We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Add ours to the rave reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Save
You added Island Bay Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Add ours to the rave reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a perfect spot to relax and venture around the Keys. Everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable has been thought of by the very gracious owners. Beautiful, carefully tended grounds, a lovely little beach and lots of comfortable chairs for lounging made it very easy to settle right in. Some reviews have mentioned highway noise; we were in cottage 7 and were not bothered at all. This is a real gem and we are happy to recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Happytotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    50
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
458
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent 3 nights in the Island bay Resort and it was absolutely wonderful. Our cottage was really quaint and clean, with all the things you could possibly need to enjoy your stay - television, books, a coolbox etc. The grounds were amazing - especially the private beach at the end of the cottages with hammocks and chairs to relax in. There was a great view at sunset which was beautiful to watch. We borrowed snorkels to swim with and there was also canoes available. Carol and Mike seemed really nice and helpful but the place was so perfect we had no reason to bother them! I cannot recommend this resort enough!

Room Tip: Maybe #1 - the closest to the beach would be the nicest but we had no issues with #8, it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jahoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A friend and I spent 5 nights at this incredible small resort earlier this month, and we both want to start going back every year. It's hard to come up with enough positive adjectives to describe this place. When you turn off the Overseas Highway and into the resort, you feel like you're entering another world; it's heaven on earth. The grounds are lush and immaculately maintained, and the private beach is the best beach experience I've ever had. We both marveled at how many options were provided for relaxing: padded chaise lounges with umbrellas, a tiki hut with comfortable furniture, hammocks, and tile top benches out on the dock to name just a few. The beach itself was pristine, and the swimming there was fantastic. The resort also provides kayaks free of charge as well as little coolers to bring your beverages the short walk from the cottages to the beach.

As far as the cottages themselves go, again, it's hard to find words to describe how nice they are. Each has a name and a theme and the rooms are decorated to match the theme. We stayed in #6 (Sunset), a large 1 bedroom, which had a separate bedroom area, comfortable living room, and kitchen with stove, microwave, coffee maker, and full sized fridge. I could easily live in this place.

The resort also has the bonus of having resident cats. They're not allowed in the cottages, but two of them joined us regularly on our porch. Speaking of the porch. Each private porch also features table and chairs and a BBQ.

The resort owners, Carol and Mike, were extremely friendly and helpful. They provided us with a list of restaurants, and all their recommendations were excellent.

To summarize, if you're ever anywhere near Tavernier, Florida (just south of Key Largo), treat yourself to as many nights as you can at Island Bay Resort - you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: Cottages #6 Sunset was roomy, and we loved the sun-themed décor. The lower the cottage number, the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wooster ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

when describing this amazing little resort. My husband I stayed here May 2-6 and had the most relaxing, romantic vacation ever. This place is the perfect size, you feel secluded with just a few neighbors. There was a sense that everyone at the resort was there for the same reason. We rarely saw anyone. When pulling into the driveway you quickly realize you are in your own world. No noise and so beautiful. Mike and Carol are wonderful hosts, they are simply there for whatever you may need. You will not go wrong choosing to stay here. We attended the Humphrey Bogart film festival events at other local hotels and we couldn't wait to get back to ours. The cottage had everything we needed, comfortable bed, and a large shower. We slept two nights with the windows open and ceiling fan on listening to the rustling palm leaves...pure heaven. We watched the sunset, cooked out of the grill and enjoyed a dinner outside. Also had lunch out on the beach drinking Corona and eating shrimp! So happy we chose this for our 25th wedding anniversary celebration. We cannot thank you enough Mike & Carol.

Room Tip: Key West is probably the best cottage for a couple only because of location right next to beach with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystaljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I Just returned from 5 wonderful and enjoyable days at this resort. Our cottage, #2, and the grounds are beautifully conceived and maintained to perfection. While the grounds are small, whatever you could reasonably desire is there. Mike and Carol make it happen! Looking for the perfect, beautiful, intimate resort? The Island Bay Resort in Tavernier is IT!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from the Florida Keys. We stayed at Island Bay for 10 nights out of 13 in America and absolutely loved this peaceful and beautifully kept place. Mike and Carol are very friendly and completely non intrusive but are always willing to share their recommendations on activities, restaurants and days out in the Keys.

The beach was always very quiet and we always had the pick of sun loungers. The grounds and the surrounding area to the cottages is very well manicured and Mike is always making sure its very neat and tidy. Whilst we were there we used the Kayaks and the snorkeling gear which were both great. There is a huge amount of fish right there off the beach.

We stayed in Cottage 2 "Birds and Boats" which was small but very nicely kept. Each room has its own theme and has pictures and ornaments to match this which was lovely. There is a small kitchen area with all that we needed. The Weber BBQ was a nice touch and we enjoyed several good meals whilst watching the amazing sunset.

All in all we loved this place and the location was superb for exploring the Keys.

We would definitely visit again if we were in the Keys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Key Largo and we fell in love with this resort. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip.
You can tell that Mike and Carol (the owners) love this beautiful place and want to share it with you. When we first checked in Mike took the time to tell us about some local restaurants that they love and even gave us a list. He also checked out the weather forecast and talked about anything we had planned that the forecast might impact. We were in the area to attend the Humphrey Bogart Film Festival so the weather did not really affect us, but later in out stay Mike and Carol asked us how the festival was going. It was a nice personal touch to know that they were paying attention to us.
Speaking of personal touches, the rooms at the Island Bay Resort are filled with personal touches. Each room has a theme, and the room is decorated to that theme. Our room was Flora and Fauna and had many pictures and knick knacks that reflected this theme. The room was in perfect condition, was very comfortable and relaxing. The feeling in the room was that they had created this space for you to relax and enjoy your stay. It really made me feel welcome.
The property has a great little beach and lots of chairs for relaxing and enjoying the day. Each room even has its own little deck with a table and chairs so you can sit out in front of your room and enjoy the nature. The plants, bushes and trees around our room made it feel like we were in our own private oasis when we were inside.
I cannot say enough good things about the Island Beach resort. It was a perfect stay and we are looking forward to planning our next Keys trip so we can stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and thought it was a perfect location.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a Certified Florida Green Lodge. They have a centrally located recycle area. They ask guests to help conserve by turning off lights, a/c and water when not in use. The room air conditioners do a great job of cooling the room off if you were out all day and left it off.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunLuvr321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,980 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing