We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average motel, NOT elegant 'inn'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Tavernier B&B and Inns
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“average motel, NOT elegant 'inn'”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

the best part of my short stay here was the decent motel price, the charming french patisserie next door and a decent wifi signal in the rooms.

room 209 claims to have 2 queen bed but they are full beds. a staff member in the office even denied this---the bedspread is a queen and touches the floor on all sides, but the queen fitted sheet was far from 'fitted' to the full mattress!!

the bathroom is tiny with the need to take a dark shower if the sun has gone down, since there is no light in the small shower stall.

the place is affordable but noisy if on the front side facing highway 1. i did see some rooms with bigger beds and hardwood floors. the courtyard of the inn is far less appealing than the adjoining one to Moka cafe, on the back near dumpster and linen bin.
furthermore this room had a loud wall a/c unit, no overhead fan and a stale permanent air freshener smell...the website lists this inn as elegant, which i would disagree with.
marker 88 is a lovely spot for a meal or drink and sunset, but the food is overpriced and the place seemed quite popular even in Feb. be sure to take time to go to Bahia Honda state park further south---much nicer than Pennekamp nearby, same entrance fees.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the inn face highway 1 which is bright and noisy. 209 has noisy a/c and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    42
    36
    58
See reviews for
26
79
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's a pink building just north of Islamorada. Pretty cheap & not the best location because there's no ocean views, but was very surprised when we opened the door to our room to find a giant comfy bed & wood floors, very cute room & wasn't run down at all. The showers looked newly renovated, but very small space between the toilet & wall. Also, the maids were very nice. My boyfriend lost his wallet & one of the maids found it & returned it to us with no cash missing from it. Me & my 3 friends were all pleasantly surprised & expected much worse from this hotel! Not bad at all!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hova88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our stay at the historic taverneir was not pledant at all. In one of the reviews it stated that it was not understood how people could give this place poor reviews. To lower your expectations this is not the Ritz Carlton. We let me tell you don't know what room this person had but I had mold that was probably dating back to the 20s when the hotel was built. I'm not expecting luxury but I expect cleanliness and not a health hazard. This place is disgusting and the cleaning crew here by just looking at them I understand why this place is disgusting. Pictures of the bathroom and some parts of the room eill be posted so you can make your own opinion about this place. Don't believe the website as far as being newly renovated.
Maybe the room the owner stays is is newly renovated but the one we stayed in was only painted. The tiles in the bathroom shower were covered in black mold. The furniture smell was unberable in which your clothes would begin to smell if left in the drawers. This place is absolutely disgusting. And when I complained about the cleanliness they were extremely surprised that someone has complained. I guess they do not read reviews about their own hotel. This place is not worthy of being called a hotel or even a motel.  BIOHAZARD IS MORE LIKE IT!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chungie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

Sayre, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a very basic place to stay, but at a good price (for Keys). The rooms are small (no chair and claustrophobic bathroom), but the bed was ok and good wifi signal. There was a small flat panel TV with limited cable, but no remote so only one station was available. Overall this is a place to sleep (period). Make sure you have a late supper (Marker 88 up the road is a very good restaurant).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickinSayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with this hotel for two nights. Rooms were cozy and spotlessly clean. Bed was nice as were the linens and towels. Small bathroom, but functional. WiFi in room.

Room Tip: The kingsize bed is massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with this hotel. Rooms was cozy and spotlessly clean. Bed was nice as were the linens and towels. Small bathroom, but functional. Staff was very friendly and took time to chat with us on a couple of occasions when we were relaxing outside in a little patio area. Good price especially considering the prices of other places during high season down here.

Would recommend it and would stay again. Only down side was no coffee pot in the room, but the French Cafe next door opens at 7 am each morning and has wonderful pasteries and the cuban place next door to that has wonderful coffee!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

WARNNING my stay turned into areal adventure...next time I will bring my gun to shoot at the rats and a Coleman lantern because the power goes out every few hours no I mean No customer support it was historic I feal like I was sleeping in the bed Lincoln was shot in...one night was gone had to pay for 3 nights ....I have stayed in keys for 20 years worst time ever

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedsleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
5.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel

Property: Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel
Address: 91865 Overseas Hwy, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2652
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Tavernier Hotel has been updated with new beds, flat panel TVs and is under new ownership. Free local and long distance calling as well as free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tavernier Hotel Tavernier
Historic Tavernier Inn Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing