We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pizza and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chad's Deli & Bakery

Chad's Deli & Bakery
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chad's Deli is a full service restaurant featuring freshly made food, generous portions, and fair prices. We have a five page menu serving Sandwiches, Soups, Salads, Burgers, Quesadillas, Pizza, Pasta, and home-made desserts. We also have a full service breakfast menu with a nice selection of pastries.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good pizza and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Family stopped in for dinner and enjoyed 3 different types of pizza. The staff was very helpful and Chad stopped by our table to make sure all was well. We'll be back next time we're in Tavernier.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnadig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    231
    54
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local place. Very close!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This deli is 1/2 block walk from the Atlantic Bay resort. We ordered pizza one night and ate it on the beach while watching the sunset!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Chad's offers several varieties of home made bread but only if you order a large sandwich. If you have a small appetite like me, you are given a choice of a pita, wrap or ciabatta bread that is not made on premises. I felt like I was being penalized because I did not want a giant sized sandwich. It would be nice if they offered a half sandwich with their own bread.

Helpful?
Thank mec0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Tavernier by FAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The menu is plentiful with different varieties. The staff there is always friendly and inviting. We frequent chads at least once a week and we haven't been let down once. There menu changes in the evening which is great. Everything is always top notch with freshness, nice portions, and a great atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Chad's An Upper Keys Fav”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Chad's Deli is on the overseas highway in Tavernier. Upper keys denizens know it well, and anyone who has spent time between Ocean Reef and Islamorada is bound to stop in at the popular place. Located in a strip mall it's easy to fly by Chad's and miss it...but, U turns on US 1 at MM 93 are quite common.
The deli is set up classic deli style with an ordering counter with large board illustrating the many menu options from soup to carrot cake, and a medium dining room and bar.
The menu is a bit mind boggling. A person would be wise to take the menu and spend 10 minutes figuring out what will work best; but once decided the hostess at the cash register is well versed in each item and makes suggestions accordingly (pickle/no pickle/slaw/no slaw etc.)
Considering the size of the entrees.....the price is spot on. In the tradition of the Carnegie, Stage and Juniors, the food is substantial. Take home boxes are the norm.
A waitress brings the food to your table when it is ready and happily finds the necessary condiments as you request.
A Steak sandwich on a sourdough bun with a delightful dressing, lettuce and tomato with accompanying dill pickle was enough for two. Ditto the chicken salad sandwich. The small serving split pea soup was tasty and homemade yummy. There are plenty of menu items from salads to fish that make such a deli a terrific stopping place, morning noon or night.
Chad's was busy and bustling, but not loud and not a hassle. A good deli done well will survive the many years as has Chad's.
Parking is free an adjacent to the restaurant. There's a take out menu and the service is pleasant and responsive. Don't miss Chad's if you're headed to either Alabama Jacks or Hemmingways....great mid point stopping place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chad's Deli & Bakery also viewed

Tavernier, Key Largo
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Chad's Deli & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing