We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Kids!”

Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a part of the FKWBC, the Laura Quinn Wild Bird Sanctuary is home to over one hundred non-releasable, permanent bird residents as well as wild birds including hawks, owls, vultures, pelicans, terns, gulls, herons, spoonbills, and many more. Visitors are invited to learn about our birds and the fragile ecosystems of the Florida Keys. The Sanctuary is open to the public from sun-rise to sun-set. Admission is free, but donations to help the FKWBC to continue to fulfill our mission are gladly accepted. The Florida Keys Wild Bird Center's mission is to rescue, rehabilitate, and release native and migratory wild birds that have been harmed or displaced, to provide or locate a humane shelter for those birds that cannot be released, and to educate the public toward the importance of coexistence with all wild bird species. The Florida Keys Wild Bird Center is a 501(C)(3) Charitable Organization.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for Kids!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took my sons, ages 5 and 4, to the rehad center and they loved it. They have this crazy pelican that was following my youngest son, and while he didn't really enjoy that, I thought it was hillarious:) The place is free, but we left a $20 donation. Overall, great experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikinjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    356
    95
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“interesting place”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This little place is great because it helps the local bird population recover from injuries. its interesting and the donations could be used for great things! A must visit just for the simple fact that it helkps out a good cause.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jadejoann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thank God for people like this”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found a baby cormorant at our resort who couldn't fly. These people came and rescued him. he died the next day, but at least they tried. We visited there and it was really cool to see all the animals they have rescued. Especially the big cage with the cockatoos. They have a pelican who can't fly who is loose and follows you around. Very cool

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
415 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Precious”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a place that is dear to the heart. Birds in rehabilitation and also housed for the remainder if their injuries prevent them from surviving on their own. A lot of injured and disabled Pelicans. Go see and give a special donation for this worthy cause.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edmund438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Daytona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun Quick Stop”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had fun that lasted about 45 minutes then we were back on the road off to our destination. While there, we strolled unrushed from cage to cage enjoying ourselves. The end of the trail was the best with a beautiful scenic view. Stop by and give small donation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stepjarsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing