We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bad Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Tavernier B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We are divers and say here a few times a year. The last stay out room 210 had a very loud A/C unit and the bed made sooooo much noise we could not sleep. When we said some thing to the manager she just said all the beds are the same. We will go down the road a little and find a new place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 189 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stopped in after a cruise to the Bahamas for a quck stay in the upper keys. I would probably come back. The hotel is a rustic look, and VERY clean rooms, complete with a window shaker A/C! It worked fine though! nice flatscreen TV and wifi.

We were here doing some diving, and it was a great place to rest and get some Z's between our two days of diving.

It was a great value for the price we paid

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If your passing through and need a cheap place for the night this could be your place, but if you are on vacation this hotel is not in the best location. The rooms are clean but the public areas are not. The ventilation in the bathroom is poor so there is lots of mold.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmartind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As divers, we always seek to "stay cheap" in Key Largo area. We have stayed here twice because of the price and a few rooms that can sleep up to 6-8 people in one room. We stayed in room #105 this time and it was not as nice as our first time. The A/C window units did struggle to keep the room semi-cool so some new units or a freon check might be in order. Service has always been good and they will often "leave the key" when we drive in late.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSchlabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while in the keys as this was priced right and not too busy. Key west seemed like a very busy tourist town. This hotel has a nice historic feel to it. Not too many rooms so it feels like a B&B. Also, the cafe next door is awesome and just sitting in the patio sipping a coffee with scones just felt wonderful in the keys weather. Rooms have everything you need. Oh they also have a computer and printer in the lobby so you can print your boarding pass if needed. They also have a room with refrigerator and a microwave if you need it. Overall, great stay and I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back end of the building are closer to the parking lot. So choose as per your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was very dirty... None of the floors had been vacuumed, there was a layer of dust on the nightstand. I received a phone call from the owner of the hotel who said that if we checked in after 5PM, we would have our room key in a drawer with my name on it. This is not safe in the least, much less welcoming. There was no elevator, and we were on the 2nd floor. The room smelled weird. The bed was very uncomfortable and squeeky.

Room Tip: Just pay an extra $20 or $30 and go with a more reputable hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristenS1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a no frills boutique hotel. They have done somewhat of a nice job with the remodel, but the building itself is very old. We were quite comfortable, and the bathroom is rather tiny, so if you are tall, you will have to use your imagination! The "Cuban" restaurant next door has the BEST coffee I ever had, bar none!!!!!! I would stay at this property again, one night was good! We stayed one night September 2012.

Room Tip: The desk closes at 5pm, so if you are arriving late, they will make arrangements to get you your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tavernier hotels
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Island Bay Resort
Island Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Tavernier
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mangrove Marina
Mangrove Marina
#1 of 1 in Tavernier
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel

Address: 91865 Overseas Hwy, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2652
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tavernier
Price Range: $54 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Tavernier Hotel has been updated with new beds, flat panel TVs and is under new ownership. Free local and long distance calling as well as free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tavernier Hotel Tavernier
Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing