We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whiled away an hour waiting for hometime.”

Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a part of the FKWBC, the Laura Quinn Wild Bird Sanctuary is home to over one hundred non-releasable, permanent bird residents as well as wild birds including hawks, owls, vultures, pelicans, terns, gulls, herons, spoonbills, and many more. Visitors are invited to learn about our birds and the fragile ecosystems of the Florida Keys. The Sanctuary is open to the public from sun-rise to sun-set. Admission is free, but donations to help the FKWBC to continue to fulfill our mission are gladly accepted. The Florida Keys Wild Bird Center's mission is to rescue, rehabilitate, and release native and migratory wild birds that have been harmed or displaced, to provide or locate a humane shelter for those birds that cannot be released, and to educate the public toward the importance of coexistence with all wild bird species. The Florida Keys Wild Bird Center is a 501(C)(3) Charitable Organization.
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Whiled away an hour waiting for hometime.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The birds are lovely. Needs some attention to many of the cages. The songbirds in particular are very nice. Friendly parrot too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    356
    95
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great *free* stop in the keys for bird lovers”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Islamorada. We especially enjoyed walking down to the water and watching the various birds outside of the cages. We were there to see late afternoon feeding but all of the large birds seemed completely uninterested in their dinner of thawed rats. We will definitely stop here again. We suggest you bring bug spray, as there are a few pesky mosquitos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsAoKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Glad to see people care"”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were happy to see there is a place for injured birds to go and recover. It is free to enter but donations are welcome. It does need some work, so please leave a donation. You walk along a boardwalk and can look inside the cages, they have windows so you can take photos. They have brief stories about the birds to read on the cages. There are owls, gulls, hawks, turkey buzzards and pelicans. Those pelcans are huge, never saw them so big. The boardwalk ends at the bay, we took some beautiful photos there. On the opposite side there is another boardwalk it is like you are deep into the woods. We enjoyed our visit, very peaceful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint yet enjoyable”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A small place yet packs plenty of birds and exhibits into it. It took us only about 25-30 minutes to fully admire the place but it was worth the stop. There were plenty of birds to look at and interesting facts to read about at each station. If you love nature and are strapped for time this is a great place to stop. The only warning is that in the back portion there are plenty of pelicans. If you are not used to their abrasive nature (and smell) you may not enjoy it as much. Growing up in Florida however it was expected.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keys for years”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The upper Keys are laid back and casual. It's a great place to de-stress, enjoy the water, the sunsets and beautiful migratory birds. The local restaurants are good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJMiami3rdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing