having you as our guest again very soon!
Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed here multiple times and have never been disappointed! The rooms are always clean and the breakfast is perfect! Ann and her staff are very friendly and provide great service in the restaurant! We even bring our Dunkin Donuts coffee in during breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank boblag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We appreciate your review, and thank you for your kind words! Ann and the rest of our restaurant team and very glad to know you were happy with their service and that they were able to meet your needs during breakfast! We hope you get the chance to visit with us again soon!
Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were placed here after the other local hotel of choice was booked up, ironically a lesser category hilton hotel, but still tried to keep an open mind. Check in was fine despite the time, midnight. We didn't have sheets in the closets to make up the sofa beds so we called for those and they arrived about 10mins later, much appreciated given the time of night. Breakfast was a disaster, from inattentive staff (I stood at the counter for 8 minutes to order fried eggs while the 'chef' took a break, no one pouring coffee or water at our table, yet 4-5 staff milled about the dining room acting busy--and were quick enough to drop a check after we self served everything from food to coffee and juice to napkins and ketchup), to cold food that was offered as "hot buffet" resulting in lumpy grits and lukewarm bacon. We left, originally going to ride the shuttle to Busch Gardens but found out the shuttle only runs once per hour and reservations must be made in advance, so drove and paid the $17 daily fee rather than deal with the hotel shuttle restrictions. Arrived back at the room to find it had not been serviced. We didn't need clean sheets but surely would have enjoyed clean towels. Not exactly a great experience. A shame given the rave reviews we read.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We appreciate your honest feedback and we're sorry that about the service issues you encountered during your stay. We've reviewed your comments with the appropriate department heads so we can ensure that we're doing all we can to provide a comfortable stay for our guests.
Unfortunately, due to our distance to Busch Gardens and the traffic congestion, it takes us approximately 45 minutes to get to and from Busch Gardens on our shuttle runs, so our once an hour practice is not necessarily policy, it is simply what is possible. We also have an abundance of guests who stay with us to enjoy Busch Gardens and Adventure Island, and our reservation system for the shuttle ensures we maximize our 11 seats during our hourly runs so that as many people as possible can enjoy the convenience of the shuttle service to the parks.
We hope we'll have a chance to serve you and your family again for a better stay.

Kind regards,
Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Four of us stayed here for one night as we were in Tampa for business and it was a good stay. We got a little lost looking for it as it's of the main road a little but the hotel itself was nice. Check in was smooth, all our rooms were ready as we arrived. We enjoyed a few cocktails in the lounge before dinner that night but skipped breakfast the next morning as it seemed crowded. Lots of business people there that night. Hilton gives you a good experience at all their hotels so another good stay. Their beds are always comfortable as that's a big plus traveling.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Bannunziata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

I am glad to hear you and your team had a great visit with us here in Tampa! We know we are somewhat tucked in and can be challenging to find, but we know once you got here, you can see the benefit of being off the beaten path in our quiet setting surrounded by nature! We hope you will join us for breakfast during your next visit, we know you won’t be disappointed!

Sarah Schmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple Terrace
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
4.4 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
West Wing Boutique Hotel
#15 of 164 in Tampa
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa North
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North

Address: 13305 Tampa Oaks Boulevard, Temple Terrace, FL 33637-1110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Temple Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Temple Terrace
Price Range: $111 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North and enjoy everything you need for a relaxing stay. The hotel is ideally located in a tranquil nature preserve, yet just minutes from popular Florida attractions.Relax in your comfy guest room at the Hilton Garden Tampa North, where everything you need is within easy access. Unwind on a patented auto adjustable Garden Sleep System(R) bed or get to work at the large desk and ergonomic Herman Miller Mirra(R) chair. Begin your day with a delicious cooked breakfast at the Great American Grill(R) and choose from the a la carte menu at lunch and dinner. Do business in the 24-hour Business Center, refresh in the fitness center or enjoy a revitalizing swim in the tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North Hotel Temple Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Temple Terrace
Hilton Temple Terrace
Temple Terrace Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing