We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, well-manicured mini-resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy, well-manicured mini-resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

While not in the category of "luxurious", Island Bay deserves an excellent rating for the type of resort that it is. It is conveniently located in the Upper Keys and within close proximity to good restaurants and other facilities. Each "room" is individually and cleverly decorated with a theme and while small, they are comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with small comfortable sitting areas all over. The small private beach is also lovely. Would recommend Island Bay to anyone looking for a peaceful and unique place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Audrey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South Windsor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a great place to stay for a few days, a week, or longer!! We stayed in Cottage #2, Birds and Boats and it was just terrific! Each cottage in individually decorated and has a small kitchen and a deck. From our deck we could see the beach. Sunsets were gorgeous and we loved taking the kayaks out when we got back from our adventures! Mike and Carol were very helpful and their recommendations for restaurants and activities were spot on! We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: The lower the number the closer to the water!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very "green", we loved that about the Island Bay!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pattic1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Mike & Carol Shipley take such great care to ensure your stay is perfect. We travelled up and down the Keys, and they would ask if we knew how to get there & suggest great places to visit. I was looking for a winery, and Carol took the time to search a winery for us and left us a note on our porch how to get there. You can tell they love what they do. Even when we stayed in, we still had a great time playing bocci & cornhole, just sitting on the beach, or walking on the dock. Theri beach has a perfect view of the sunset. We stayed in the Sunset cottage, and it was so cozy. They had any amenity, and I'm sure IF they missed something you needed, they would obtain it for you. Highly recommend staying here, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Each cottage is different with a theme specific to the Keys, so each visit can be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCapone0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just spent a wonderful few days here. The accommodations were perfect for relaxing in the Keys. Our cottage had every amenity that could be desired. Mike and Carol Shipley were extremely kind and helpful to ensure our comfort. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mdulin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I were planning a week long get away driving thru the keys and staying different places each day. I emailed island bay resort and they sent a short but courteous email that stated they had a 2 night minimum and referred me to some local cheap motels. Apparently they don't want travelers who travel for multiple experiences. Personally I will drive thru Key Largo from now on. The hotels at Marathon Key are very friendly! James G. Purgason, M.D.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank jgpurgason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Let me start by saying my daughter had visited here in January and fell in love with everything the resort has to offer. Upon planning for her wedding this is the spot they chose. Can I say I and everyone else that travelled for the wedding are very happy they did. The owners are the sweetest people and so very helpful and knowledgable about the area.The cottages vary in size and are very well kept. The private beach is just steps away from any one of them. there are kayaks on premise for guests to use. There are b-b-ques at each cottage for your use. You may want to consider using them so you never have to leave this place . So much to do , close to so much. you can feel how much the owners love this place, you will to private and so much charm.

Room Tip: There are "efficiancy" cottages but if you require more room choose a larger cottage.
See more room tips
Green Features: On site recycling etc Energy efficient air conditioning. We never had to touch ours.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErinL455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Island Bay Resort at the recommendations of Trip Advisor users, and were not disappointed! The whole resort was impeccably clean, the owners very helpful with suggestions of where to dine. Each cottage has a deck, chairs and table, grill, Adirondacks chairs. Being closer to the road is not very noisy. Their beach is beautiful, with plenty of chairs, an outdoor shower building, and open tent-y cabin you can use. Kayaks are available, and you cannot beat the sunsets. We would not hesitate to return or recommend this place to others (except it will then be busier!!)

Room Tip: Although it's more costly, I would recommend a one-bedroom cottage, which has a two room suite...
See more room tips
Green Features: There were easy-to-use facilities to encourage recycling (cans, bottles), and an efficient, quiet air conditioner.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,582 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
12.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
5.3 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#